i wanna japanese-kiss spring //mouth full with cherry blossoms

i zip-whisk little drops of morning thaw,
hide ‘em in the taste buds on my tongue,
he tells me they had heaps of new snow,
flake-crashed in few hours,

his thick raven hair heavily grey-veined
“what about the cherries?” i ask
“ours are about to bloom soon–”
(& i hope they’re gonna wait until my girls
are back)

he shakes his head “not yet”
i bow-accept his present,
take it like a business card with both hands
&unwrap it while he watches

trying to remember
if that’s what you do
in eastern culture
“very cool– thank you–”

kitkat made with matcha,
shade grown green tea powder
(says the tag) finely milled
— like fresh grass,

spring peep-winks through closed office blinds
&i antennae-trace the golden lines
of letters i don’t understand,
a red-womb moon “made in japan”

shiver-casts a foreign spell onto the afternoon
“thanks again” he says
“you’re welcome– if you need anything, give me a call”

we don’t shake hands
probably he would’ve,
willing to adapt to western habit

&i mole-dig in my work
between target sheets and documents
gossamer-floats the scent
of matcha, snowfields, huge blue sky/clouds
wing-cruised in a single parchment bloom

&all of me res
ponds //&you’ve no idea
how deep// i wanna kiss her —

.

over at dVerse today Björn has us use Kennings in our poetry – which are two words, put together in a way that they build a metaphor or a new word… see you at 3pm EST when the pub doors bustle-swing open… smiles

43 responses to “i wanna japanese-kiss spring //mouth full with cherry blossoms

  1. I love the way you have crafted this, and the ‘kennings’ fit in beautifully (so that’s what they’re called – I’ve been using them without knowing), with maybe a reservation about ‘gossamer-floats’ as veering towards predictable. The last stanza is startlingly gorgeous, and I don’t know why. I love my daily fix of you!
    🙂

  2. I like how you evoke spring through your comparison of cherry blossoms at home and in Japan. I enjoy your kennings too and can picture you visitor and his grey-veined hair. I also like how you immerse yourself into work like a mole.

  3. nice…cool energy in a word like zip-whisk…the comparison to the fresh grass in the middle is cool…the break in res ponds…ha….fun….nice kenning all wrapped around a pretty cool encounter….and she’ll be here soon enough…smiles.

  4. kennings and cherry blossoms, wonderful. I’m sure many of us are wishing for signs of an established spring; I know I am. For me, it is the bluebonnets.

  5. You’ve created some very fine kennings, Claudia, and worked them into your very sensory evocative poem. I like the ‘zip-whisk’ and the ‘bow-accept’ especially. Really cool that the cherry trees are about to bloom there. Nothing at all would have buds yet here even. Sigh.

  6. Oh you are always so good at playing with words – when I first read about the prompt it came to me that you probably are the best at it Claudia 🙂

  7. Terrific take on the kenning, Claudia.( It’s so fun, but not sure time will allow me today to join in. ) I tried to pick a favorite, but they are all delicious. Guess I’ll go with red womb moon.

  8. So evocative and sensual, all five senses in a poem I could smell and hear and see and taste… great use of the kennings!

  9. I also cannot wait for Spring! And I love the sense of the Japanese tea candy here and the cherry blossoms so suggestive. I grew up in DC where we had many Japanese Cherry Blossom trees. Thanks. k.

  10. Bowing in public, touching in private, this is another perfect rendering both of the kenning-prompt, and the Claudia-speak, sensuous-breath, poetics glide straight from our cortex to our heart; really enjoyed the regality of the mundane moment as experienced; nice job.

  11. I like the peep-weeks and mole-digs ~ How lovely that spring has arrived – gossamer-floats the scent
    of matcha, snowfields

    Can’t wait to kiss them myself ~

  12. Amazing that you can take a business encounter and embue it with emotion–particularly like “gossamer-floats the scent
    of matcha, snowfields, huge blue sky/clouds
    wing-cruised in a single parchment bloom”. Lovely poem.

  13. I was going to remark how clever you hyphenated words were…mole-dig, antenna-trace, zip-whisk…and then I read your explanation. Really great technique. Now I gotta go read Björn’s post.
    Really great read, Claudia. So vivid and flowing.
    Tina @ Life is Good

  14. Fun to read your poetic kennings…i especially like how spring peep-winks through the office blinds and how speaker mole-digs into work…wonderful!

  15. Not only are these creative Kennings..but such a sensory way to celebrate Equinox and approaching spring..but wHere i live it is already green..and the creative spirit..is growing..wHere i live everywHere i see..!hope send ya some green 2..in the spring of creation..as well..!from a place wHere snow..almost always..hides..behind blades of green…

  16. hmmm…the more and more I read about spring, the more too I would mind grabbing her in such a fervor. this was lovely. there is something a little creepy (no pun intended) about peep-winks…but still I like it along with your other kenning creations.

  17. A delicate, heartfelt cultural exchange… flirting with spring blossoms… the thrill of wondering and anticipation… all beautifully captured here.

  18. Sweet story-telling. I haven’t found a better way to describe raven hair being grey-veined.. smiles, and I really was thinking about that lately too.

    It’s a funny social awkwardness in this piece, how there’s a bow, and a “very cool, thanks” in the next stanza.. smiles …Life’s like that sometimes.

  19. You are a Kenning queen! Love what you’ve put together here…japanese-kiss spring //mouth full with cherry blossoms…really made me smile 🙂