color studies

watercolor by c. schoenfeld
.
when they forecast snow, i sit
on the kitchen chair, rocking back and forth
between atlantic and pacific sea,

wondering if naples yellow is a good idea,
painting race tracks through a city
you can hardly walk in,

little dots, venetian red,
become a beacon or a boat,

we pack parcels on the floor,
wrap an air guitar with crumpled paper and
pink dotted ribbon i bought at IKEA last week,

wind blows
——–peaceful melodies,

i hand you tape, an ivory bow,
“looks ridiculous” –i smile
“i so want you to love me”

&amidst rolls of ribbons,
last weeks papers, empty coffee cups,
my open watercolor box,
against the rocking of the waves,
you do//

“close your eyes” i tell the birds
“cause i grow feathers of my own kind”
they flap wings//wide, trying to reach
the farthest spot on the equator
i almost touch with outstretched arms
& finger tips,

“you know”, i say
“that painting– she’s not real,
she’s just a color study”,
&yet something in her eyes
seems so familiar,

i feel ground,
(without knowing
what it is),

outside of the gate,
the stormwind throws //giggling//like a little boy
buckets full of glittering snow flakes
in my face
.

linking up with #OLN at dVerse where we paint poetry in all the colors we can think of… doors open at 3pm EST.. i’m in munich on business today and will be back home late… so will need a bit time to catch up with you…

54 responses to “color studies

  1. smiles…i rather like the thought of making love among the chaos of art and christmas…and air guitar…i wonder what the shipping is on that…smiles.i like the rather weightlessness…the feel of the ground coming back down..art/love they do these kinda things to us…ha…ever if we are just playing a bit among the colors….

  2. your poems are paintings, claudia. I appreciate the light you bring from oceans, kitchen chairs, and ribbons alike. I especially love your final stanza and the snowflakes in this one.

  3. A wonderful poem, Claudia. I’ve always loved your poetry but your blog now, with the addition of your watercolors, has a life to it like none other. I was reminded of the opening scene in one of my favorite movies, “Julia,” when she describes Pentimento.

  4. “I grow feathers of my own kind” how beautiful. I am always drawn back to the amazing imagery in your work, the blending of the quotidian with the the fantastic, always draws me in. Coffee cups to wings, how fantastic! Thank you again, Kevin.

  5. Claudia, what a marvelous poem. So much explored emotion. I love the expression of need within need and the ability to reach out while recognizing ones own needs. A wonderful “stretch” of emotion here.

  6. Oh, I think that though she is a color study she looks QUITE real, Claudia. I think everything you paint has ‘realness’ to it. Her eyes are a bit haunting, I must admit. I do think painting is a fine thing to do on a snowy day….it makes time pass in a pleasant way.

  7. Amidst the chaos… love. I imagine you have no little kids at home as I do 🙂 I am really, really enjoying your artwork and am sure they will both be paired in a poetry book someday! Adore the last stanza!

  8. Love your poetry Claudia and your water colors! Playing with the yellows and the changing shades of our lives… playful and anticipating delights! Enjoyed reading your words and stories as always my friend!

  9. “you know”, i say
    “that painting– she’s not real,
    she’s just a color study”,

    This sounds like something my son, the artist, would say – He’s always using the word “just” to describe his art, as if anyone could do what he does. Artists are silly like that. Peace, Linda

  10. This is wonderful – the imagery feels so true. The storm given a playful tone, of a little boy throwing snowballs in your face. That’s quite lovely. And telling the birds to close their eyes as you make love. Delicious. And wrapping the air guitar – so creative. I love the painting, too.

  11. I have this sense of feet being anchored on the ground, but connection with the moment of li has slipped. That world has begun washing by. Slowly. But still, we feel no longer part of it.

  12. you know”, i say
    “that painting– she’s not real,
    she’s just a color study”,
    &yet something in her eyes
    seems so familiar,

    Thats interesting….enjoyed the poem…

  13. This is amazing…I knew it would be with the painting that I saw first. I love the idea of rocking and the between, because there is more to colors and other things that are not seen…or only seen with the correct shift of rocking the eyes.

  14. so many times those studies are what we really study, find ourselves in; loved that image since i saw it on fb 🙂

    esp liked the love lines (among so many) :

    “‘i so want you to love me’

    &amidst rolls of ribbons,
    last weeks papers, empty coffee cups,
    my open watercolor box,
    against the rocking of the waves,
    you do//”

    the expanse of silence, the past, the used-ness, and motion, the answer comes –

    “you do…”

    so nice, so nice claudia 🙂

  15. As usual Claudia, I’d like to quote every line or phrase here…but I was touched especially by the final “set”.
    “…outside of the gate,
    the stormwind” giggles and throws
    in your face buckets of snowflakes

    How THOROUGHLY sweet!

    I’m LOVING the “painted Lady”.
    She will certainly leave lipstick
    on SOMEONE’S white shirt collar–OoooooH

  16. The use of colors delights me to no end, but the imagery of that last stanza-

    “outside of the gate,
    the stormwind throws //giggling//like a little boy
    buckets full of glittering snow flakes
    in my face”

    -just left me breathless and for the briefest second, I who abhors winter, wanted the feel of snowflakes on my face.

Leave a Reply

