Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth//6:15 on my way to work

photo 2-42

.

morning presses cool lips
on my cheeks, scent of sunrise,
but she’s dreaming//
//hide&seek with traffic lights
light touch of rain’s wet veil
upon my thighs

i’ve not yet showered,
teeth unbrushed
the warm carress of bed still on me

and my bike tells endless stories
“let me breATHe” i beg
scent of clay, exhaust //summer’s fall
behind the next bend
lurking

and it’s solomon’s song i listen to this morning,
age-weighed wisdom

every tree hums slow diminished chords
while the rain dots dark-grey concrete
like a girl’s dress
clouds
in thick embrace with the horizon

i cross the highway bridge
the car’s wild buzz
against the wind like colonies of bees
on a hot summer day

&think about him who sat with the sheep
harp tunes on my lips
&solomon in his fancy palace,
last steep hill

i lock my bike, drip// wet trails
on the company floor
“good morning”
&a guy beyond shift’s end
stares at my butt while i walk down the aisle
to the showers in the basement

in 10 minutes i’ll sit at my desk,
in a suit,
hair shower-wet &
morning’s deep// wild melody kissed all
upon me

36 responses to “Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth//6:15 on my way to work

  1. First to say thanks for sharing your train of thought as you travel to work…so quiet and serene to start, the wonderful melody to carry you onward, scents, sensations, pondering ..then ready to work after your shower…cute selfie!

  2. every tree hums slow diminished chords
    while the rain dots dark-grey concrete
    like a girl’s dress
    clouds
    in thick embrace with the horizon

    To which i sing the eternal YES!

  3. A shower after a bike ride would certainly make for freshness. One would be most alert at the office as the morning exercise rendered one less lethargic! Great write Claudia!

    Hank

  4. Oh, I love this one, Claudia. I really admire your invigorating biking-to-work routine! What a way to get the morning off to a healthy start. I really like the way you wrote this poem. I felt I was with you all the way, listening to Solomon and reflecting……, then finally showered & ready for business! (This is one of my favorite poems of yours…..really good.)

  5. OH Claudia, I read this twice–not b/c lack of understanding, but it is just sweetest feeling to have those golden words of yours run down my slowly-awakening limbs. (Just read third time–to Anna–b/c it is special) She loves it.)

    Your bike rides go quickly, as your mind works. My trick is “hearing”–playing?)
    classical music in my head–makes time disappear. Yesterday was Wagner Tristan und Isolde–LOVE that stuff!

    You had me riding with you all the way–(HA! The wet thighs!)…I actually thank God that I’m allowed to be here reading this (and others) this morning. You have good evening

    Did you write this at work–grin!

  6. Just taking it in as you bike to your work bin, a shower would sure awaken too but the bike ride would blow the morning stink off you haha not that you have any lmao

  7. let me breathe…
    and you do, taking it all in as you pedal on…
    fully aware…even of the guy watching your backside
    as you head to the shower…
    love all the little sensory details in this write c….

  8. I see you start very early every morning and you know how much I like getting up early! I enjoyed the way your word flow reflects your morning thoughts as you bike on your way to work and the way the ending sounds very business like.

  9. Ah, I love all your sensations on the way to work! esp. I can hear ‘every tree hums slow diminished chords’ and see and feel some nostalgia about ‘summer’s fall
    behind the next bend
    lurking’…. ~ very fulfilled package of expressions in your poem today for me…thank you, Claudia :)x ~ Have a nice day *

  10. And if he were with us today, that hillside shepherd, would he not be singing to the traffic on his way to suit up? You issue the invitation here and I hear it sweet and loud!

  11. i love this stanza:
    “every tree hums slow diminished chords
    while the rain dots dark-grey concrete
    like a girl’s dress
    clouds
    in thick embrace with the horizon”

    And the last. Beautiful!

  12. Claudia, this may be my favorite poem of yours that I’ve read, and I’ve read many. It is so full of imagery, energy, imagination and all at the same time “just an ordinary day”… I loved this!

Leave a Reply

