boy with a bird cage

i don’t see him,
swallowed

almost in a shade,
a blueprint in a wrinkled corner of–

a woman cycling down the street, with a bag of groceries
her little boy wraps both arms round her hips
she sings for him

sings along the squeeks of trams, horns and the city’s gritty teeth
slalom- ing around pedestrians and parked cars
her thick coat a red flag

whispering of care and dreams and freedom as
berlin wildly slings limbs around my ankles — legs,
tousles my hair with windworn tongue

a tincage swings on his arm

i cannot say
if the bird’s still in it
nothing in his eyes
hints– though

i feel him as he stands
silent.
sigh

across the street
diffusing lights

throw the strangest shades
upon me

.

for OLN at dVerse… last poem from my berlin trip last week…smiles

48 responses to “boy with a bird cage

  1. What a vivid picture you have painted with your poem, Claudia. I can feel the love between mother and boy as she sings….and now I wonder if there is a bird in the cage too! (This scene SHOULD be painted!)

  2. Claudia so sorry you’ve had problems subscribing to my blog. I don’t know what’s wrong. Will email blogger but they’re typically not too good at responding. At least that’s been my experience. Thanks for visiting my blog, even with the inconvenience.

  3. Nice capture of the moment Claudia ~ I can see the woman (multi-tasking) and boy with the bird cage ~ perhaps he let the birds out, smiles ~

  4. A vivid glimpse of a vibrant city. I resonate with the mother on her bicycle. When my four were young, bikes were our mode of transportation, the youngest clinging on behind me even when she got too heavy and it made things precarious. Finally she could ride her own and we’d sail across intersections like a mother duck, my ducklings all strung out behind me.

    • I love the story.

      I was having a headache, Claudia, and I was over at Grace’s. Loved her haibun, one of my favourite styles.

      But I thought I was at yours and the change of style took me off guard!

      Turned out , it wasn’t you. But of course, I should have known. You don’t really do form🙂

      I LOVE the story. The painting of Berlin.

  5. Love the word sketch….the woman with boy….and boy with cage…sigh…reminds me about our talkative parrot flew away many years ago from 5th floor….

  6. I got a bit lost along the way–was the lonely man a stand-in for Berlin? The boy in the cage from the title made me search for him, but his hands were busy hanging on to his mother’s waist; as to the bird, it may have been too tiny to see or hear, or it was still at the man’s apartment, awaiting its new home.

  7. windworn tongue…excellent. This poem reads like a bicycle ride – the rhythm and flow. I want to know if the bird is in the birdcage as well! You have painted a vibrant and vivid portrait of this space in time with your words. A most excellent brush with incredible colors.

  8. I can see Berlin really inspired your poetry. I like the contrast between the woman on her bike – she looks so serene – and the bustling of trams and traffic. I feel I could almost draw the scene.

  9. a great vignette…I really enjoyed the interplay between the hard consonant sounds and the “w” sounds, which for me became emblematic of modern humanity’s dance of circular locomotion, wind and cityscape…you created a scene teeming with humanity’s little pieces of quiet…a sumptuous travel for the reader…grazie mille , poeta…

  10. Love the imagery and the subtle shades of city life.
    “the city’s gritty teeth” does it for me too.
    Anna :o]

  11. Your line here:

    “whispering of care and dreams and freedom as
    berlin wildly slings limbs around my ankles — legs,
    tousles my hair with windworn tongue”

    Very imaginative and breath-taking poem. Where do you get your inspiration from?

    Love it! very much.🙂

  12. Accomplished and artful write Claudia that conjures a sense of place and time… I especially liked: “…tousles my hair with wind worn tongue…”

  13. Interesting – it has happened to me often that I see someone across the street and feel that I know that person. Good to see you Claudia – happy weekend.

  14. Fantastic sound here:

    “sings along the squeeks of trams, horns and the city’s gritty teeth
    slalom- ing around pedestrians and parked cars”

    “as
    berlin wildly slings limbs around my ankles”

    And the last four lines ~ I love that.

  15. I love the story.

    I was having a headache, Claudia, and I was over at Grace’s. Loved her haibun, one of my favourite styles.

    But I thought I was at yours and the change of style took me off guard!

    Turned out , it wasn’t you. But of course, I should have known. You don’t really do form🙂

    I LOVE the story.

  16. The daily observations you had & converted into words are always amazing to read & this one is no exception, Claudia. You are a poet of the people! Smiles. I’m missing a painting over here as I thought of seeing one from you illustrating the image of the boy with a bird cage… i feel the way i feel because you often spoil us with your amazing artworks hanging before your words… smiles..

  17. i like how your eye follows and skips along in this…
    how you give meaning to shat you see…and does it matter if there is a bird in the cage…
    or that he cares enough for the cage…you make me think about him…

Leave a Reply

