the angular speed of earth’s rotation in inertial space is (7.2921150 ± 0.0000001) ×10−5 radians per SI second

miri and the globe /watercolor by me

miri and the globe /watercolor by me

.
she sits at the dining table in the dark,
torch in hand and moves the globe around it
“hey– what are you doing?”
“preparing my next lesson–“
“cool”

i put my handbag on a chair and join her
“this is where it starts,
the earth rotates around herself
within a day//west towards east
within a year //around the sun–
it’s winter over here, now–
sun hits the equator, see–?”
“it’s fascinating”

“how do i explain it best?”
“maybe take two students, one’s the sun,
the other moves around it?”

we warm rice &indian food,
leftovers from yesterday,
(earth at rest between us–)
“here’s a sketch– doesn’t explain it well though”
“yeah, you have to see the movement”

&she’s growing into it, her chestnut hair
combed back into a pony tail,
the blue pullover she bought in bolivia,
makes her look slightly foreign, a bit pale,
forehead wrinkled to thin lines,
multiple directions&

the earth keeps turning, long
after the meal is finished,
dishes dirty on the table and i trace her moves,
(a candle now) throws fuzzy shades upon the wall,
the slow down of rotation &
this certain pull,
(gravitational matters with the moon–)

“i get this” i say aloud
& let her spin under my fingertips (once more,
onCe more//there’s magic// in her dance),
then clear the table, stack the papers &
switch on
the light

.

OpenLinkNight at dVerse Poets— we’re spinning poetry around the globe… doors open at 3pm EST..

58 responses to “the angular speed of earth’s rotation in inertial space is (7.2921150 ± 0.0000001) ×10−5 radians per SI second

  1. WOW! I glad you switched on the light…the better to, um, see? Why is it I like the idea of two students, one the sun, the other moves (dances!) around it.
    Claudia you put a lot more in this piece than a simple study hour. LIKE A LOT!

  2. smiles….very cool interaction….and where the student becomes the teacher a bit you know…the child to the mother…the last 2 stanzas in particular jump out at me…there is a wonder and tenderness in them…smiles.

  3. Making me do math, geez did I do something to exact your wrath lol thanks to the moon gravitation is at play, as you sure gravitate words at your bay

  4. Love the way you painted this picture of a moment between you and your daughter. The globe spins, time moves, change, shadows/light, seeing her in a different light … yes lots of stuff here and awe too … proud Mama 🙂

  5. Matriarch meets Miri on the earth’s axis, and love spins the south pole over the north pole, and the electromagnetic fields, or bands of energy, pass from your breast to hers, from hers to yours, a spin on the wheel of life, on the globe we inhabit; great stuff, Claudia, and per usual, a terrific watercolor to illustrate it.

  6. I love this explanation, Claudia. I used to use similar explanations when I was teaching. It makes sense to kids that way. And yes, the earth always keeps moving. Smiles. I look forward to both your poetry AND your paintings lately. Another fine painting as well.

  7. It sounds like you really connect with people in ‘real life’ in a most beautiful way Claudia..in your words here..valuing the details of what the expression of life that you see in others..so ..so much..Love It..I do..2….

  8. Hi Claudia, a pleasure to be back and reading your stuff again.. For me, you are often th master of the artful vignette – and in such a variety of settings – very refreshing. Tonight, my favourite was:

    “&she’s growing into it, her chestnut hair
    combed back into a pony tail,
    the blue pullover she bought in bolivia,
    makes her look slightly foreign, a bit pale,
    forehead wrinkled to thin lines,
    multiple directions&

    the earth keeps turning, long
    after the meal is finished,..”

    Marvellous and so fluid also… With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

  9. I didn’t understand the title. But I Loved the poem. Formula versus active learning becomes clear right in that disjuncture–here’s the title/here’s the poem. See them move in front of us.

  10. Oh i love being back to read your playful, tender poems. I love the painting. And somehow the poem made me remember times with my daughter, her school projects and how I rotated around her – my sun.

  11. Yes, one needs five hands per person to try and come to grips with these motions. Such a nice interlude. And I like the black ink on the aquarel. I used to paint with yoghurt and natural dyes and then highlight with black ink.

  12. It’s an amazing thing, watching our children grow, learn, comprehend. And knowing that with each new lesson, they begin to move past us to whatever the future holds for them. Loved your story of this moment in time.

  13. wonderful scene, i acted this out with Japanese studfents in an ESL science class 20 years ago, teaching the words. I love the way you bring us into your family life

  14. Wanted a globus so bad, when I was young … but my parents could not afford one to buy … so instead, being Roma, we travelled the globe … a lot … go figure, eh? … love the tender moments described by you … lucky daughter … lucky mumme … smiles … Love, cat.

  15. LOL! Your title of this poem almost made my eyes glaze over…..LOL! but it was so worth it. Wonderful combination of motherhood, child, earth, Universe and all that jazz. You made links that were down to earth, but also soaring.

    Brava! Love this poem!

    Lady Nyo

  16. I was saving this for a moment when I needed some inspiration and a smile. I could tell by the title that it was going to be one of my favorites 🙂