It’s onehundredthirty hours to Beijing

a lonely wanderer in the vineyards above basel - maybe on the way to beijing - who knows - ha

a lonely wanderer in the vineyards above basel – maybe on the way to beijing – who knows – ha

.
“so You don’t have such tied-tight-to-the-base&(i draw circles in the air) dreams?”
“nope” my colleagues shake their heads
“i thought everyone — i mean“

it’s re-occuring

there always is some kind of date,
i need to go/to be somewhere//on time
but cannot find my scattered, sorted, stored away or
just bored in the wardrobe hanging clothes or keys or–

like this morning as i want to leave for work,
rucksack strapped already to my back
“ugh, my headphones”
then the little “will allow to navigate my phone while biking” bag to bind around my waist
heck where did i–?
just-in-case gloves?
the slow-motion blinking cateye for my bike

before 6 i ran the stairs a thousand times already,
slightly out of breath
and late
&L aaaAaaT  E!!

“we can psychologically generate a proof-tight profile of your mind now–”
says my colleague
with a twinkle in his eyes

this morning someone told me the sky above Beijing is yellow
from coalfires breathing giddy through a million chimneys

&the picture hangs tight in my mind
like an autumn-storm-torn leaf caught lazy in–
it’s resting
in itself or
in the licorice soft swaying wind

&who am i to tell

“so what about Your dreams?” i ask
all the thousands spreading crawling miles into the northern capital,
3000 years of history tied to her back

the leaf blusHes slightly
context-loose– vermillion-shy
puts his head into the wind’s caressing amber breath

&exits at
Yonghegong station

.

 

for dVerse

31 responses to “It’s onehundredthirty hours to Beijing

  1. Maybe our dreams are not far from our reality and our subconcious is messing with us. I hate losing things. I do it as well at times. Especially when I am trying to get somewhere. It throws me off for a bit. What are your dreams? Beyond what we get at night? What are our hopes? I guees you can look at that coalfire a few ways. It could be beautiful. It could make you think of pollution as well. The last 5-8 lines are so are my favs.

  2. Ouch. that is one of the few things I hate about bicycling.. all those little things that you have to bring along.. piece of clothing, keys, cards… and turning back is a mess..🙂

    And those dreams, I wonder if they are yellow just like that Beijing sky.. (love vermilion-shy BTW)..

  3. It’s so stressful to be late and forget some paraphernalia. Love the way you weave in reality and dreams. That yellow sky in Beijing is interesting to imagine. I can visualize its beauty while worrying about the pollution. That’s my brain flashing its contradictory neurons. Anyway, I enjoyed this poem and the fact that you paint with words and dreams.

  4. Oh…all those things one has to remember when going someplace…I now have a new philosophy when traveling…whatever I forgot and need…I’ll buy when I get where I’m going…takes a lot of stress off…and since I work at home…the daily commute is a thing of the past.🙂 So enjoyed your poem this morning…cheers my friend.

  5. This is gorgeous:
    “the leaf blusHes slightly
    context-loose– vermillion-shy
    puts his head into the wind’s caressing amber breath”

    I love the coloring, especially the way you tucked “blues” into “blushes.” And my word, that painting is phenomenal. I love it, Claudia.

  6. I admire how poetic these lines are:

    &the picture hangs tight in my mind
    like an autumn-storm-torn leaf caught lazy in–
    it’s resting
    in itself or
    in the licorice soft swaying wind

    and this one too: 3000 years of history tied to her back ~

  7. Grace already nailed/mentioned by fave lines. Did you find, as I did, that I already tend to use a ton of modifiers &unlikely combinations without the prompt? Your painting fits the milieu of your recent artistic mindset; striking. Your closing lines are killer too.

  8. Great poem, a wonderful read, I’m still pondering the prompt and thinking about the actual value of modifiers, asking myself a question, why waste the glories of language, the chance to wax poetic and indulge in the sheer joy of words and images?

  9. Very nice. I love this line: “the licorice soft swaying wind.” The modifiers portray a wind that I think it would be able to portray with a single word. And there are so many kinds of wind that I would picture without this description. Peace, Linda

  10. OH no… those of US who absorb so much..
    and honestly by the time i hit 47..
    i can hold no more.. oh my
    head Is going to explode
    but oh no.. not now.. i
    find the off switch
    and simply
    turn it off..
    and yeah
    re
    Tiring
    wheels
    of life
    does
    help
    too..;)

  11. This line is so very true. I was there in October when they burn all their crops which only added to the problem.

    this morning someone told me the sky above Beijing is yellow
    from coalfires breathing giddy through a million chimneys

    But the modifiers work so well in your work that they don’t seem intrusive at all. You can get away with rule-breaking so well!

  12. I wonder if the sky above London those years ago were yellow from the smoke from all the chimneys? I’ve read of the yellow suffocation fog. No “licorice soft” wind there. But to ask people what is their dream and get no response – the last five lines of this are incredible. I picture one of those sooty city sparrows when I read this.

  13. Just-in-case gloves, oh how often we need them, often beyond the knee of just-in-case and into the chaos of daily-necessary. Forgive me for picking on a single detail, blame this irrational compulsion of mine, and allow me to leave without further…

  14. I love this, especially:
    “before 6 i ran the stairs a thousand times already,
    slightly out of breath
    and late”

    And especially because at first I misread it as “i ran the stars a thousand times…” 🙂

  15. The tempo of the poem brings the reader right into that late-morning flurry…..I, too, was struck by the image of the pollution over Beijing. Love the reference to dreams! So necessary.

  16. Nice combinations and metaphors. Everyone has the dreams, but not everyone – the intention to remember……..and connect with life, reflect in the art….~ beautifully smooth creative writing/art

  17. … smoke in my eyes at this time alright … omg … as my neighbour province is fighting wild fires … makes it hard 2 breathe … it’ll pass … smiles … Love, cat.

Leave a Reply

