in/flammation

img_7083

smiles

.

time’s a maze
i lean
against its pulse/ing body, ant-like
like the razor’s buzZ as i shaved my head
the other day

we sit on the hosital rooftop
pale/ing fall-sun to the face

the city at our feet
a tower, distant
watchmen with giant wings

my son reads Nesbø

&his skin’s warmth seeps into my pores
as i hold him tightly, pray
“you’re wonderfully made”

and a mighty army’s battle cries eRUPT//lavaHot,
splitting life’s molecules,
for one long moment

time spa—ns
and His arm moves

there’s another level in this maze
a million light years from our wildest dreams//&fears
that none of us
has fully understood yet, rain piles
rears uP like a cobra//hiZzing
alMost palpable,

the tower on the hill
(that broadcasts swiss tv since 1980)
on the flip side of our galaxy/of what we see
(&where we stood two weeks ago)

flashes a red light

.

my son was at the hospital last week with a pancreas inflammation – they didn’t really find out where it came from – he’s back home now and doing much better – prayers appreciated..

16 responses to “in/flammation

  1. Sorry to hear of your son’s scare and hopefully it will all bode well for him. I am the mother of five children and even though adults I cringe when there is news on their health. Love your post and hopefully the next one will be of his improved health with no other issues. Be well.

  2. That is so very painful (been there) and definitely prayers coming your/his way. It is a very elusive diagnosis and often results in lifestyle/diet changes. I hope all goes well for him.

  3. As I read your poem, I was fearful. Glad he is home, perturbed that they can’t give you definite answers, which seems to happen way too often. I know your mother’s heart must worry. Good to see you posting, Claudia.

  4. I like this photo, Claudia; and great to read your words. Hope your son continues to do well. So hard when one we love goes through a health crisis!

  5. Thinking of your precious son, friend C … only a mother knows the pain and feeling of helplessness … I know about that too … Love, cat. PS: You look beautiful … smiles …

  6. I also hope he is faring well.

    Like both the long and short hair photos – what a striking contrast !

    Happy new year ~