to the moon and back//with just one tank of gasoline

they burn incense in the studio
&i am a virgin when it comes to piercings,
right ear: 1
left ear: 2
zero in my lips or brow or–

“cutting your frenulum of tongue” a tall man says “will open up
a new dimension in your life”

maybe the woman’s not quite sure
&maybe i’m missing something, but—

“i’ve never been to a place like that” i say to my daughter
“life’s so fragile anyway
and piercing holes or cutting bands designed to hold
things together, hmmm. i dunno”

we’re in the kitchen
side by side, slicing gourgettes,
i squish limes into a bed of avocado
winter knocking at the door with a thick bobble cap
caughing like an old man
while the pear tree starts to bud

“we used to sledge on the hill close to the autobahn” i say
“when i was a kid”

&sometimes i just want a moment of it back,
damp hands and frozen toes,
no internet, not facebook “likes”
just a bunch of kids that hardly knew which school the other went to

now my mom is fading,
like two inches a day
&one day she’ll be gone,

leaving just the scent of snow

and fresh baked cake

“i want no holes in this”

“the piercing guy was getting on my nerves” my daughter says
“i waited outside”

&i nod
as if i understood

the whole weight of the world’s weird journey

.

i wrote this about a year ago but never posted –and i think i just need it on my blog as a diary entry… smiles

9 responses to “to the moon and back//with just one tank of gasoline

  1. An interesting diary entry to look back on a year or two from now….I’ve never understood the need for additional holes in the body to hang things from or in….but that’s probably an artifact from my youth….by the way my sledding hill was new a highway also…some days it’s a comfort memory to return…especially given events in the world these days.

  2. I enjoyed reading your journal entry from the past, Claudia. I like how you take separate ingredients, stir them together and bake poetry 🙂 People are beautiful…no need to excessively “decorate”.

  3. I’m so glad you did post it. These are significant reflections that I appreciate reading. Made me think that our Moms will never fully fade because they live within us.

  4. C, you’re getting better and better. Smooth flows in the narrative. Enviable. 

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

  5. I like “sometimes i just want a moment of it back, damp hands and frozen toes,”
    and “winter knocking at the door with a thick bobble cap”…
    my pierced ears grew back over the years of non-use…I wonder if you have one or two? 😉