despite the rain–

i leave the grey coat at the station, in the downpour of a day,
trains rush by, a little boy with baseball cap
&i don’t understand the math
of things that–

i have read
all night by a dim lamplight in the woods, wolves howling to the moon,
a sharp shaped scythe blade,

text a message to my girls
reply//reply//not what i’ve hoped though
&my husband says he’d join me at the slam the night before//

it all starts with a christmas song
a weird melody that mingles with the rain
it’s surreal//at best

i pour hot water in the bathtub
this is where he finds me
head first, bumbling far out on a branch,
a slowworm curling round my neck
“what the heck–“

“pssshhh, i’m a sloth” i say “moby dick or mr. spock–“
hold my nose//breath//dive
&wave

“i’ll send a postcard from the other side
&in the meantime rhyme
a traffic jam with only blue&yellow cars–“
he laughs, puzzled
just a bit “i put out the garbage bin// be careful//with your ears”

“the sky this morning” i say “was pink chalk
like in a painting&–”

somehow there’s no way
of getting over it

.

we’re celebrating our last OLN of the year at dVerse tonite… wanna join? doors open at 3pm EST…

42 responses to “despite the rain–

  1. This poem has lots of atmosphere of life, Claudia. Little snippets that make up a day, written with your usual poetic brush. I wonder if it is possible to send postcards from the other side…depends on other side of what, I suppose. Smiles. We have had those days with pink chalk skies here as well. Beautiful when they happen. Nature’s way of showing us, I guess, that even in this grey season there is enough beauty to light the sky! Happy weekend, Claudia.

  2. Familiar feeling to spending the night reading the book…becoming the one with the characters …in the forest…then returning back to reality….and it’s good that there ‘no way getting over it’…these pink chalk sky not everyone see…sigh, have a nice rest and happy holidays x

  3. A very atmospheric and a bit wistful poem, Claudia. I started reading ‘Wild” and feel i am partly on that trail as well as here in front of the computer so I appreciate the little bits and pieces of your life you share with us.

  4. Only you with your poetics says this:

    “the sky this morning” i say “was pink chalk
    like in a painting&–”

    Happy to see a glimpse of your happy family Claudia ~ Merry Christmas to you ~

  5. Clearly a poem is in the eye of the beholder, because I interpreted that in a rather shocking way – the bath, head first plunge into the water, husband finding you there, sending postcards from the other side.. Was a bit too close to home (of me 20+ years ago). Anyway, glad to see upon second reading that it’s more about leap of imagination and feeling absorbed in other worlds.
    Thank you for all your support and patience this year, which has not been an easy one for many of us, I think.

  6. The expectations not turned reality stands out for me in this poem. And the intellectual connections that are trying to be made. All that in the midst of some very interesting and colorful scenes.

  7. So much to love here, Claudia. The pink chalk sky of the morning – so artistic. But not understanding the math .. of what I have read. This strikes a real note in me. I’m having trouble understanding the math of life at the moment, so thank you – these jangled thoughts & emotions are how I’m living, & you’ve put it so well.
    I wish you, & yours, a very Merry Christmas, and thank you for giving us all this venue. I don’t often come here, but I love that I can. xVivienne, of OneVoice Poetry

  8. There’s a form of comfort to be found in our daily routines: a bath, the husband talking of taking the trash out, that reminds us that despite gray skies or disappointments, life moves forward. I love how you capture these snippets of your life in a way I can always feel and relate to. Best wishes to you and yours this holiday season.

  9. Ha..! “i put out the garbage bin.. cover your ears..” and i think that is what my wife thinks about my musings at times..

    i suppose next i too… will warn her.. to cover her ears….

    Happy Holidays Claudia.. once again…:)

  10. NOTE…I am ill with a bad virus, & can barely type, so pardon me if I don’t
    comment on your poetics. All of us in the dVerse community enjoy a unique
    fellowship, & I cherish it with all my heart. Wishing you ALL a Merry Christmas
    & may 2015 bring all of us joy.

  11. Our days are full of a myriad small moments..some troubling, some magical, like the pink chalk sky…others may bother us a bit more…a bubble bath sounds like the answer!! I’m barely able to read any tonight like I had planned, but I will. Happy Holidays, Claudia, from my little part of the world to yours ..smiles.

  12. oh, i do love your zest for life, Claudia! your passionate nature shines through your words and makes me smile!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

  13. moby dick is emotion….spock is logic….and i imagine that somewhere in between in the sweet spot…sounds like a bit of the poetry bug has bitten you….ha…a bit overwhelmed by the rhyme and the imagery of the world….the only relief…write it…

  14. Hope you had great holidays. There are lots of paintings in your poem…at least in my mind. Don’t think I’ll forget the bath and slow worm. Think I’ll read it again. I want one of the postcards from the other side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

