this is not a poem about poetry, nor about my mom’s death, nor about pörfegtshän (or how so. german would pronounce it)

“not all words are dead” she says
in a small voice
legs stretched

converse

tights

the castle in a shiny yellow dress with
golden balconies
for lips

we wait hours
while the sun massages our cheeks with spring

“the way someone can go without a single syllable is—”
things have changed

“you lost quite a bit of weight”
“i lost—”
but then

my limbs are packed with pollen from the day’s first tulips

students on the castle lawn
worship the sun
with wide-spread arms
my skin peels,
–cracking through a layer of make-up

“not all words are dead” she says

&then drops silent

for a felt eternity

18 responses to “this is not a poem about poetry, nor about my mom’s death, nor about pörfegtshän (or how so. german would pronounce it)

  1. shock.

    there is a poem here. hey at least you kept your website up. smiles

    not all words are dead. i actually wrote an anthem poem on tuesday. but things have changed. and silence can surely seem like an eternity.

    hey friend.
    email you back later today.

  2. A pleasure to read Claudia – I have so missed your wonderful style of writing.
    Did google translate pörfegtshän – but it came up with nothing.
    So sad to hear about your mom – hope you’re okay.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    • I think she’s saying that’s how it sounds when some Germans pronounce “perfection.”

  3. A poignant write upon the loss of your mom. Like many out there I have missed reading your writing. I am sorry to hear about your loss. A friend once told me after my own mother’s passing ” Grief comes in stages and one may never really forget and even as it is every changing your pain will ease with time.” Wishing you Metta always.

  4. I’m sorry about your mom. 😦

    I love this section:

    “‘you lost quite a bit of weight’
    ‘i lost—’
    but then

    my limbs are packed with pollen from the day’s first tulips”

    Good to see you, Claudia. I hope you’re going to start writing/posting again. ~And Brian too.

  5. Claudia, it was so wonderful to have your name pop up on my blog roll and come in here to see Brian’s name too. You are both missed so much. I am so sorry for the loss of your mother. I can feel the vastness of that felt eternity.

  6. I know that empty feeling of loss. Though I’m so glad to read you again, I’m sad for the loss of your mother. I’m certain you were a good daughter and hope that brings you some comfort. Take care.

  7. Add me to the group who was pleased to see your name come up…almost missed it…have been wondering about your blog, your life, your art. The milestone of losing one’s mother….if anyone has any growing up left to do, this is when it is done….’all words are not dead’..kind of a preparation??

  8. Sorry to hear about your mother.

    Not all words are dead really stuck out. Welcome back, good to see you once more give a blogland shout.

  9. alas, things are changing, sorry to hear about your mom…but hearts pounding together always, even if invisible…glad to read you again…I’m rare guest at blogland now too….much love xo

  10. Claudia, I stopped in only to read the sad news. May you find love and comfort – grief has its own geography but there are angels along the way – may you find them when needed as I did today in your beautiful poem. Kathleen