did you know that gasflames are not red// but blue?

the taste of dates, embraced in deep intimacy
by a slice of hot-flamed bacon
just one piece//
—————–but god//
a deTonAtion on the tastebuds

“i could eat just that” i say to my colleague, seriously–

i look desperate,
like a mermaid robbed of /waves&sea,
in laborpain
//my lips move tuneless as the coaster bends
into another screw//loops–

trails of sweat run down my neck, mingle with the sticky orange lake
where a friend put her capri ice to cool me
“i loved capri as a kid” i say
for just one heartbeat of a summerday
we hang onto all the flavors of our childhood

terrified
that my eyes plunge off their holes i peer
for a slashbreath through my lashes right on top& right
be4

the car droPs doWnwards

like a madman caNkerWorm rotaTing full speed
twisted horseshoe//heartline roll&corkscrew
on the coasters steelshine_
glistening spiNe

&Drags me—-witH him
124 feet high

“this song’s about sex” my table neighbor says
“oha” i smile “i would’ve never guessed that”
“ha”
i  slough shashlik from a metal spear &—
“gosh i’m sorry”
“ah no worries”
working fork&knife in uttermost finetuned precision i ask
“what’s that song about?– still sex?”
“it’s about a big bird// falcon”
“oohhh”

i minimize the mess by shuffling gravy to the center of the plate
so that it doesn’t get in conflict with the universe &–

“i know that one” i say
“we learned it in school in german”
“nice”

the coaster stoPs// soundless//smooth like jelly on an icelake
“not even a minute i guess” says my colleague

&my lips close ‘round the last small bit of bacon, wrapped around a date,
around–
a weird sort of marriage

my pulse
almost back to normal

.

we’re writing food poetry at dVerse tomorrow… i’m just early… smiles… was riding the “bluefire” megacoaster at the europapark yesterday… made my bones freeze -ha

30 responses to “did you know that gasflames are not red// but blue?

  1. Bacon makes everything better. Ha. A detonation on the taste buds. I like that much too. Love the energy in this, on that roller coaster. You capture it very well. I love the rickety old wooden coasters. Classics. And it can become the metaphor for many a thing – but also be literal as well in regards to facing our fears.

  2. Yuck to roller coasters. I’m terrified of heights and small spaces. Belts/bars/anything restrictive.

    Now dates, I can get down with … but not bacon. What on earth is WITH all the grease in the world? Too much for me, for sure; I’m a fruit and veggie kinda gal.

    Anyway, I LOVE this stanza:

    “trails of sweat run down my neck, mingle with the sticky orange lake
    where a friend put her capri ice to cool me
    “i loved capri as a kid” i say
    for just one heartbeat of a summerday
    we hang onto all the flavors of our childhood

    terrified”

    I’m so into sweating right now. Working out or just baking in the sun or in the unignited car. It’s like a homemade sauna.🙂 Sweating is the most blissful purge of germs and bad energy. I dig it the most.

    This whole poem is freaking fantastic, as is everything you write. But I’m particularly drawn to the childlike world. So that “flavors of childhood” part really speaks to me.

    Oh, and the mermaid having labor pains. That’s super cool.

    All your freakizoid caps add the most fun extra meanings to your poems.

    “a slashbreath through my lashes right on top” Love this.

    Seriously, ew. You just made my stomach drop, thinking about coasters. I despise them!!!

    “another screw//loops” Ha. This just morphed into “another screw loose.” I can relate to that!

  3. Oh, I love the taste of dates. Madjool dates from California melt in your mouth. But I would not ruin their taste by putting bacon around them. I would take dates any day to gravy in the center of the plate. In fact, I would prefer most anything to that. Smiles.

  4. I love “for just one heartbeat of a summer day we hold onto all the flavors of our childhood.” And cant BELIEVE you were brave enough to go on the rollercoaster. Whoa! The mix of date and bacon sounds intriguing, have never heard of it……..nice to read you, Claudia!

  5. Your poem made me think that special occasions make some food taste absolutely wonderful, a taste one can never replicate once back home. This just shows how much context is one ingredient of a dish.

  6. A mermaid robbed of waves and sea? Mon dieu! That is much more than one can deal with. Fortunately, you kept the gravy from conflicting with the universe as we are in enough trouble with the environment and I simply cannot abide gravy… Thank you Claudia, that was like a ride on a giant roller coaster. It deserves to be read again and again…

  7. I admire the spinning & the roller coaster of words as you enjoy your dates with hot-flamed bacon (sounds delicious) ~ I am afraid to go that high of 127 feet ha ~

    I specially like this:
    the coaster stoPs// soundless//smooth like jelly on an icelake
    “not even a minute i guess” says my colleague (whew)

    Thanks for the taste of that spine tingling ride ~

  8. Bacon around a date: primo! You are right – it is an explosion of tastes. Going back to childhood – that made me sigh deeply, those flavors that brought us joy and peace back then. And sometimes, they still do. And rollercoasters! oh.my.yes!!!!

  9. That’s exactly what I thought of as I was reading your poem, before I even read your explanation – Bluefire Megacoaster terrified me, even worse than the Silverstar. It’s that hurtling about from side to side and upside down and looping…
    Not sure how you managed to keep down that date wrapped in bacon, though…

  10. This one truly is a whirling dervish wrapped in bacon & sex; a delicious literary & literal snack. Two things I missed doing as a younger person was ride a motorcycle or ride a tall fast rollercoaster; now, sadly, old bones & innards would not allow for such escapades. I, too, like the lines /i look desperate/like a mermaid robbed of /waves&sea/.

  11. “so that it doesn’t get in conflict with the universe”: Love that. Your verse is like a roller coaster ride in itself, plunging up and down. I really like how you emphasize with the uppercase letters. Makes it thrilling to read your verse.🙂
    -HA

  12. goat cheese in the dates, and a drizzle of balsamic…

    Maybe because of all the nerve endings in the mouth, but it seems that things that evoke food are so sensual –

  13. Oh my.. dates remind me of eating cockroaches for some strange
    reason.. never eat those cockroaches by the way..
    but still the dates break apart in this spiny
    leg ways.. that remind
    me of hind quarters
    of cockroaches
    come loose
    in my
    mouth and ooh..
    if i ride a roller coaster
    after eating bacon wrapped
    ‘roach legs’.. i don’t wanna know
    what comes next.. and know you don’t either..
    smiles.. dates or not.. now is good.. no dates for me.. but thanks..:)

  14. Wow..what a ride…luscious dates can send you places, for sure. I like the conversation going on at the same time…and the references to sex are absolutely necessary!

Leave a Reply

