they were produced in some venetian monasteries ever since the VIII century

IMG_4756

.

“1,80 €– dang, that’s terribly expensive for–”

“it’s handcraft” i say,

carefully holding the moon
or what you would translate it to
in my right palm,
summer-easy-light,

he smiles
“you gonna eat it now?”

“i’m not yet ready”

cobble lines the path between the river Ile
old timber maisons,

Strasbourg’s old gothic cathedral,
dark and filigrane like stitchery,
done by an old, grey woman, moving gently
in her rocking chair
between the smell of apple pie, sprinkled with cinnamon,
her grandkids,
Mars&Neptune

“If you tried to land on Neptune,
you would fall right into it”
“mhHmm”

my planet’s in a tiny paper bag
so spiderfine
&weightless

i unwrap the macaron,
bring it gently to my lips,
crisp like first snow

“not so quick” my husband says

i close my eyes
take the first bite
lemonflavor from a fruit plucked by a wrinkly, sunburnt farmer in brazil
spills uncontrolled in pulsing heaps
outpouring all its mysteries
in one bright flash
before it melts, soft&calm&easy
into sunlight on my tongue

“is it good?”
“it’s—- do you wanna try?”
he shakes his head,

&all the planets
we can never land on,
our tatooed boatman,
the confectioner with flourdust on his white starched shirt

lean back
into the city’s vibrant spine

&smile
until i lick the last crumbs from my lips

.

 

for dVerse OLN

38 responses to “they were produced in some venetian monasteries ever since the VIII century

  1. I would not mind landing on planet macaron. Loved your description the other day of a bit of sunlight on the tongue. Visiting that cathedral as well would certainly be a highlight too. I love old places like that. Back when architecture had a bit more art. Love that lean back into the city’s spine line too.

  2. That looks and tastes divine, yummy as sunlight on tongue ~

    Also love how you describe your world :

    my planet’s in a tiny paper bag
    so spiderfine
    &weightless

  3. Macarons are very, very nice. They became popular (again?) in France a few years ago and there are websites where you can find recipes to make your own. Your words now make me hungry for one, or two. Your poem also reminded me of my only visit to Strasbourg a couple of decades ago.

  4. One of your best, Claudia,–but singling out one within the divine plethora of your luscious lexicon is a chore; but this one is a grand confection, the mingling of taste, art, architecture, history, metaphysics, & the human condition. I like the lines /old gothic cathedral/dark & filigrane like stitchery/.

  5. Ooh, that sounds divine, and now I am hungry for a macaron… your description was brilliant, and I love the way you showed us all that goes into each bite.

  6. This is a delightful poem. I so enjoyed Strasbourg when I visited there and then you add the macaron and describe it in such loving and exotic detail. Your planet in a paper bag….oh be still my heart. This poem just took me with to that planet. Thank you.

  7. Oh, you have me craving those macarons right now. I did see them in France, but never indulged. I get the idea from your poem, with so many rich details, that one has to savor them bite by bite, taking one’s time!

  8. These sound so delicious. I found a recipe and may try to make them with my kids over the weekend.

    I love this stanza:
    “Strasbourg’s old gothic cathedral,
    dark and filigrane like stitchery,
    done by an old, grey woman, moving gently
    in her rocking chair
    between the smell of apple pie, sprinkled with cinnamon,
    her grandkids,
    Mars&Neptune” … actually, all the way down to the part about sunlight on your tongue.

  9. Beatiful – the city, the people, and those macaroons sound like they are indeed out of this world, from a planet we can’t land on. Thank you for this desert Claudia. Have a good time.

  10. …holding the moon…nice; love the aside about the cobble along the path by the river..’all the planets we cannot land on’…wish I could think of things like this!

  11. “crisp like first snow” and “before it melts, soft&calm&easy
    into sunlight on my tongue”—ooh, you make me want to try one🙂 Such a yummy, divine description🙂

Leave a Reply

