bridge of sighs//and my knees are sunburnt //still

photo 2-29.

“i really like that sketch” he says,
seas of sunrays with me in the gravel on the floor,
burning my arms and legs

“one thing–”

and in a whirl of tiny windows he points out a few
“you didn’t do those with love–”

i stare at him
“i– heck, how do you know–?”
he smiles
“i see it”

&i can’t–
the way a dragon lifts its wings to find
the real thing

later
in the pub

we all draw something
tiny parts of what we are
or think we’ve been or will
at some point somewhere–

talking poetry
&love
&lust
in every vowel like velvet on the lips,
in lines that wrap
trustful round the sketcher’s chest
because they know

you’ll kiss them back
mouth to mouth//slides open
fumbling//buttercups&wire in your eyes//
finding the perfect line along the neck, spine–

“see– you’re off a bit here
but that’s fine–”

down// down//a bit more to the right
“dang–”
i run hands across the stone’s cracked open surface
slowly//thoughtful
til it sighs

there’s no wrong or right//right now
it’s just the line
&i
a moment’s slice
the dragon’s wide-spread wings,
gravel on my sunburnt knees//
a pen

&in the falling–

i will catch me.

.

 

tonite is OpenLinkNight at dVerse //doors open at 3pm EST… //i would love but cannot join as my internet is terribly slow here…
in italy where i just arrived for another sketching workshop (ha yes i know…smiles) and thought i’d share the last post from my Oxford workshop before it’s growing long, grey beard hair…smiles
will comment back on those that found me – it may just take me a bit longer than usually

 

9 responses to “bridge of sighs//and my knees are sunburnt //still

  1. Thanks for the slice Claudia. I like that what you’re learning here somehow relates back to the Pub. I know the lines in poems written without love, will be evident, especially to the polished poet. I appreciate this lesson. Hope you enjoy your next workshop.

  2. I love the lines “i run hands across the stone’s cracked open surface
    slowly//thoughtful til it sighs there’s no wrong or right//right now it’s just the line
    &i…”…the beauty and truth is in the moment…not in the eyes of the critic.

  3. mmmm … lovely … can’t buy me love … but I’d buy this poem … every line is delicious, C … thanks for sharing … Love, cat.

  4. How wonderful! The dragon is still around a a stone that sighs. What more could we ask for. You have done your workshop in Oxford proud and leaving us looking forward to what Italy brings…

  5. Oh, brilliant! I think this sketching workshop (love Oxford) has given your poetry an extra something, too; indefinable but there. Can’t wait to see what Italy does! Enljoy, enjoy–and thank you so much for this, definitely done with love.

  6. i have no idea why there’s no comment box… probably has to do with the internet issues i seem to have here… if you want to leave a comment, you can leave it on the other post – i will comment back – it just takes a bit longer… smiles