how can you draw it if you’ve never seen one?

the ferris wheel / acrylics on paper / by me..

the ferris wheel / acrylics on paper / by me..

.

he holds me pressed
rouGH on the sheets
“i won’t stop until you beg me”
(it takes forever til i do &)

hanging head first just below the old cathedral tiles
12hundredth century–
there’s time to talk things through
once we get there–
“what?// i mean– “

Saint Martin to my right cuts up his coat
to give it to a beggar (for a long time
i trace every bump and dimple on his face,
free-fall my finger tips
into the holes doves left)

soon the ferris wheel will be put up
for the Basel autumn trade fair,
on a level with my sandstone eyes,
i’m gonna spit rust interspersed rain upon them
while the scent of mulled wine & burnt almonds
hangs like cobwebs in the sky,

the Rhine running a heavy current,
sucks wave worlds down in whirls
into his dark&liquid womb–

my species never managed to hold anything,
three out of the six towers fell,
& those left seem increasingly majestic,

the big difference between romanesque and gothic
are the arches //rOund//pEAked (still not sure
which ones i like more– it’s negligible)
my role’s to prevent the smooth facade from rotting–

“we can take them for a ride up on the ferris wheel”
i say to my colleague in area management
“all fifty of ‘em?”
“sure– that’ll be fun– someTimes
you see wondrous things up there”

& they keep talking, rolling with their eyes,
long after i fell asleep tonite,
exhausted //blanket somewhere on the floor &
dripping wet– all over

.

Shanyn puts us into halloween mood over at dVerse today…  pick a local haunt or legend, give it a comedic twist– what if they would turn up in your house…? maybe they’re not so scary after all? smiles… give ’em a voice and join the party when we open the doors at 3pm EST..

28 responses to “how can you draw it if you’ve never seen one?

  1. smiles…slippery verse…it changes direction and camera angle a few times….the saint martin stanza has some really strong imagery…the holes doves left…tying that to the face….ha a party on the ferris wheel sounds fun to me….smiles…

    did i tell you that it is good to have you back….smiles…

  2. Help helpless with laughter. Claudia, you Halloween witch, you, making us laugh till we choke. Mind, I made it worse by reading ‘throat’ for ‘coat’, and had St.Martin do himself in, which didn’t help.
    So full of images that are unforgettable, like the stone eyes spitting rust.

  3. Nice tour thru your adventures in painting, architecture styles, business issues…all sounds for me like in the dream or you know, when in the water – between above and under, where you ears close and open…. ~ I will color paint in the winter time…smiles

  4. Muti-directional poem here, Claudia. Love where it travels as you travel from one image to another until you end up right where you begin. Smiles!! Enjoy your weekend, Claudia.

  5. Wow this is like going through a funny scary tunnel. Except for the Ferris wheel of course. I’m afraid of those – make me too high. I missed you.

  6. Your abstract is fantastic Claudia! You’re a great artist Ma’am! Way,way talented. Looking forward to more wonderful images. And you relate the ferris wheel to your poem beautifully!

    Hank

  7. For several years I lived on the river (houseboat, powered, of course) and a love for the rolling waters has never left me. Is why these lines made vision so clear again of those days:

    “the Rhine running a heavy current,
    sucks wave worlds down in whirls
    into his dark&liquid womb–…”

    And Ma’am. You are developing into an artist of excellence. I blew that scene up and visioned a complete fiesta in operation–even with smells built-in. LOVE the painting, Claudia!

  8. It has some this and some that- full of so many elements and rapidly shifting imagery. Very well-written… and those holes left by the doves was a really strong verse.
    I liked the ending as well. 🙂

    -HA

  9. I love the changing scenes, keeps things interesting. Very descriptive, great use of imagery. My favorite stanza by far,
    “Saint Martin to my right cuts up his coat
    to give it to a beggar (for a long time
    i trace every bump and dimple on his face,
    free-fall my finger tips
    into the holes doves left)”
    Plays out like a movie in my head but yet has a familiar feel like a memory. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Hey Claudia–you are keeping up facades here while also giving us peeks behind – I do not know the legends of the Rhine and Basel but there is something rather funny about seeing cathedral facades from a ferris wheel – the sense of pockmarked things being somehow most real is very strong here. Hope all well–K.

  11. Beautiful, multiperspective imagery of autumn in an old city rich with history. I had to read it several times to understand the imagery and grasp the transition between the various “angles” of your poetic camera. Lovely piece, very contemplative!

  12. Your second verse made me dizzy – the aerophobic that I am. 🙂 But I guess, there is a great reward for hanging upside down – the beautiful view that you have so colorfully described in your poem.

Leave a Reply

