Dear Ms. Bramblebee,

as i write this i sit covered by the night,
yellow, bits and pieces of the sun
&thankful for her light (&shade)
well– there are times when i forget, but—
please excuse

the stains,
ink leaves caterpillar traces on the page
that smile with charcoal eyes
every time i lift the pen//
so funny
makes me joyful in a weird movement of the heart,
a sudden lift

before the fall that dances in my stomach
guess that sounds familiar, doesn’t it?
like rollercoaster rides
(i’m often so afraid..)
this morning on the highway – i forgot my coat at home –
&sang psalms for the warmth
of the electric heating in the car

have i told you?
there are a thousand little sailboats as the water hits the screen
are they real?
i didn’t dare to ask about their harbor
sometimes i’m too shy
or just not fast enough before they’re getting swallowed by the sky

later in the office
(yeah – it didn’t change much til my april letter)
cup of coffee scent &laughter in the space
between whiteboards, copying machine,
computer screen
my colleague’s jokes still made me grin
after hours of typing
(aahhh, i see you smile)

as i ride my bike into the evening
the wind plays with my hair

tsshhHHrrr— psSSHHhtsh— pLinNg

i don’t get tired of listening
&love the way his tousling lips feel on my skin

&even if he’s half a world away //in just a whiff
i’m thankful. really
i’m so thankful

for his friendship

.

for MTB today, Bri has us write “Giving Thanks” poems in whatever form you like – maybe as a list poem, letter- or collage poem – just write about the things you’re thankful for… pub doors open at 3pm EST…

33 responses to “Dear Ms. Bramblebee,

  1. I enjoyed the thankful and intimate tone of your letter poem, the sailboats, the jokes, the bike ride… Our lives are made up of these little things and they are definitely what we should be grateful for.

  2. … and thank you for your friendship, C … deep winter here … still got Cuba on my mind … Theo is purring for me … that’s friendship, too … smiles … Love, cat.

  3. Joyful moments are sometimes hidden…so nice that you remember to find them and keep in the heart with psalms, laughter and dance….I like the ‘ tousling lips’ of wind and thanks for your pen/heart on my pages…smiles and hugs.

  4. i think there are times we all forget to be thankful…to count our blessings and realize just how much we have….of those in our lives that fill it with life and love….thankful for you my friend…

  5. I am thankful daily for the fellowship found at dVerse. I forget that over there, where you worked today, Thanksgiving is just mostly an American holiday (except for the Wal Mart employees). A fetching, lovely, swirl of sentiment, whimsey, & thankfulness found here today, on your page, in your heart; hugs. Love the lines
    /I didn’t dare ask about their harbor/sometimes I’m too shy/or just not fast enough before they’re getting swallowed by the sky/.

  6. “this morning on the highway – i forgot my coat at home –
    &sang psalms for the warmth
    of the electric heating in the car”

    That’s my favorite part as truly we are so lucky to have an artificial home of comfort both on the road and at home..

    And in the days.. of no hot water in Winters i did go through.. whenever i was feeling down.. when the warm water was around again…

    i thought about all my ancestors that never dreamed of such a treasure…

    So much to give Thanks for.. there truly is.. when one looks back at what other folks did NOT do.. for comfort..:)

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.. Claudia..:)

  7. I absolutely adore the last six lines. This could mean multiple things. Since you were singing songs of thanksgiving for your heater, maybe you’re thankful for the kiss of God, His provision, his guidance, and His presence in your life.

    Certainly it could be a would-be or former lover/romantic interest who is still a friend.

    But what I really think is that this is a hidden message to Brian. I think you’re saying that his poetry equals friendly and heartwarming “kisses on your skin.” I think you know he needs a little encouragement and uplifting right now, and this is your way of sending him a shout-out, letting him know he means the world to you and that you treasure your poetic friendship.

  8. Oh, and if this is about God, then Ms. Bramblebee was a Sunday School teacher. If this is about Brian, then she was the literature teacher who first exposed you to poetry.

  9. I love the combination of all the ‘little’ things which you are grateful for and then the timeless big things. That’s often the way in life, we only spot the forest if we name individual trees.

  10. I thought I’d read this before, and maybe I did when it came to my e-mail but waited to comment. Truly a delight to read and the 2nd time around this popped out to me:

    so funny
    makes me joyful in a weird movement of the heart,
    a sudden lift

    before the fall that dances in my stomach
    guess that sounds familiar, doesn’t it?
    like rollercoaster rides

    Not sure I ever read that feeling described so well!

  11. What a wonderful gratitude list! Told as uniquely as ever; puts me right there with you in every moment.

  12. Claudia, lovely words and please excuse me as I too sometimes forget as I get caught in the hectic day to day things, but at the end of the day before I close my eyes I remember and I am indeed thankful as I drift into a dream-scape.

  13. I had read this a couple of days ago, but didn’t comment because I had company (my grandkids) and couldn’t quite concentrate. This is so beautiful. A different kind of gratitude poem that speaks to the sky and the wind and even to car heaters. There’s so much that deserves gratitude. I bet you’re grateful for your gift of imagination which paints colors in our minds. Well, I’m grateful for it, for being able to read it and enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

