wondering if mr. beuys would call me a dead hare

after struggling for a second
i leave my high heels in the car
looks versus mobility,
the need to move,
ligHtweiGht
among painters (he points out more than once)
making a living from their art
so here’s a gap– ha

the curator talks about their studies,
artawards, exhibits
over a glass of sp aR*k LiNg wine, one of them
smiles
“a living?
it’s all relative you know– and honestly— “

i was suspecting this
“how do you start?” i ask

because i love beginnings, empty canvasses
&space to make mistakes, create

i try to talk to all of them,
forget to eat
&drink just water for a cool head,
for not falLiN g into traps of–
hedgehog or a hare? //i’m calm
&nonchalant

the short old man has friendly eyes
“are you an artist too?” i ask
“or let me guess– a city mayor?”
he laughs, shakes my hand
we talk forever

“you enjoyed yourself – right?”
a colleague asks on the phone the next day
“ha – how do you know?”
“someone told me— you looked sweet”

i browse an excel file&smile

the curator with a weasel’s eyes says
in his art, he leaves nothing anymore to chance
that each line has its designated spot,
perfectly placed
“ooohhhh” i swallow the “how sad”
that bounces bonkers on my tongue

cause i’m a stranger in a foreign land
with buckets full of awkward lines, unripe
misplaced&heels
that poutingly twirl thumbs
long forgotten//fog-faced

in the car trunk

.

linking up with dVerse Poets‘ OLN tomorrow…

39 responses to “wondering if mr. beuys would call me a dead hare

  1. Well, I always leave my high heels in the car. I have since I was in 8th grade and thought they were cool. It is obvious your art brings you so much joy, Claudia. I am thinking about leaving nothing to chance…. I think I always leave just a little bit…..smiles.

  2. I would choose mobility versus looks unless it was a very very special occasion. You made the exhibition look like fun and the great time you had pervades your lines.

  3. Art that leaves nothing to chance? That is sad indeed I’m afraid I would have choked on that one. As for the buckets full of awkward lines, I’m there.
    If I wanted straight lines I would carry around a ruler and possibly have a straight jacket…

  4. Wonderful how you apply your philosophy of living to your art. Mistakes are precious and life is truly our canvas in which to make them. Straight lines are rigidly unreal. Lovely piece Claudia and lovely painting.

  5. Hell, chance is what Art & writing poetry is all about, challenging the naked canvas or empty page. I agree that your painting, as with my poetry & photography & acting & open mic/spoken word are vessels of JOY, & in this world we must seek out, create, or take advantage of joy wherever we find it. I like the lines /because I love beginnings, empty canvasses/&space to make mistakes/.

  6. A difference in perspective on art Claudia ~ it depends on what you are trying to achieve but I appreciate the perspective of everything being in its place while you are:

    cause i’m a stranger in a foreign land
    with buckets full of awkward lines, unripe
    misplaced&heels
    that poutingly twirl thumbs
    long forgotten//fog-faced

    in the car trunk

    Love your painting, smiles ~

  7. I like this very much. I like how one person leaves nothing to chance and the other has “awkward” lines. The perspective of art, life – just a little askew. Being a tad twisted I fully appreciate. Years ago when my parents sent me, along with other hapless little souls, we were taught how to properly set dining tables for special occasions and given a pattern so we could make our own templates to measure how each eating utensil, plate, glass – all were in their proper alignment and space from each other. How sad, indeed. I’m so thankful there are those of us in this world with awkward lines. Part of my awkward line in life is that I decided about 20 years ago, life’s too short to wear uncomfortable shoes, no matter how pretty. This was just a wonderful read. And I do so enjoy your paintings.

  8. That painting looks beautiful, the color scheme is wonderful.
    I like how you make us see every sight, hear every talk, realize every experience of yours through your words. I really liked this bit: “because i love beginnings, empty canvasses/&space to make mistakes, create”. I too love the beginnings.
    -HA

  9. Lovely write Claudia, love the title and the painting is brilliant – your best I think. Is it for sale?
    Anna :o]

  10. how many thumbs are we under choosing choice over slumber…between the moments we wear, where we do not have our heels dug in and the trunks full of things we’ve already risked for expression…you’ve gathered the reader with this landscape and its many things about it you might yet have to say…damn, this is a KILLER PIECE…conversational flow dynamics are full of effortless camera work…

  11. This is why I like coming here – there is so much of experience that you manage to convey🙂
    This time, I was struck by
    “empty canvasses
    &space to make mistakes”
    (among other lines) which is so right and a way to look at things as I never phrased before, though it feels as I’ve known all along and now makes more sense. So thank you🙂

  12. Lovely words Claudia… they have a gentle touch to them. I was really moved by these lines –
    “because i love beginnings, empty canvasses
    &space to make mistakes, create”

  13. Ah.. the new age of art appears.. before spreadsheets exist..
    when formulas for art become the science
    and art dies in the machine
    of the
    human
    mind..

    And i for one am changing that one dance
    step.. word.. and photograph
    at A time AND Much MORE
    ALL FREE VERSE
    BABY ALL THE TIME
    TO COME..
    for the LoVE
    of NEWNOW
    in truly FREE CREATIVE
    AND YES! PRODUCTIVE
    HUMAN SPIRIT.. that never
    lives for the rewards of the
    pleasures of others..
    alone…:)
    instead ALLONE never
    alone
    AS
    FREEART..:)
    with
    an
    H to end that SONG-
    ET
    of
    LIFE..:)

  14. Claudia! So glad to see you at dverse… Your interpretation of ‘sparkling wine’ was the best; the letters did indeed sparkle! That one moment, the movement, your creation of the wine as a completely new thing… amazing. The view of the world of “fine art” is wonderful. ‘File and smile,” yes, it’s Excel, but it’s also something that seems, again, to be its own dog. yes, yes, yes. Amy

  15. The rebel against the conventional art world – I like this very much! Barefoot, wiggly lines, allowing chance to come in and alter things – brave, fun and delicious!

  16. This is one of my favorites of yours, Claudia–the poem and the art. I love crooked lines and the smear of colors…such a metaphor for life. The colors in this are so gorgeous. I wish I had it large and bold and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

