no. i didn’ lose my mind in scotland// it’s a spring poem actually

view on edinburgh from carlton hill

view on edinburgh from carlton hill

.
es-ce que grant ’em
e-top tattooe into my hand
where? reduce it Gaudi – a
pure pure atom

floor & pi returns

so L. (for lovely)serene atom nei’tha
a/miam’ d’cendant tree steal yah
ESTA ‘s? read it!
none– c? re’ar, seed it
hi. i miss// sea wee tires


& that’s the original: 
extracts from ecce gratum from the carmina burana

Ecce gratum
et optatum
Ver reducit gaudia.
purpuratum
floret pratum.
Sol serenat omnia.
iamiam cedant tristia!
Aestas redit,
nunc recedit
Hiemis saevitia.

.

smiles… marina challenges us at dVerse today to take a poem in a language we don’t understand, listen closely and “translate” it the way we hear it by focusing on how the words sound…

back from scotland – loved it!! &will be catching up with you now…

35 responses to “no. i didn’ lose my mind in scotland// it’s a spring poem actually

  1. It’s mysterious and it’s lovely! That is the effect of not knowing the language. But a foreign language will sound very nice and very mesmerizing! Great write Claudia and welcome back!

    Hank

  2. It is as if (reminds me of) the old nightly TV shows when a joke was translated around the room of 6-8 different language Peeps. The final “joke” was never funny, ALWAYS had nothing to do with the original. You did VERY well with it, Claudia. You just skipped (by-passed) about six translations!!!

  3. good to have you back friend….smiles…and look at you…a bit of english a bit of spanish…out of latin? ha. the pure pure atom floor & pi…fav phrase…and the imperative voice in the last couple lines as well…almost make it make sense…ha

  4. I am pleased that we both returned this week, me from the ocean beaches, you from Scotland, both just as /floor & pi returns/. I love how you keyed into the phonetic clues, as per the form; nice job.

  5. I like Carminative Burana, and what you did with this extract. I am glad you enjoyed Scotland. Great sketch of Edinburgh! It is such a wonderful city.

  6. Welcome back, Claudia, and thank you for joining in the nonsense and fun! Did you not study some Latin at school – I seem to remember most German students know a bit of Latin… But then so did I and have forgotten all of it!
    Your pure pure atom is sheer joy – and you convey the exuberance and joy of Carmina Burana – quintessential student life and songs.

  7. Good to have u back, C 🙂 … and thanks of reminding me of Orff and his Burana … omg, it has been over 30 years, since I listened last … still remember it so well …on the w/e I will look through my record collection for it.

  8. I think that those like you whose first language isn’t English have an extra widget in their brains to produce meaningful transliteration. Yours is fascinating. Gaudi would have loved it!

    Glad you enjoyed Edinburgh – a glorious city.

  9. No, I didn’t “get it.” But, I feel as if I am travelling in a land that doesn’t have my language, so this could be me trying to communicate. LOVE the sketches. having spent a summer at Edinburgh U in creative writing and festivals, I’d say you captured the flow and the spirit.

  10. Aye Lassie, some good poetry ye writes. Bring on the haggis and budding tulips.

    Veni, vidi, vici is about the extent of my latin. And Ave Maria, of course! Gratzi a pleina…

    WONDERFUL artwork. They featured Edinburg in the United Airlines magazine last month, remembered how captivating it is. Only been there for 2 days, but did lose my mind there in a great way. 🙂

    xoox

  11. Lovely fun! I like the way you blended languages and even dialects so insouciantly. After only 4 days there in 1998, the Edinburgh of memory remains one of my favourite cities.

  12. This reminds me of an evening spent in a restaurant near the Alps. We sat next to a table with six couples. They were aware that we were Americans and would start to tell a joke in English, switch to French, then to German, then deliver the punch line in an unknown tongue. We later learned they were from Iceland. Tantalizing write, Claudia.

  13. So I read this before I went to bed the other night, after taking care of grandkids all day. I was exhausted, and when I read this i thought I had also lost my mind. Ha. Then when I read what Marina had asked poets to do, I got it. Not the poem, but at least I understood the exercise. I feel badly ’cause I studied Latin all through high school, yet was never exposed to this poem. I did look it up, then could appreciate your feeling translation better. I’ll be catching up with you sporadically as i can. Still taking care of the kids. Nice to have you back.