don’t let the weather dictate your journey//just saying–

two bears
from bubblegum
said “let’s explore the world!
from Asia into Scotland &
from everywhere to everywhere” so yeah
they had big fun, crossing the globe
in a marshmallow boat
with chocolate sails
&licorice-
pierced ears
the monkeys mock—
“ooooh, what a waste of time!
they should’ve knitted scarves&gloves
for when sir winter throws his kilt upon
the world it will be cruelsome cold
and in their bubble coat
they will freeze stiff
&square!”
the bears build huge
pink gyroplanes with snow
flakes as their rotor blade&in
the air they swing with felty chest hair curl-
ing funny in the wind&sing
an easy song i can’t
translate //instead//
just sing
along 😉

.

smiles… ok i had a bit fun with this one… gay challenges us to write to a form that she invented… more at 3pm EST when the dVerse pub doors swing open…

26 responses to “don’t let the weather dictate your journey//just saying–

  1. i like that you finally bring yourself in there in the end…it grounds it a bit…fantastical writing…a bit of zaniness…and darn those mocking monkeys….smiles…

  2. It sounds as if you had fun with this one. Love the idea of traveling bears. I have a hard time with forms so I shall try and give it a shot later today and see what happens.

  3. These bears are really special bears, I think….with their pierced ears and pink gyroplanes! What fun to read your wordplay, Claudia.

  4. Well, this wonderful bit of whimsy left me smiling, though I dare not check the foot lines or rhyme schemes; just heartedly enjoyed the ride with monkey & bears.

  5. Well this was fun! Your imagination is out of sight and fabulous. And I give you props on the form! I can hear you speaking it (lucky I have heard you, isn’t it? Although you have given everyone your voice in recordings over the years!). I would say you made it work exactly with syllable count and I like your slant rhymes. Nothing felt forced here, or a slave to the form which is what we all aim for. Rather it makes it jolly like a children’s story. I really loved it.

  6. ‘crossing the globe
    in a marshmallow boat
    with chocolate sails
    &licorice..’ — oh, this made me smile and smile. delightful!

  7. I wonder if it’s one of the stories you might have told your kids..you will make an awesome grandmother someday..the kilt of winter..nice.

  8. … ya … winter is coming … greetings from the great white north … sigh … let’s sing … and snuggle … and hibernate …

  9. Whimsy! Love it! “Cruelsome cold” among the many wonderful word combos here. And as always you make it look so darned easy. Reads like the rocking of that marshmallow boat : ) Thank you!

  10. I can imagine you grinning like the Cheshire Cat! Perhaps you were wandering in the hallowed space down the rabbit hole with your dragon guest, Puff? My head is spinning…