all the things we carry on a lanyard round the neck

.
the day is bubblewrap
around a corner of the moon
i think she’s dead first
wings spread smoothly on the windowsill, a sea
of orange bedded into earth shades

“how long have you been here?” i ask
opening the window slightly
for the sun to touch her face

i’ve two mobiles, countless mountains,
usb sticks and a heavy colored schedule
in my pocket, three cows, snow-capped fir trees
pen, a tissue, churchtowerclock, access codes
to the brains of–

“can you print this for me?”
“sure”
some flip charts turn their pock-marked faces
as i pass, carrying their weight with dignity

the distance from the far edge of a heart
to the greyish mirror of a pavement, watching
to the soft pull of an old funicular that takes you up a mountain
can be more than you can bear
“we’ll drive you there” i say
“i think i can make it”
“great”

her wings move slightly in the breeze
i guide her with a folded papership into the wind’s wide waiting arms
&wave til she’s a reddish dot against the hills

“butterflies don’t talk to everyone so easily”
“we shift the pause to 10”

i nod
grab my headset and walk to the front
to give the day’s announcements

.

just back from a business trip to davos… will take me a bit to catch up with everyone

15 responses to “all the things we carry on a lanyard round the neck

  1. I love your opening line: “the day is bubblewrap” … pop pop pop, one by one (seconds) … The moon is never dead.

    “a sea
    of orange” … Yes! So gorgeous. That would be the way to get me to the beach willingly; turn the water orange.

    Cows in your pockets. 🙂 I like that. And if you have three instead of two or four, then your balance will be off and you will walk all crazy-like. Fascinating image. Don’t you hate it when that happens? When something jacks up your walk/groove/slide? Although, it may accidentally teach you some new dance moves …

    Great sound in this line: “some flip charts turn their pock-marked faces”

    Love this, too: “the soft pull of an old funicular” … Funicular. What a great word! I fancy myself a fun-ic-ula(i)r.

    Nice:
    “butterflies don’t talk to everyone so easily”
    “we shift the pause to 10”

    Yes. Change the wings into ten paws. Purrfect. 😉

    I’d really like to see that animal. Maybe you could paint her …

  2. I must say the start is just stellar… we have to be careful about a day, bubblewrap to protect it against those sharp edges… there is a magic in guiding with a papership.. Really loved this one, Davos must be great at this time…

  3. I found myself wondering about the bubble wrapped day…you know there could be exciting moments as those bubbles pop…I wonder why we cannot resist popping them., is it the sound or the feel I wonder? Then maybe some day we just need bubblewrap to protect ourselves from what will unravel during the day.

  4. Davos must be beautiful, Claudia! Even on a business trip. Smiles. I like thinking about what butterflies would say if they could talk and the day being bubblewrap. We can make everything what we want it to be….really. Imagination is key; and I am so glad to see YOU back writing poetry.

  5. Love the bubblewrap paper…just unwrapped recently the present and popped in salute all the way, singing “Happy Birthday to me…” ~ love the stuff in the pocket! cool one, esp. 3 cows….welcome back, Claudia!

  6. Oh, I love the whimsy in this, Claudia–I’m one who talks to butterflies and hummingbirds and doves and on and on. In their own way, they answer and have much to teach me about trust and letting go of fear.

  7. “i’ve two mobiles, countless mountains,
    usb sticks and a heavy colored schedule
    in my pocket, three cows, snow-capped fir trees
    pen, a tissue, churchtowerclock, access codes
    to the brains of–” … hmmm … I am different that way, C. … what doesn’t fit and stay in my brain and is ready for instant recall … goes … garbage … cuz I don’t think we r designed 4 anything else … or else hummingbirds and butterflies will b the first 2 disappear … trust me …

Leave a Reply

