20&87

my mom & daughter

my mom & daughter

 .
you lose distance
drawing people,
doesn’t matter if the setting’s public
in a restaurant
like at my daughter’s birthday
bowls of salad on the table

“i’m gonna eat mine with the main dish” i say
&take out my sketchbook, brush, watercolor box

“you’re painting now?”

“hmmm, while i wait– you can start already”

i don’t touch people quickly
even though familiar//usually
there’s a shyness&
i trace them with my eyes,
each line and curve, discovering
a bit like braille maybe
as you see shapes//grow
from the wet tip of the brush

“where’s my napkin?”

“oh– i used it for the color puddles in the box lid”
“ha” he smiles

&i’m planted in the moment,
comfortable like a tree, spreading its limbs
to this side and that
breathing in the scents of summer’s slow fall,
bee’s hum, mushroom pancake
&the wild cry from a bird’s crooked beak

“i like that one mom”
Prissi says
“gonna take it as my profile pic”

she’ll be leaving by the end of month for university//
a foreign city//new start

“oh, i’m gonna miss her” says my mom&
i am proud and— adding all the shades i see
In the soft shimmer of her hair

“she’ll be fine” i smile
feeling the soft touch of her skin
across the table

.

for dVerse..

30 responses to “20&87

  1. nice….i like how you put us in the moment — from your perspective, as you try to capture the moment, in the midst of your own feelings about her leaving…maybe it is your way of coping with it…like taking pictures to capture those moments while you can……

  2. i trace them with my eyes,
    each line and curve, discovering
    a bit like braille maybe…love this and this…..&i’m planted in the moment,
    comfortable like a tree, spreading its limbs…I love it all. Great capture🙂

  3. Feels so tasty…just marvelous how you can do everything simultaneously…wish successful year in university for your daughter ~ love the faces with shades – so gentle touches…

  4. I can just picture this scene. You sketching while the rest are eating their salads! That shows dedication to the art! I like the phrase “You lose distance drawing people.” Very very true…..when you draw something you become close / intimate with it, communicate on a different sort of level rather than just observing. I also like “feeling the soft touch of her skin across the table.” Yes, art brings things close….and keeps them & the moment close forever within the sketch.

    Thank you, Claudia, for letting us write to your art this week! I have really enjoyed reading the poems!

  5. Hey Claudia–love this–warm and the drawing is lovely–I have been offline and away and now have to get back into the mode, as I do want to write a poem for your paintings–but will be late. I am so envious of your little kit and may get one, as I miss painting so much. Your work has a liberating quality. K.

  6. I really like how you make us be part of the scene, as if we were sitting at the next table looking at you and your family. The lines about the napkin made me smile. Great sketch also!

  7. Oh so lovely! And how nice to get this further insight into your process, and also understand better about losing distance.

  8. Read this one earlier so that is why I did not chose pic off your site, I was going to tribute my mother too. So nice that you captured that moment. If her hair were red that might my mom, although her hair wasn’t truly red, mine will be too, soon. I miss my mom so much. Enjoy her when you can. Love reading here and always have loved your writes. .

  9. stunning. you paint the picture of the moment so well with your words. I like how you describe the way your “don’t touch the people quickly.”

  10. Ha..I can relate to the color puddles;) and how special is this sketch of your mother and daughter! Something to frame…as I mentioned in another response, I think your artwork is needing a showcase and selling it might be a worthwhile venture. Not so much monetarily, just that you have reached a peak in your life and maybe it would be fitting to spread the love around, make your art and poetry, together, available to the public??? just a thought..maybe because I wish i could do it all..however, I am keeping a journal of my sketched and poems and will put them together somehow someday for my grandkids;) I’m amazed at the responses btw, the wonderful poems that have been written to your art this week..how exciting!

  11. The picture is beautiful and the scene you painted, the external and your own internal processes, was beautiful as well. You threaded them all nicely together.

  12. I love how you’re in a way discovering your family through painting them. There’s a beauty to that. Also loved the intimacy, where first you write

    i don’t touch people quickly

    followed by

    “she’ll be fine” i smile
    feeling the soft touch of her skin
    across the table

    Lovely.

  13. &i’m planted in the moment,
    comfortable like a tree, spreading its limbs
    to this side and that

    You can do that Claudia! Just amazing! I can’t possibly draw in front of so many people! Thanks for sharing!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

