it looks pretty ragged//aluminium foil, the time stamp says 2184 //&i think really// deutsche post has messed things up

.

the soil has given up
on nurturing
&they’re producing scents in big tubes
spanned like cobwebs across cities with no ends,
the air is nice & fresh though,

snow resorts
a beach, huge seas with artificial fish
tickling your legs as you dive in,
i’m sure at least you’d like this

no more traffic jams,
a union of a sort of octopus, choking their inhabitants
despite the deep cracks way beyond the surface
dad says (in a whisper)
as his hands are wound from work
he doesn’t need to do (they think/but let him)
we’re not too far
from crashing anyway,

i travel frequently/though strictly prohibited/
back to 2015, the old house, you never see me, lost,
bent deep over a piece of art,
paint&palette// set of messy brushes
in the half-dark, desperate
to find coordinates of where you are

&i remember gramma telling me about your dream,
trying to get a ticket for a train,
knowing just the destination,
not the station where you were, but

there are no more trains, the crowds, the noise
&shift of citynames on clicking tables,
dad says the poet Schiller states that
art’s a child of freedom
takes the chisel
in his old hands, beaten up with life

&tries to find time’s face, yet buried in a chunk of wood
we used to fly he says before the wars,
the shifting of the things you knew,
we flew//we could// probably still//but honestly

we never do.

.

at dVerse Grace has us write poems that read like letters from the future – from a future self or a future grandkid… doors open tuesday at 3pm EST… i’m way early…ha… smiles

37 responses to “it looks pretty ragged//aluminium foil, the time stamp says 2184 //&i think really// deutsche post has messed things up

  1. this feels very dystopian…much like a divergent…
    sadly i think the octopus is metaphoric…and most likely government…
    funny i am reading through daniel, particularly the prophecy of the statue shown to Nebecanezer (sp?)…which uses 10 for the toes…
    its cool the future you looks back in on you…
    healthcare must have been better…cause in 2184 you will be nearing your 200th birthday, right? smiles.

  2. Ah, well this doesn’t feel like a future to look forward to, with the soul having given up nurturing and those artificial fish swimming about….but I suppose no more traffic jams might be a good thing. It sounds like after the ‘wars’ everything changed; but hopefully the painting will continue. Smiles.

  3. i travel frequently/though strictly prohibited/
    back to 2015, the old house, you never see me, lost,
    bent deep over a piece of art,

    Even when you’re looking forward you’re still looking back!

  4. First, the painting colors just jumped off me, amazing ~

    I hope there will be no more traffic jams and the air is still nice & fresh ~ I am sad though when the soil has given up on nurturing and artificial fish on the sea 😦

    I also like the travel back to 2015 & seeing things with nostalgia & trying to find time’s face ~

    Enjoy your family time 🙂

  5. Claudia!!! That painting is AMAZING!!! Oh my gosh, it’s absolutely, breathtakingly gorgeous. I’m in awe.

    Now. To read the poem.

  6. It may not be ideal, but your poem depicts a future and if there is life there is hope. I like your visit to 2015. The future has much artificiality, but so does the present sometimes.
    I love your painting Claudia. It reflects your spirit.

  7. At least you can get to an art studeo in another time zone! I wonder what will matter in those times on the collision course? Maybe exactly that work that others see as useless, work that ducks the octopus and still entertains hope.

  8. I wonder what dream will rest on the red flower? Love the painting. Maybe it will be hanging in a museum in 2184. 2184….hmmm a play on Orwell’s 1984 perhaps?

  9. This feels like a dystopian future we’d rather not see, Claudia. The scents made in big tubes, the lack of public transport, the soil that no longer produces, the prohibitions… I am not sure what frightens me the most. I liked the painting though. Smiles.

  10. I wonder how things will be that far ahead in the future… I bet not much different. My mom tells me about how back in the 70’s she thought the year 2000 would be like The Jetsons… It’s cool how you travel back frequently; I might be a bit scared to look at the things I’ve gone through… but I guess future me would already know, right? ha

  11. Your titles are poems in themselves – I love the thought of Deutsche Post messing things up (although not as often as La Poste or Royal Mail, I’m sure). Particularly like the last stanza, with that dangling and poignant last line.

  12. The painting is wonderful. Your arms around the plant, shielding it. And then looking back on yourself in the past. Dystopian, disturbing. But still, there is life. Just like that one little plant, where there is life, there is hope.

  13. I like your girl in the painting who is evolving somehow able to survive and take with her what is most important in such a world..they do say our grandchildren could live to be 140 now…smile

  14. Excellent Claudia. This is faintly disturbing at a certain level, although I am not sure if I have come to a necessarily bad place in the future. The painting is a perfect fit as well!

  15. “art’s a child of freedom
    takes the chisel
    in his old hands, beaten up with life

    &tries to find time’s face, “…this portion simply dazzles Claudia…soil’s giving up nurturing & artificial fish swimming about tell about the future we’re heading towards….but your painting is amazing as always 🙂

  16. So sad it is.. that so often.. the good old days are often only seen tomorrow.. truly these are the best of times as they are the only times that truly exist.. as now.. i like to believe the future will be better.. the present is the best.. and the past is something to rarely think of at all.. and it seems to work the best for me.. at least for.. NOW..:)

  17. I like the artwork in progress and hope we get to see the finished project. You have painted the future with dark tones. Hopefully, art will always survive. Thank you for all you have done Claudia. Much appreciated on this end. Perhaps, now you will have time to explore your passion.

  18. Claudia, this is a starkly honest view of what I’m expected it to be. I tried to be more hopeful in my poem, but I do believe we will “look back in langour” at what was, in our confusion in dealing with what will be. Brill. Amy

  19. “dad says the poet Schiller states that
    art’s a child of freedom
    takes the chisel
    in his old hands, beaten up with life
    &tries to find time’s face”

    I love the spontaneity of these thoughts within the poem.

Leave a Reply

