painting waves& such

painting by c. schoenfeld

she said “we should title it arrival–” //

.

“can you paint me waves–?”
my daugther asks
stretching arms
“this wide–”

“sure– how you want ’em?
sea in uProar– piled clouds,
sailboats on the shore?”
“not too stormy–”

it makes sense, &

there’s an easel in my room,
(paint smeared wood),
a desk but i am on my knees //mostly
bent over a sheet of canvas
to feel ground beneath me
with each brush stroke,

dipDAnce//shock of hair, headFirst,
&turn water into milk//wine// deepDive

in used marmelade glasses
with a berry summer’s sweetness still
tracing the rim
like cherished memories, i long for–

“mom–!!”
the girls laugh/shouting from the living room,
“quickly, close the door, dad’s–”

he runs up the stairs,
i juMp // Not quicK enough
as he storms through the door, “HA!”
grabs&kisses me with warM& thiCKly smudGed
nuteLLA liPs (trails up to my ears&
no chance to esCaPe)

later, i– he listens to me,
says “this sentence makes no sense–
grammar-wise”
“it doesn’t?”
“nope”
i yawn

when i’m tired my brain
heavily withdraws from structure
like the sea pulled sharp towards the moon, waves,
trickles out in little creeks, it’s funny
sometimes //or embarrassing
when verbs& vocals sway on swings, tousled,
barefeet giggling children in the wind
but this is–
when i feel myself

the most

.

smiles.. it’s OpenLinkNight again at dVerse where we scratch poetry in boardwalk cracks and pull wet words out of drainages… see you at 3pm EST … smiles

66 responses to “painting waves& such

  1. i really like your easel. it’s not just the description but the delivery. so pretty at points with a gargantuan ending. beautiful arriving waves…

  2. L O V E the painting “Arrival”. And the fact that a child is allowed input is gladdening.

    Whistling, hummimg, and speaking–to myself–are my “best” times, and should be embarrassing–but are not. I mean, who really cares?

    Again, your paintings are easily admired stand-alones.
    Thank YOU, Claudia!

  3. when i’m tired my brain
    heavily withdraws from structure
    like the sea pulled sharp towards the moon, waves,
    trickles out in little creeks, it’s funny
    sometimes //or embarrassing
    when verbs& vocals sway on swings, tousled,
    barefeet giggling children in the wind
    but this is–
    when i feel myself

    ABSOLUTELY!!! Thank you Claudia. I hope that was as much fun for you (no doubt) as it was for us!

  4. dipDAnce//shock of hair, headFirst,
    &turn water into milk//wine// deepDive…ha i like the energy in that…and the playful intimacy of hubby running up the stairs to ‘get ya’ ha….like the painting too…the swing on the flower…smiles.

  5. Claudia, I enjoyed experiencing your painting process with you. You really seem to be getting into that painting!! Smiles. REALLY liked this wordplay, especially the ‘shock of hair’:

    dipDAnce//shock of hair, headFirst,
    &turn water into milk//wine// deepDive

    And then I enjoyed the last stanza in which you talked about when you really feel yourself…yes, I can picture that!! Loved all the images in your words.

  6. “when i’m tired my brain
    heavily withdraws from structure”

    …and maybe when wide awake, your instinct expands structure to show all of its fun! I LOVE this painting and its poem. A huge wave in a story sea.

  7. Another lovely & perfect glimpse into your family life, and your incredible paintings; and like the others here, I smiled until my lips cracked, and this poetic warmth perpetrated by your words & images were the perfect start for this day. My favorite line was your explication & invite to OLN: /scratch poetry in boardwalk cracks & pull wet words out of drainage/ & would like to add digging poetry out of peat moss in house planters, finding words in bramble bushes, under the hoods of hot rods, in children’s little Radio Flyer red wagons, in dog houses, in a cat’s litter box, amongst the dust bunnies under couches, in the darkest corners of basement closets, under the spare tire in the SUV, under your panties in that special drawer, on old napkins where notes were scribbled, in moldy notebooks in wet boxes where high school memorabilia is stored, and several other places.

  8. mmm, nutella kisses, yumm! Loved all the images in this one, especially the sleepy mind being like the tides in the sea. masterful, claudia!

  9. I love the slice of life feel of your poems.

    And this – this is magical 🙂

    dipDAnce//shock of hair, headFirst,
    &turn water into milk//wine// deepDive

    I love that. I can SEE it 🙂

  10. Lovely scene & imagery of painting ~ But these lines resonated with me on words (my hubby doesn’t understand them too):

    when verbs& vocals sway on swings, tousled,
    barefeet giggling children in the wind
    but this is–
    when i feel myself

    the most

  11. You are me and I are you and we are together a part of the same frequency with all others as part of the music the song the sound and the wave..washing together on the shore write now..is the way I feel by reading words..

    A Tsuanmi of meaning if you will..the sacred words more powerful than any wave I know…nowKNown .

  12. Feeling yourself… that is so lovely. Wonderful snippets from your life. it is so good to read your tales of family and relationships. Always leave one wanting to read more and more… Adorable write! 🙂

  13. love your last stanza here – it’s when i feel most myself as well (mind gets so in the way sometimes) – & the painting is… WOW!

  14. Claudia, that is such a wonderful painting of waves, words and joy. Really, really enjoyed the whole feast 🙂 And verbs and words sway on swings tousled– loose–perfect

  15. Claudia!! The painting is so charming – keep them coming young lady! You need to have a “Poem this Paint” day at dVerse with your charming paintings!

    but this is–
    when i feel myself
    … I have a “grammar head” husband and I am often thankful, but sometimes I just like the flow of the way I misworded it 🙂 (drives him craZy)

  16. Beautiful work, the painting and its genesis, a satisfying whole. I was reminded of something Brenda Ueland said: ‘“When Van Gogh was a young man in his early twenties, he was in London studying to be a clergyman. He had no thought of being an artist at all. he sat in his cheap little room writing a letter to his younger brother in Holland, whom he loved very much. He looked out his window at a watery twilight, a thin lampost, a star, and he said in his letter something like this: “it is so beautiful I must show you how it looks.” And then on his cheap ruled note paper, he made the most beautiful, tender, little drawing of it.’

  17. when i’m tired my brain
    heavily withdraws from structure
    i love this line, your artistic nature mixed within the words of poetry is wonderful. thank you

  18. This is just beautiful, life spun down into those moments that really matter, and your own humanity shining through…. Until you are open and raw and honest and that always makes for the very best poetry.

  19. I really love the picture so great to be able to create such works of art and to add the personal splashes of your life make it more vibrant..thanks for sharing..

  20. The quoted speech really sets off the final stanza’s comment on the late-night dissolution of structure in language. Plus, love the marmelade glasses!

  21. I love reading your poems. I never know where they’re going to go – they’re playful and beyond stream of consciousness. Very clever, very immediate, very creative – great to read!!

  22. There’s a word in German…”gemutlichkeit” I know I mispelled…but I think someone once translated it as comfortable with a tear in your eye….a lovely family moment capture…and i like much the accompanying art.

  23. I could say this is sweet. It is, but it’s so much more than that. It’s you who filters through your work, unique, funny, happy, playful, imaginative, special. Love the painting and your words are like being in a playground. So cool Claudia.

  24. Congratulations on your new room–and look forward to the creativity that will be unleashed in there. So very nice to see the visual that inspires/results from your words.

  25. Your painting is beautiful. I like it. I love the scene that you painted with words to accompany this painting with colors. Both are beautiful. You are so talented, Claudia.

  26. there is something different about each creative field, even as they overlap inside us – but there is a drive in either dance, on feet or words or paint, and you’ve woven two rings of life through each other’s differences, and hit the same so wonderful spots – gorgeous words, luscious images, sensuous heart 🙂

  27. I’ve always said someone who paints so well with words can branch into different mediums and do as well. And you “paint” beautifully, in both forms! A creative heart knows no boundaries!