yep//i bribed the rain and have a pact with all the robbers

chandelier and bookshelf in our living room//from my sketchbook

chandelier and bookshelf in our living room//from my sketchbook

.

dice fall,
i get wood and hay cards,
“block him” i say to my daughter,
he’s already scored
too many points

“what you’re doing?”
“building colonies” i say
waiting for the robbers to appear
to steal & mix the cards anew,

rain runs flickering fingers
along closed blinds/pane/lamps
through the room,
towards the chandelier,
my hair,
the christmas tree,
pajamas// yeah,
i didn’t even dress,

a palette of smeared color
on my fingertips
from painting sunshine
onto moldy cobwebs,

he builds
one more street,
i occupy the ore mine
“it won’t save you”
(& it doesn’t)

as rain melts
slowly into soil ///a stream,
winding lazily towards the sea
in secret tunnels,
salt scent on my lips
i get my compass out
&check direction,

“your turn”
“mmmpfff, i need an 8″
“you need all the numbers you can get”
dice roll– tshrkck tssshhk clacK
“heck”

i shrug shoulders,
“sorry about that”

&secretly wink back at them

as they wave// blue, wet hands,
a bunch of black dressed robbers on their coat-tails
leave dirty puddles on the floor,

then disappear
with a broad smile ’round
the corner

.

smiles… couldn’t wait to post as the pub holidays are over and we’re celebrating our first OpenLinkNight at dVerse again… 3pm EST…tomorrow… write a poem, join us and meet loads of awesome people…oh…and we were playing “the settlers of catan” – really a fun game… smiles

85 responses to “yep//i bribed the rain and have a pact with all the robbers

  1. the fourth graph is stunning. and i know what’s like to need all the numbers i can get:) secretly winking is so cool, too.
    thanks for your love and support at my place:)

  2. ha. this is so fun…i love playing games and we do as a fam most every night….we have settler of cataan on the list…its so darn expensive here…the painting sunshine on moldy cobwebs is a telling line as well….i have to watch, i get in trouble playing games at times…ha

  3. love the painting sunshine on moldy cobwebs (so accurately describes what you do so well)…I’m so ignorant, I first thought you were playing Monopoly…you had me right there with you. Thank you.

  4. How fun and I love how the game comes alive in your words ~ Specially like painting sunshine onto moldy cobwebs, very warm & cosy ~ Nice sketching too ~

  5. My kids play Settlers a lot, but although I love games, this one just doesn’t get me motivated; too many rules perhaps; complex game for complex times. I love the notion that now that you are painting more, in your mind you can color the real world as you please, combining chakra & emotional color, and smearing it about as needed or perceived. You have painted a lovely picture with words tonight; thanks.

  6. This game sounds like quite a confusing one. Admittedly, I have never heard of “Settlers.” Ha, yesterday I played “Kings in the Corner,” “Crazy Eights,” “31,” and “Old Maid” with my grandkids. I like games that can be played relatively quickly at this point. However, I do remember those long family games of Monopoly or Life…..which really were QUITE fun.

  7. Honestly, this IS what more families need to do – play board games, laugh, relax. So fun. I actually looked forward to coming here to see what you had sketched today 🙂

  8. Well, this left me smiling as well… love the fantasy of the game woven in with the reality of the setting… holidays are meant for games and pajamas, right?

  9. Oh just love the family feel of this.. nice snatches of chat and warmth. This my favourite part:

    as they wave// blue, wet hands,
    a bunch of black dressed robbers on their coat-tails
    leave dirty puddles on the floor,

    ..Great to be reading you again Claudia.

  10. I am curious what game is this that you are playing?!! I like how this captures an intimate view of family life, especially capturing the day with:
    “the christmas tree,
    pajamas// yeah,
    i didn’t even dress,

    a palette of smeared color
    on my fingertips”

    How lovely the moments spent in home with family. A lovely story, Claudia

  11. Love this stanza:

    “a palette of smeared color
    on my fingertips
    from painting sunshine
    onto moldy cobwebs”

    Sounds like a wonderful game to play with family and friends. I’ve always been a sucker for games! You paint a wonderful picture…

  12. Haha! That reminds me of a long-past certain game of Monopoly when my little sister had a bit of a tantrum and threw the board, dice, cards and little metal play pieces across the room…!

  13. I think I had as much fun reading this poem as you did playing the game.

    I absolutely love the line “rain runs flickering fingers…” I was so there with you in the moment.

    Cheers!

  14. the painting is lovely claudia, had to be a bookshelf by the stairs; playing games a great pastime but don’t know this one (it took me awhile to get the cheating part)..loved that you bribed the rain and have a pact with robbers!

  15. Oh I loved this. To me, it spoke of getting so caught up in the fun we’re having with a game that it becomes real, the outcome important, all else is lost…yet we still have the “there-ness” to appreciate that we’re playing a game, with loved ones, and it’s the fun that matters, not the winner. This from the ultra-competitive girl who likes to win no matter what the game…as long as it isn’t chance…
    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z Challenge 2014

  16. I struggle very much with being able to write warm, inviting poetry. Your work always has such a comfortable feeling to it, even if the subject matter isn’t as light hearted and fun as this, you manage to accomplish that. Very well done!

    • Ooops, way to go, Joe. First comment of the year and you use the wrong poet’s name. And for the lovely lady who drew you into this online world, too!! Meine Entschuldigung, gnädige Frau! *blush*

  17. “as rain melts
    slowly into soil ///a stream,
    winding lazily towards the sea
    in secret tunnels,
    salt scent on my lips
    i get my compass out
    &check direction,” LOVE this section Claudia… esp. “winding lazily toward the sea in secret tunnels” and how it transitions back to your own physicality and search for direction.

  18. Love the whole poem, but this part is super special, Claudia.

    “as they wave// blue, wet hands,
    a bunch of black dressed robbers on their coat-tails
    leave dirty puddles on the floor,

    then disappear
    with a broad smile ’round
    the corner”

    Pamela

    .

  19. FAMILY games–the GoooD kind! But I’m in love with–or in awe of–your drawings, which are SO improving. Little heart dangling from chandelier adds nice touch to the scene. I like that you are inspired by what you SEE…as you also write what is experienced. (Brian is world-class expert at this also!)

    I don’t like games, my mother always kept track–complete books–for YEARS on who won, lost, scores, etc…so at about age 9, I opted out of games, except chess, which none in family took part.

    Hey thanks for another “Claudiasm” of poetry (OH THAT didn’t sound right…but I’m leaving it in. Maybe you’ll laugh with me–grin!)
    Bye!

  20. Sweet family time. The person formerly known as my mother used to wink at me in a way that was so loving and reassuring. Thank you for reminding me of that small but good memory.

  21. So fun to play games–especially when you have another story on the side–leaving puddles on the floor, and painting sunshine on moldy cobwebs–loved that 🙂

Leave a Reply

