what the morning rain does–

nightward– wayward
there’s this yearning for the sea,
as i sit at my desk, ordering a guide for Nice,
hair wet from the shower– still

on my bike ride, glistening rain drops,
catPaw soFt touches on my face&

i Am morning// dawn// part of the stars
and oxygen as long as i just don’t
stoP moving, during lunchbreak,

canteen loud, he tells he wore
a mao zedong shirt at the wedding
& i smile// i like when things are out of cadence,
try to picture him– just as i tried to paint

a floating woman (from my memory)
high in the sky, playing the violin
(not really bad but then i realized that she held it
on the wrong side of her cheeKToShoulder spot–)

& it’s like that at times,
something isn’t quite right but you see it
only as you step outside the frame–

“i don’t have time”i say,
“my watercolor course starts thursday”
&the day’s a blur of red and yellow//violet,
— my favorite color combo,

“who exactly was he–?” “mao zedong?”
“hmm” “chinese communist,
a deeply controversial figure” “yeah,
dictator, poet, murderer–“ “a visionary–“

&i want morning rain , the wind,
the light throwing a jolly cone on my path,
roadside trees that sshhhusshh–shushhh wrinkly leaves
(like Can Can dancers),
& make life look motionDeep

and somehow calculable

.

it’s OpenLinkNight at dVerse Poets again where we just throw our poetry into the mix and have a little party… smiles… doors open at 3pm EST

63 responses to “what the morning rain does–

  1. i like the use of mah zedong…and the liking of things different…wanting to shake things us a bit…and the rhythm of nature does seem so much easier at times…and i def want to reach for it….you put me right there claudia…

  2. I have a beautiful weather with rain in the background, and here your words come as images,of reading a beat in my mind. It thrills, when and wherever it bends. You are a colour of hope, Claudia.

  3. life is ‘motionDeep’, I think – when we’re smack in the middle of it, as you always seem to be 😉 … not too sure I’d want it to be calculable though

  4. Another lovely mysterious journey, although I, for one, would like to have seen the painting of the girl in the rain playing the violin on the wrong side; loved the closing line about the tree leaves shaking themselves like Can-Can girls; this piece is very stream of consciousness, & it pulls us, pushes us, challenges us to join your ride, to struggle to keep up; loved the image of you post-shower, planning your trip to Nice, as your wet head reminds you of your bike ride.

  5. Claudia.. it is like that, isn’t it….
    something isn’t quite right but you see it
    only as you step outside the frame–….I enjoyed the words you paint here 🙂

  6. Things sure look different outside the frame ~ i wish I can take art/water color courses ~ specially like the sounds here:

    roadside trees that sshhhusshh–shushhh wrinkly leaves

  7. Interesting how sometimes we see things that are not quite right when we step outside the frame. While inside, we accept them as they are. I like the mention of Mao, as a person who is both controversial AND a visionary. Enjoy your painting class, Claudia.

  8. Morning rain can trigger quite a hosts of thoughts. I had forgotten about these Mao shirts! And I was wondering whether you were really planning a trip to Nice.

  9. “catPaw soFt touches on my face&

    i Am morning// dawn// part of the stars” so beautiful… wouldn’t it be “Nice” if life were calculable, like planning the expenses for a trip?

  10. I liked the dual perspective here. It flowed really smoothly. Also, I admire your talent of producing really vivid images through your words.
    -HA

  11. i like when things are out of cadence,
    try to picture him– just as i tried to paint

    i enjoy those moments when things are out cadence…

  12. O, a line of trees as can-can dancers! Of course! An incongruity in the room is like a crack that lets in light or one that opens the frame for you to step out of. Ha! Mao is almost just a style! The night, the rain, the bike, and the lunch lead to the pine cone, class and maybe Nice–but getting to calculable is a little doubtful.

  13. There is always a vivid image or a new way of playing with words or some insight that I suddenly gain whenever I read your poetry, Claudia: This time it’s:
    i Am morning// dawn// part of the stars
    and oxygen as long as i just don’t
    stoP moving, during lunchbreak,

    and also:
    make life look motionDeep
    and somehow calculable

  14. Mao and his ways conjured a picture of innocence and soft spoken gent different from what one read of him. You got that feeling of him, it appeared. Great write Claudia!

    Hank

  15. “i Am morning// dawn// part of the stars
    and oxygen as long as i just don’t
    stoP moving,”

    I have times when I am in this mode, happiest moving because if I stop, then I am done for! Love how you wove the rain into the beginning and end of this. You are an amazing story-teller!

  16. “& it’s like that at times,
    something isn’t quite right but you see it
    only as you step outside the frame–”

    yes, it is, maybe more than just at times though…

  17. As alays Claudia you bring the world alive and with such consistent linguistic ambition that you always deliver on – loeved you ending here:

    “& make life look motionDeep
    and somehow calculable”

    Scrumptious! With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

  18. Oh, such a delight when someone describes perfectly an experience that ypu didn’t even know you had till reading the description. I may forever associate that “oh!” moment of recognizing something you didn’t even know was familiar.

  19. Got to step away from the pic at times in order to see … sometimes it takes years to accomplish that … not easy when time is of the essence …

  20. Cozy atmosphere here, with morning rain, ordering a guide for Nice, floating woman, your painting class and can-can with
    leaves – and you think it’s calculable….nice stream of conscience ~ enjoyed 🙂

  21. Sometimes we must take a step back to see the whole picture..you capture a story so well with your words..sometimes we need to feel the morning rain..

  22. This piece, another image of your mind, Claudia. Your brain reminds me of a computer whose browser has 287 tabs open at once.
    All. The. Time.

    Met ONE left-handed violinist in my life–he had trouble getting a symphony gig, b/c his bow always pointed the “other” way–grin! So he settled for string quartets. Hard way to make a living, unless/until one gets to the TOP!

    Have good time with watercolor course, and yur fav colors. Somewhow I thought you already ARE an expert in the use of watercolor…but we never too old to learn…and THAT is the TRUTH from ME!!!

  23. You do have a great ability to use verse as a great visualisation device. Reading the several verses, myriad images float in my mind. What is it I now need to do to align these into a evocative whole?

    Great post.

    Shakti

  24. Smiles… And the narration steady flow continues, suddenly i heard that deep voice, “i am morning” !! It sounds so real in my hearing…. Beautiful compilation.

  25. such a nice flow claudia, really liked the contrasts too, like :

    “it’s like that at times,
    something isn’t quite right but you see it
    only as you step outside the frame–”

    to –

    “&the day’s a blur of red and yellow//violet,
    – my favorite color combo”

    such a nice feel overall – soothed me somehow, yes 😉

  26. YOur words remind me of the lovely morning dew this morning on the leaves that are still alive in the warm sunshine of Florida..

    I suppose I miss the change of leaves of North..but the life and dew is always hopeful to me…

    Never the less they are all wonderful to see…