if you ever get something packed and wrapped by me, could be it looks like fallen off a truck at the camino de la muerte

.

the night wraps loose strings round my chest,
packing tape, the smell of cardboard
hubs peeks through the door
“you ok?”

when i was small
my mom made little bedcloth parcels
neat, tidy &
i thought once i grow up i’ll have inherited the spell

it passed me by

&went straight to my daughter
who devotedly wraps packages in a toy store before christmas,
perfect, shiny boats
that happily set sail into a child’s long waiting arms
too beautiful to tear ‘em open

maybe it’s my love for mud when i grew up
of things a little off-frame, bumpy, cragged
much of me, my fears, unsteady self
goes into each new wrap

“i’m gonna learn this one day” i say
“i’ll clean up tomorrow”
&he helps me fix &close the lid

“maybe you can ship them mid-week” she types

i suggest this
to the paintings that press chest to chest
with soft breath in the dark
“no. we need to go Now” they say stubbornly
“despite the risk?”
i feel their eyes on me
through every corrugated cardboard sheet

“i know” i say
&load them careful in the car trunk

.

for PU

38 responses to “if you ever get something packed and wrapped by me, could be it looks like fallen off a truck at the camino de la muerte

  1. Oh I love this. You tell the tale of wrapping and it turns out to a story of life itself. I have to say that my own way of packaging is more like yours.😉 and I love the story a parcel tells after being shipped.

  2. I try my best, but when I want a package to look really beautiful I pass it over to my husband to do neatly.
    Funny and lovely, this is a great piece

  3. There is both an ‘art’ and ‘heart’ to packing, especially if it is something that has meaning. I think it is oftentimes hard to let something go…especially when ‘they’ speak to you. But there is a time…and ‘they’ know when it is right!

  4. … when I was little my mumme gave me cloth pins to play with … now that i’m grown … she sends me love … guess that means: Hang in there, baby … smiles … Anyway … Love, cat.

  5. Had to smile as I read this…for everything I wrap something the shipping clerk ask…”Who you like for me to re-wrap this for you?” Thanks for the morning smiles.

  6. Claudia you have made my day! I thought I was the only one who wrapped in such a manner.
    I love how you made it into a story-poem.

  7. Packing has elements of durability so it’ll arrive safely all in one piece. This is uppermost! Beauty is a nice to have to make the one waiting happy!

    Hank

  8. i’m an excellent gift wrapper and truly enjoy it…. however, packing tape and i are at war! when i was packing up the playroom with my granddaughter for their move back to Phoenix, she had to tape up all the boxes and she was only five years old!

    Happy Mother’s Day, Claudia!

  9. Every creation of ours is a piece of our heart and although we love accolades for them but still it is very very difficult to part them form us.

  10. This is so beautiful..! I strongly resonate with these lines:

    when i was small
    my mom made little bedcloth parcels
    neat, tidy &
    i thought once i grow up i’ll have inherited the spell

    Mothers have a way of passing us their talent.. they make sure their little girls grow up to be perfect! Beautifully penned..!
    Wishing you happy mother’s day😀

    Lots of love
    Sanaa

  11. “maybe it’s my love for mud when i grew up
    of things a little off-frame, bumpy, cragged
    much of me, my fears, unsteady self
    goes into each new wrap”

    Maybe it’s always parts of you that you wrap and send with loose strings? Unwrapping is infinitely more fun than packaging for each new demand for each loving occasion. I like the moments when I can go as I am, mud and all.

  12. I like the snippet of the packing, yours and your daughter ~ I have the hands for packing but you know its what is inside that counts the most ~ Another painting sold and packed, smiles ~ Happy mother’s day ~

  13. I always struggle with packing too. Maybe it’s an art – I am learning how to pack clothes though lol

    The intimacy of packing is well-observed here, Claudia.

  14. haha that’s how I do it… paper bags & duct tape … you captured the real gift…it’s intent🙂
    Happy Mother’s day

  15. This made me smile. I love it. My packages have so much wide packing tape on them my kids need an axe to open them, LOL……..I love that the paintings told you they needed to be shipped sooner, the sooner to be released from their wrappings.

  16. Claudia, your poem made me smile. I do not know many people whose packing skills are worst than mine. Smiles. I loved how such a small act led you to your childhood memories and your mom.

  17. You have imbued the piece with fine imagery, …very sweet!!There really is a subtle art to packing, therapeutic almost, like sorting your life out…Brilliant, Jay!

  18. Oh Claudia – your words made me smile and excited! Maybe they will arrive this midweek (she typed). :o] So glad the paintings are stubborn!
    I love packing, making things neat as a pin, perfect corners and seals etc – but at times my need for a perfect parcel annoys me as really I can’t be bothered!
    Kind regards
    Anna

  19. It’s ok. You may not be good at packing but you sure are good at poetry, painting too. So be happy with your lack of skill here. You have it where it counts!

  20. Claudia, I bow before your talent(s) (knowing whence they came).Reading with joy this piece, I entertained wishes to be so-well-wrapped..traveling–bouncing on a highway or rolling on the sea. And all that time I’d not know where, or to whom. What happiness–to be “free” enough to not care the place or the face I’d be hanging with for many years hence.

    Thank you, Princess of the arts. Do you still blow your horn, you know–“SAX IT UP”?

  21. It was nice to unwrapping your poem…layer per layer…mud and all…talk with paintings….agreement to serve….no hands for wrapping? pfffff! – who decides what is right?…..

  22. I love the way you have turned a story about wrapping into something much deeper: “maybe it’s my love for mud when i grew up
    of things a little off-frame, bumpy, cragged
    much of me, my fears, unsteady self
    goes into each new wrap”—absolutely insightful and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

