silhouettes of trees and cranes in the industrial harbor

acrylics on paper /by me

acrylics on paper /by me

.
that night we cut stencils,
mine’s a sickle half moon, leaning into the big bear’s chest,
i could’ve chosen race cars or the song,
he sang for me the other day,
or how his hair feels tickly on my neck,
but then, how would you stencil this–?

“here’s a secret–” i say,
“i got outlines of each city that i ever went to
carved on my back– ”
he traces them,
searching for street lights (little bumps),
a bright lit window, old man with a tea cup–

“there’s a mess of instant coffee in the bathroom sink”
“oh heck, forgot to clean– i’m sorry–
needed it to paint–“
(a head-stand elephant in fact &
pyramids of men and beast),

and weird as it is, the world still spins
around a core of rose-carved spackle from the DIY store,

i cut contours of a bridge,
a raging stream–
“you wanna cross it?”
“that an invitation?”
“yeah” &

i stretch out my hand
as he moves over, fragile– as it is,
it holds the weight, at least tonite,
at least. the moment.

.

it’s tuesday morning and OpenLinkNight knocking at the dVerse Poets pub doors already… join us at 3pm EST for a little poetry party.. just so… smiles

63 responses to “silhouettes of trees and cranes in the industrial harbor

  1. what a vivid painting by you…love the moon you cut…the outline of each city in your backside, the intimacy of tracing them…the break to the coffee grounds, ha…the world spinning around the spackle…and the return to intimacy in the close…today, is all we have…lovely c.

  2. I think I would stencil one of them phallus cactusses of Arizona …. or maybe one of them Dutch wind mills … or one of them “gekreutzten Pferde Koepfe” you can still see on the Houses in Northern Germany … 🙂

  3. Stencil on the back. Until not so long ago the tattoo artists are doing roaring business now.And you’ve said it very well Claudia! Nicely

    Hank

  4. Marvelous acrylic! How large is it? At least 2′ by 3′, I hope! That image took me in and then the poem showing the narrator’s body in the art–not just her mind or emotions and other intangibles–took me over! How beyond all, how much more than 3-D and sensual this becomes! I believe you drink coffee to paint and paint with coffee. Entering this world is nurturing heart, mind, body, spirit. Play on!

  5. Wow, Claudia, you are really developing as an artist! So many different mediums….you are going to have an art room at your home soon for all your accomplishments. I liked the idea of having a silhouette of every city you ever visited carved on your back & him tracing them. That is a beautiful thing to visualize. And I like the idea of crossing the bridge as well….smiles! Nice poem all around.

  6. “i got outlines of each city that i ever went to
    carved on my back– “
    he traces them,
    searching for street lights (little bumps), ~ wow just imagine it…

    I like how at the end your ‘it holds the weight’ resonates with artistic volumes…
    ~ Your painting …ah! – just separate theme…

  7. Great painting Claudia! I likethe idea that somehow we keep traces of all the places we have been to and the people we encountered, even “an old man with a tea cup”.

  8. I enjoy your creation of this scene and the love that is present. your final two lines are that deeper reminder of the importance details have in the moment.

  9. love the idea of visited cities carved on one’s back (where else?)… & even metaphoric bridges can be made to hold up when we need them to… gorgeous painting & your poems always paint pictures for me anyway

  10. I enjoyed this so much. The intimacy woven with your essence as an artist. Cool. I like the painting too. All your mediums are spilling into each other – poetry, painting, music and they blend beautifully.

  11. First of all, this is the best painting you have shared with us, just incredible colorful abstract genius; just knocked me on my butt. I raved about it on Twitter, and posted it on Facebook; share, share, share; it’s what we do with love. And the poem is boffo, wonderful, sensual, macabre, lusty, artsy; one of your best.

  12. I love the painting and the one you put up on Facebook-awesome and these lines….“i got outlines of each city that i ever went to
    carved on my back– “
    he traces them,
    searching for street lights (little bumps),
    a bright lit window, old man with a tea cup– are a delight!

  13. I love the gentle, romantic intimacy of this poem Claudia – it’s a gem. I especially like these lines:

    or how his hair feels tickly on my neck,
    but then, how would you stencil this–?

    How would you even start to stencil that?

  14. I love the painting, cutting of the countours of the bridge, sharing of secrets or city dreams ~ The intimacy is a great close, how fragile, how precious are these moments ~

  15. That is a wonderful art piece. The way you have created an intimate environment through your words is beautiful. I loved the gentle flow and the fragility of the moment. 🙂

  16. { sigh } oh, i have missed your poetry, claudia! the passion and imagery and taking the “everyday” to a new level… brilliant!

    and your painting…. OMG! stunning!!!!

  17. Love the tracings on the back! There are sweet memories there.
    Love the painting!
    Now, I am even more impatient for the builders repairing storm damage to get out so I can paint…

  18. such a beautiful blend of the interactions of description and dialog; really liked the city scene searching on your back, and what was there 😉

    “how his hair feels tickly on my neck,
    but then, how would you stencil this–?” –

    made me wonder, didn’t get a clear answer, but did get a clear smile 😉

  19. the “acrylics on paper” drew me in — captivating me — I couldn’t just stop there so I read and was glad to have been captured so. Your writing is just as entrancing…stunning…beautiful…

  20. I could hardly get to the poem, the art was so wonderful. Brilliant colors and composition. You are just getting better and better. Oh, and of course your word-painting is good too. But the acrylics…!

  21. “by me” is getting better and better.
    As if a musical and writing talent, not to mention multilingual, weren’t enough, you have to add visual arts as well!
    One could go off people 🙂

  22. Claudia, this is fantastic! Love the stencils on your back and the fragile bridge just strong enough…brilliant painting too–acrylics are SO fun!! 🙂