by the lily pond

smiles...the colors are still wet.. not quite Monet but...

smiles…the colors are still wet.. not quite Monet but…

if i were Monet, i think, i’d paint ’em–
water lilies ruminantly cross-legged on their leaf-green seats
& in a white tent ‘cross the lawn,

faint laughter of wedding guests,
string quartet about to tuck away their instruments
in padded bags

i liked the cello player best,
dark curls nodding in the rhythm of the beat
as he, with slender fingers worked his way
uPuP&doWn her spine, touching her
in ways as only a lunatic lover would

i catch a light breeze from the pond,
squish it carefully between the wrinkles of my dress
fruit &chocolate traces (afterglow of a good red wine)
on the ceiling of my mouth’s soft cave,

some poems find you
in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
(unbalanced), dangling legs from smutty roof tops
&whole planets are (like salad wrapped)
enfolded in their lines,

a paper plane
spinSpINs &
tumBles through the tree tops
cRashes headFirst on my lap,
(i lift it// carefully)
deep scratches on the rudder,
wings severely damaged

yet upon unfolding
with a gentle touch
it brEATHes
a whiff of life into my face

.

it’s OpenLinkNight at dVerse again..poetry in motion… where we’re folding paper airplanes or may write our words still wet in water color…you’ll never know where they might end up ya know…smiles..pub doors will swing open at 3pm EST..

69 responses to “by the lily pond

  1. Oh my..this is charming, Claudia, for it’s first person context as one of Monet’s lily pads ;), a paper plane landing in it’s lap..now who else would think of that but you? You are one talented writer and painter …musician..and etc…

  2. Some poems do–find us right there thinking of a wholly different arts–painting, the bass player, squishing breezes, paper plane kamikazes, and unfolded paper ready to capture the words.

  3. smiles…catching the wing in your dress and holding it for a moment…that is a cool bit of magic to me…seeing the passion of the player…and hey paper airplanes…i rather like those…esp if they bring life, like your poem…

  4. I really like your painting, Claudia. Your talents are amazing. I can strongly see the Monet influence! Smiles. I enjoyed the progression of your poem as I wandered through its meanings, enjoyed the description of the cello player (I could see him), and later on these were my favorite lines:

    “some poems find you
    in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
    (unbalanced), dangling legs from smutty roof tops
    &whole planets are (like salad wrapped)
    enfolded in their lines,”

    Indeed some poems DO find a person, and the idea of finding planets in their lines really ‘works’ for me.

  5. This is one of my favorites of yours I have read to date. Full of wonder and I adore your painting – both so full of light. A moment caught, sitting at the edge of the pond … pondering the evening … and the promise of the paper airplane … sweet.

  6. i love everything about this, including the painting, monet among my favourite artists & you have done him credit, done yourself credit – your painting like your poem beautiful, light & airy… & we must catch our light breezes, our poems & paper planes where we find them (or they us) & use them as befits the moment, for that’s what gifts are for 🙂

  7. I liked the cello plaer best…
    .”…as he, with slender fingers worked his way
    uPuP&doWn her spine, touching her
    in ways as only a lunatic lover would…”
    Fabulous line, mon cher…er, Claudia (slip of the keys there 😉

  8. You combine so many of my favorite things here; cello music has always been a favorite of mine, and the paper airplane (like Brian’s today) that can find & fly through black holes in the layers of dimension between here & there, past & present. So cool that you are sharing so much of your art with us now too.

  9. What a lovely painting and capture of that special occasion ~ I specially like this part:

    some poems find you
    in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
    (unbalanced), dangling legs from smutty roof tops
    &whole planets are (like salad wrapped)
    enfolded in their lines

    Am carefully noting the caps/word play, smiles ~

  10. So cool… could it perhaps be Brian’s paper airplane?

    I especially like:

    some poems find you
    in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
    (unbalanced), dangling legs from smutty roof tops
    &whole planets are (like salad wrapped)
    enfolded in their lines,

  11. I love that image of fat, Buddha-like waterlilies ruminating cross-legged on their lilypads. But the lines I can spontaneously recognise and hold in my arms like a precious gift are:

    some poems find you
    in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
    (unbalanced), dangling legs from smutty roof tops

    Beautiful!

  12. the cello and her player make me smile most deeply. It is the human heart singing, I love your mention of the quiet spots where poems find us, so clearly found here. lovely.

  13. A very evocative poem Claudia! We are there with you.
    “faint laughter of wedding guests, / string quartet about to tuck away their instruments / in padded bags” – a lovely stanza. I also like that of the cello player.

  14. “liked the cello player best,
    dark curls nodding in the rhythm of the beat
    as he, with slender fingers worked his way
    uPuP&doWn her spine, touching her
    in ways as only a lunatic lover would” most interestingly I have the sudden urge to play the Cello?

  15. …this is gorgeous Claudia… and so true.. poems do find us more than we find ’em… ah, your art is superb… is it done in watercolour still? it looked quite brighter from the usual effect of a watercolour… and ye know, i am always afraid to paint a river or pond or body water b’coz it’s really hard to create a watery effect using paints or pastels or crayons… and just did it quite wonderfully & i’m impressed… love love love that! smiles…

    • smiles.. it is painted with watercolor but when i took the photo i couldn’t resist to play a bit with scene depth as well…that brings out the brightness and contrast a bit more as they’re in the original painting

  16. I love this… so much magic and Monet… I’ve just come from Brian’s place and surely that had to be one of his paper airplanes… smiles… I love the way you wind this down from the painting to that tiny moment with a plane in your lap. beautiful.

  17. “some poems find you
    in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
    (unbalanced), dangling legs from smutty roof tops
    &whole planets are (like salad wrapped)
    enfolded in their lines,” love this Claudia!

  18. Beautiful art work… lilies, water… the glow of it is wondrous.
    And a very lovely poem. There are so many things I loved about it; it is going to be a long comment if I go on defining it. Hence, I am going to be precise:
    caressing the heart
    divine art engraves nature
    shining words and paints

  19. stunning! I was so completely entranced. You definitely made the cello player my favorite…. Oh, and the still wet water lilies…positively lovely. It is amazing how a poem can just land in your lap at the oddest of times.

  20. Claudia, your poem is indeed like a summer’s lovely wedding. The music and flowers are perfect and even paper planes breathe life. How wonderful. I like your painting too. So nice that you combine talents now.

  21. “some poems find you
    in those quiet spots, sitting on the edge,
    (unbalanced),…”

    I love how you capture a moment. So much can be read between your words, between the lines. A poet’s mind can find inspiration where others will never see. Nicely done, Claudia.

  22. I love your images: ‘cross-legged lilies’, ‘ touching her (cello)
    in ways as only a lunatic lover would’, ‘i catch a light breeze from the pond,
    squish it carefully between the wrinkles of my dress’…..soon I will quote the whole poem…beautifully done…love music outside…yes, and painting – wow, Claudia!

  23. i catch a light breeze from the pond,
    squish it carefully between the wrinkles of my dress
    fruit &chocolate traces (afterglow of a good red wine)
    on the ceiling of my mouth’s soft cave,

    this is AMazing Claudia – I love every word. Your painting may not be a Monet – but it is very beautifully brushed as are your words.

  24. Your painting is wonderfully luminous and has that misty green of Monet! Very pretty! (More pink I felt!) And the poem has also this misty green sensual–using all sensations–quality of the painting – very pretty poem and somehow uplifting. Thanks. k.

  25. uPuP&doWn her spine, touching her
    in ways as only a lunatic lover would

    This is very tactile, engaging senses and making me want to be an observer. Beautiful work always, Claudia. I’d paint ’em too.

  26. The Lily Pond, stringed instruments, red wine and chocolate…! It sounds a lot like perfection! C’est magnifique!

    Well done! I’ve been working since I got up but that revived me. It was like being back at Giverny.

Leave a Reply

