why i do what i do//although the bumps along the margins wear me down somedays

tttsssSsshhhsshhhhhp

enveloped in a haze //n-butyl acetate
i spraypaint letters on the bridge’s grey//crackling forehead
cars and trains rumble across,
a little boy fogs up the pane
his nose a flat peach on its sunlight-glistening surface

a guy in a blue raincoat says
“it’s never permanent–
someone else will come and brush thick layers over it”

that doesn’t mean i’m gone
yet i get cold a bit
it’s dangerous //CAPS&
concrete skeletons lean heavy in the breeze

“and why use words that no one understands”
they’re all in a hurry
heavy bags//chocolate chips against autumn’s first chill,
a dotted dog pee-marks his territory
“they could google it, i mean–”
“they won’t”

he lights a cigarette
a thousand magnifying glasses shimmer in his beard
i want to run my hand
across the secret that sits hidden in the crevice of his lips
as color-rivulets run down the wall, legs,
puddle at my toes,
they’re penciled  red still,
a bit damaged though

“what makes you get up on this scaffold?”

“the way the wind whips spraypaint on my skin”

“that’s it?”

“i think”

his lips are dry a bit
as we sit by the highway
on an island, cyclones spitting froth across the waves

“if that is gone, i’ll stop”
“i know”
&we throw flat stones, skipping on the lake’s unbroken surface

.

“following through a metaphor” is karin’s theme at dVerse tonite… doors open at 3pm EST

39 responses to “why i do what i do//although the bumps along the margins wear me down somedays

  1. I felt like I was looking at a surreal painting, and at the same time looking inside your head a bit. Your words are so enticing, they create a curiosity about their mysterious connections. Metaphorical thinking comes naturally to you. Your thinking is non-linear, packed with provocation. Makes one wonder, think. You are unique Claudia. So cool.

  2. Ha, I have sometimes wondered, “why use words that no one understands” also. Even if they are in a hurry, they should slow down a bit! I could never understand those who would risk so much to spray paint letters on a bridge…but I can understand the satisfaction one would have upon completion!

  3. I love this, Claudia…somehow think you do have the picture you describe to accompany this poem…for me the phrase “it’s never permanent–…” the key to everything visual, based on our perception, but some invisible values ..like you say in your title – the love to what you do helps to keep going…

  4. …from painting chalk hearts on life’s walls…to red- penciling your feet. to drawing letters on overpasses…you do it all well, Claudia. What did you write? “KISS A SAX PLAYER TODAY”????–grin!

  5. An incredible illustration of the prompt; really pumped me up for my poetic effort this morning; like Victoria, I loved the lines /a little boy fogs up the pane/his nose a flat peach on its sunlight-glistening surface/ Another winner from the House & Mind of Schoenfeld.

  6. So much movement in this – it is like music too – music in color I believe – peaches on windows become the nose of the curious boy – the bridge arcs – the train moves – the lips dry, the cars toot, it rains, it puddles things stay others wash away. Definitely music to my eyes and ears!

  7. I admire the colors running down, unguarded like spray paint ~ But I specially like the boy’s nose, flat peach on the glistening surface ~ I agree on using words, make it understandable & simple (no need to google) ~

  8. “what makes you get up on this scaffold?”

    “the way the wind whips spraypaint on my skin”

    Why we do what we do. Nothing is permanent, someone may come along and paint (write) over it. But for a moment or two we have captured their attention, and the paint feels good on our skin. Loved your choice of metaphor, Claudia! I am looking at this as a writer’s point of view, but knowing also how lovely your watercolors are, I think the metaphor could follow through on anything one creates and shares.

  9. You used an interesting metaphor here with these sprayed words, even those people may not understand. But I also like your closing lines. And hopefully sometimes our words provoke ripples on that lake.

  10. If we all knew why we do what we do? There would be no issues ever, we would learn. Love you painting metaphor, another thing you do with talent. Surprised you had to stop “that’s it”. Like you could do more. I “think” then go on to another story. Very colorful write just like you.

  11. This line: i want to run my hand
    across the secret that sits hidden in the crevice of his lips—fave, and the flat peach nose, dotted dog…I just love the snapshots you capture with words. And YES, the spraypaint…enjoyed this, Claudia.

  12. “a thousand magnifying glasses shimmer in his beard
    i want to run my hand
    across the secret that sits hidden in the crevice of his lips..” I loved those lines. All in all, a great metaphor, Claudia, and you’ve taken it every which way to a fine tight ending.

  13. Great use of metaphor, Claudia. I like the way you set up your verse as well. I’m a big fan of making the poem look interesting, too.

    Hamish lured me over to this site and I used an entry that I did recently. I hope that’s OK and that it didn’t have to be new for this challenge. Next time I’ll do something new. 🙂

    janet

  14. ““what makes you get up on this scaffold?”

    “the way the wind whips spraypaint on my skin”

    “that’s it?”

    “i think”

    How many questions do we answer with the same offhand understanding of the reason behind our actions? So perceptive, Claudia–and wonderful metaphors.

  15. I liked this and as they say “the words of the prophets are written on the concert studio hall” per the great band Rush..in the Spirit of Radio..and yes graffiti on the railroad tracks of scaffold concrete overpasses..where the artists of life do play in NOW..as long as canvas exists for their brush of creativity..in now….:)

Leave a Reply

