i think a man who cooks is frickin’ sexy or//show me how you cook&— or//a messy cook’s a messy lover (not//that i would mind–) smiles

i sort my tastebuds in the shape of continents,
of lands with rugged hills&cliffs,
the scent of sheep
coconut woven like beads along the ocean’s smiling lips
the salty touch of oysters on my tongue

food is never just a sum
of its ingredients

my kids with rivulets of warm milk
on their cheek//still on my breast
the power of chasing dreams,
a tiny rat in paris
who refuses to give up,
perestroika & glasnost
politics & cultures that are strange for us

pink kitkat on my desk, fresh from japan
and pumpkin in a butterbed
sizzling joyful in a pan while i sew drapes

memories of scarred knees, picking berries
in the forest with my cousin
taste of sour dock while hiding in the grass when
playing cowboys and gendarmes
rivaling the scent of daisies

the grease-film on your lips after chinese take-away
the urge to–

&the starry sky of dripped-down döner sauce on new, blue jeans
U2 playing on a rooftop in SF
the taste of dust//of nameless streets out in the slums
the first real meal after a surgery

home-cooked peach jam,
currywurst in kreuzberg where the wall once ran,

it’s history& yet-to-come
olive oil&fresh bread on my tongue,
it’s heimweh*
&the need //to strap a rucksack to my back
to breathe the scent of pines

it’s cake crumbs on a market place in rome
john, chapter one

&longing

for your word
to feed me

 .
*heimweh = homesickness
for dVerse where Abhra has us write food today..

33 responses to “i think a man who cooks is frickin’ sexy or//show me how you cook&— or//a messy cook’s a messy lover (not//that i would mind–) smiles

  1. “it’s cake crumbs on a market place in rome
    john, chapter one

    &longing

    for your word
    to feed me”

    I love this part, and the opening line. U2 and pumpkin, the breastfeeding section, berry-picking and scraped knees. Fantastic images.

  2. A fantastic sensual journey, mingling your wanderlust to the specificity of both taste & region; a master stroke on how to deal with the prompt, somehow compounded brilliantly with matriarchal sustenance, mother earth/earth mother, your breasts on a 20 foot windsock where the Wall used to stand; and so much more!!!! Liked your line /coconut woven like beads along the ocean’s smiling lips/
    Lean pickings tonight on the trail, & you get the first prize for audacious excellence & sensual overload; wow.

    • This was a rich, delicious, fabulous read, my friend. Wowzers!!!!!!! So much to love! Especially the ending. Love the cozyness of memories and sewing drapes for the New Look at your place! Might we see a photo or two on completion?

  3. So true that food is so much more than a sum of its ingredients. And I like the ending with the words that feed. Often words can nourish as much as any food….thinking of poetry….smiles.

  4. Love the title…funny…interestingly, home food, the simple one always has priorities like ‘olive oil and fresh bread’ at yours…~ Loved the ‘ocean’s smiling lips’ and all tasty list of food…with words,of course x

  5. Wow, what a ride of sensations! But it is true that taste and smell (and sounds) of cooking bring back so many memories. I remember baking a cherry pie to the sound of gunshots… Beautiful capture, sensual, provocative, vibrant… and as for the title…!

  6. Perfect way to write about food! I love how astes and memories intermingle in your poem, Claudia. I think food becomes special not because of the sum of the ingredients but because of the circumstances and the love that was put in the making.

  7. “i sort my tastebuds in the shape of continents”- loved that and even more because I am someone who likes to cook. I am glad that this is turning into so much fun prompt.

  8. When I am visiting a new place, one of the first things that I do is try the food. Not the chain food that all the tourist flock to but the places that only locals know about, and seldom tell. Food becomes the road markers as well guiding us back to those places, and sometimes to home as well.

    It is a good thing that I can cook.

Leave a Reply

