unPL__ ugged //by the stream

a little rest on my way back home from work

“is this your paper?”
“no” – i move a bit – “got enough space?”
“yeah” the old man’s eyes are streets
after a downpour, white clouds piling up toward the iris,
&his big, black dog sniffs my rucksack,

he pats his head, says “wanna go swim a bit?”
the dog strolls to the river
“did he understand– ?”
“actually” he points upstream
“she wants to go up there
after the heavy rains, it’s too dangerous though”

she returns, sits in front of us,
her wet fur a velvet sparkle in the evening sun,
he reads the paper,
&my phone sleeps offline on my lap,

i want a dog, i think,
one bold enough to tackle all the big streams,
& i wanna travel, need
more time offWork, offLine
to talk to old men with a thousand stormclouds in their eyes,
i wanna take my girls to London, &

stuff this skin with all what possibly fits in//paTch,
hold the seams, about to burst (with both hands), duct tape
& put tons of super glue on every square inch, widen out the rim
with iron shoe expanders–  see, see, See–
i Can– fit another hundred liters in–

& all the undiscovered planets knock
with big hands on my chest, wave their flags–

i want get lost in life’s wide wrinkled dress,
be found, (&kissed unrhythmical through all diminished7 chords)
have a million blues scales crash down, panting, raPturous,
& never want someone to get too used to me
yet long for familiarity– for being seen,

the river sings a peaceful tune,
even in her struggle, dances swirling duets with the sun,
i take my bike,

“you gotta go?” he asks,
the black dog lifts her head (she’s nameless
yet to me)
i nod,
“i’m always– going somewhere– ”

&he smiles a bit

.

at dVerse today, our theme is “unplugged” — wherever this takes you.. doors open at 3pm EST and the man behind the bar is Fred

52 responses to “unPL__ ugged //by the stream

  1. Personal touches make this poem beautifully honest. My fave, and most telling of character: “I want to get lost…..-for being seen.”

  2. Love the scene you set here, Claudia. Can really picture the old man and the big black dog. Interesting how some dogs really like to swim and some don’t. (Mine don’t.) I think big dogs are more apt to… I like ‘ i want get lost in life’s wide wrinkled dress, be found….’ Wonderfully worded. And as far as wanting to travel, sigh, don’t get me started!!! Very nice touches in this poem, I think.

  3. i hear you on having those conversations and just being…unplugging..and living…had a blast doing just that today…smiles. the want to get lost in the wrinkled dress of life stanza is just gorgeous…me too…i want a ticket on that train…smiles…glue & duct tape…smiles…cool verse c

  4. the river sings a peaceful tune,
    even in her struggle, dances
    swirling duets with the sun

    While others get unplugged there are ‘lazy rivers’ that connect to saviors like the sun is and do their own thing! Nicely Claudia!

    Hank

  5. Oh, how nice, Claudia to get lost, ‘to talk to old men with a thousand stormclouds in their eyes’…travel,- we’re longing to hear the story of each other, to connect…
    nicely capturing the space, nature, river ‘the river sings a peaceful tune,
    even in her struggle, dances swirling duets with the sun,’ – feels freely

  6. Your remind us all to ‘experience’ life rather than live a proxy lifetime without exploring the true beauty around us…always a treat to read your words.

  7. It’s summer … hanging by the harbour … watching street performers … listening to Madame X telling me my future … I will live till I’m 80 according to her … Madame X telling me about my past … I will never get over “it” … she also tells me that I will travel across the big pond soon … Madame X is right on by telling me that I have 3 children, but one of them is a child of tears … magic ? I don’t really care, how she knows … just glad that somebody knows … Greetings from the old country, C … having a good summer? Love, cat.

  8. You may be unplugged from your phone but so plugged in to the mysteries of the cosmos. Liked this . I felt your longing to experience it all. Maybe you will. Have a great weekend claudia.

  9. I love the description of his eyes, and I certainly relate to
    “& never want someone to get too used to me
    yet long for familiarity– for being seen,”. Lovely, Claudia.

  10. Love your sense of relaxation and comfort with the old guy and his dog. Aldo like that you really are unplugged – no picking up the kids, no making dinner for the husband, just you.

  11. Letting go is one of the great challenges of parenting. I remember the last one leaving… We talked for an hour over skype this afternoon and he did most of the talking. Fortunately, his webcam didn’t work so he couldn’t see the tears… It was beautiful.

  12. Lesson here: YESSSS! TALK to old men. Take them for bike ride. Stop for dinner or coffee, or both–grin!

    Sometimes old men also wish to become lost (lose themselves, HA!) in the wide wrinkled skirts of Time/Life past…of course I love the musical references–ALL diminished chords!? RaPturous Blues modes!

    And a hundred more liters of whatever. This posy has many more than hundreds of thoughts. Each line might spawn a post, a dissertation!

    Truly gifted you are, girl. Rest again, and sometimes tell us what you see and do, and THINK!
    PEACE and LIGHT

  13. sublime writing, Claudia:
    the old man’s eyes are streets
    after a downpour, white clouds piling up toward the iris

    and the river…
    even in her struggle, dances swirling duets with the sun

    definitely unplugged

  14. Love that part of stuffing the skin & wanting get lost in life’s wide wrinkled dress ~ The blending of new with the familiarity resonates with me too ~

    Have a good weekend ~

  15. Most likely I’ve said this to you before, but this has got to be one of my favorites of yours. Being unplugged definitely plugged you into the creative spirit. I love the old man, the dog, the stream. Living as a do near the river, I related to this. We have a neighbor who is quite old, his wonderful dog and his thunderstorm eyes. I meet them by the river quite often. And the contradiction of wanting to be unplugged and yet be seen, be familiar. Oh, so good.

  16. really nice Claudia. Really like how the thoughts move freely, things which one wants and needs. Great job weaving it all in here, and the use of the dog is excellent. thanks

  17. “the old man’s eyes are streets after a downpour”, that is one powerful image. The whole poem merits re-reading and I love it for that, like a river, it has hidden depths, thank you, Kevin

  18. You had me at /to talk to old men with stormclouds in their eyes/ Like many here, I really dig this one. It has an unfettered tenderness & empathy that is very appealing. You & your travel lust. I guess you just need to get a job with the
    TRAVEL CHANNEL, and get out and see Africa, S. America, and such, and do your reporting in poetry; cool notion.

  19. I read this yesterday…before the prompt came up. But thought I’d wait to comment to better understand the thinking. My husband and I are both technophobes and I loved our two European vacations where we were 90% unplugged having just each other without distractions to enjoy being there. Lovely write.

  20. Such beautiful writing, Claudia: the old man’s eyes are streets
    after a downpour, white clouds piling up toward the iris & her wet fur a velvet sparkle in the evening sun & i want get lost in life’s wide wrinkled dress… love those lines.

  21. Yes, bring them to London.
    You should have been here today, with your bike. 55 thousand in the middle of London, There would have been room for you too, just about.We used to do this on Xmas day, before the Japanese tourists found out how quiet it was then.

  22. ‘I’m always going somewhere’- melted my heart. The description of the old man and the dog.. beautiful.
    It is definitely among my favorites of your creations I’ve read so far.

  23. Within these lines, live a thousand lives, stories told and untold, lived and not lived. Written with the touch of wind. This is the kind of breeze which carries the reader on a kind of magic ride of sorts. Personal for you, an more than ample for the reader to identify with and curl up in. A pleasure to read. It may well be unplugged, but it is something that is easily plugged into.

  24. Hi ! Claudia…
    Tks, for sharing the image which compliment the pleasant interaction between you, the elderly, gentleman and his faithful companion.

    • “you gotta go?” he asks,the black dog lifts her head (she’s nameless yet to me i nod, “i’m always– going somewhere– “&he smiles a bit…”
      Your poetic words that I quoted above say, so very little…yet, reveal so very much about your [brief] interaction…with the man, and his dog.

  25. You have unplugged what we all wish – our lives to soar and cram as much in our lives as we can – this line “to talk to old men with a thousand stormclouds in their eyes”. I sighed. Your ‘poetry’ is a story once again Claudia.

  26. You’ve got a knack for opening lines: “the old man’s eyes are streets
    after a downpour, white clouds piling up toward the iris”. That’s one of the better first stanzas I’ve ever read in my life! 🙂 Loved the rest as well. Many thanks.

    Greetings from London.

  27. “have a million blues scales crash down, panting, raPturous,
    & never want someone to get too used to me”

    Like the original prompt showed, there is music all around us – we just forget to tune in, sometimes.

    Wonderful read!

  28. Love this–especially your description of the man’s eyes. I can see them visually, but you add more to that–a deeper level of seeing and your stanza on the blues diminished7 chords my fave!

  29. i love the people you draw into your life, and how you see the world. the river singing a peaceful tune and dancing swirling duets with the sun, that was quite, quite nice.

  30. Claudia, I so loved this whole poem–you excel at “unplugged” 🙂

    I felt like you had crawled inside my mind and read what I was thinking, when you wrote this:

    i want get lost in life’s wide wrinkled dress,
    be found, (&kissed unrhythmical through all diminished7 chords)
    have a million blues scales crash down, panting, raPturous,
    & never want someone to get too used to me
    yet long for familiarity– for being seen,

    ANd then these lines made me smile and gave me such a picture of sun splashed eddies in the stream–beautiful!!

    the river sings a peaceful tune,
    even in her struggle, dances swirling duets with the sun

    EXCeptionally fine writing 🙂