on size & what the butter pattern tells you (and what not)

me, in the mirror

me, in the mirror

 .

it’s never in the clothes or the equipment
it’s in someone’s eyes, the way their body stretches in front a stop light
how they move, string-less on an open field

on my way home

sweltering sunshine melts the alu of my roadbike to small puddles on the tar,
there’s a letter in my pocket,
& the mirror above the crossroad stretches me convex,

he writes an email with an endless list for his requested visit
challenged just a bit, i smile & type back an Obama quote,
he answers with Professor Higgins (My Fair Lady– ha)

i didn’t know he was so VIP– i wouldn’t have cared either
“he wants to meet you” says my boss

the business card is printed in his eyes (sea blue)
it’s not in a title,
it’s in the angle someone leans towards the road,
the play of power /break/attention,
vastness in the moves,

“your support was critical” he writes
“—— and your good humor much appreciated”
i fold the letter back into the envelope, blue ink on my fingertips,

“you want a gold frame for this?” asks my husband

“i want a net-less high wire” i say,
“i want the milky way,
i want a spider web to catch the rain,
& a boat with thousand holes (to practice sinking),
that’s it–

can you please pass the butter?”

.

we’re writing list poetry at dVerse today… give it a try? doors open at 3pm EST

43 responses to “on size & what the butter pattern tells you (and what not)

  1. I liked ‘stringless in an open field’ at the beginning and then coming full circle and wanting a ‘net-less high wire’ at the end. Very clever journey from one to another. And yes, ‘it’s in someone’s eyes.’ The eyes always tell the tale. As does the butter which needs passing- a necessity of ordinary life.

  2. Nice mix…it’s always good to know what you want…and don’t forget simple things like butter…cool arranged scene, I can see as movie episode…

  3. pretty cool interaction with the guy…and tells you much on just being yourself and serving others…i like that it would not have mattered to you to know he was a VIP..that says much too…a boat with 1000 holes to practice sinking…smiles…i like that…because it happens as much as the good…maybe if we practiced…hmm…ha…nice write c….

  4. Never fails to amaze me what you can come up with. Always something unexpected and refreshingly new. On the list: buy some new bauxite to patch up bike frame.

  5. Wow, you remind us that list poems can take many forms, and yours is always infinitely alluring. Agree that it’s uber-cool that your spouse haunts your verse in pivotal ways, and kudos to you for not being impressed by anyone’s credentials; only looking at each one for their human merits, their aura, their vibes, their colors.

  6. I life how you wove the lists in in such a subtle and creative way and your ability to show us the possibilities hidden in the daily hum-drum (or stresses) of the workplace. I want to know the two quotes, though…Obama’s and the Profs!

  7. I like the poetic take on the corporate exchange ~ This part in particular grabbed me:

    the business card is printed in his eyes (sea blue)
    it’s not in a title,
    it’s in the angle someone leans towards the road,
    the play of power /break/attention,
    vastness in the moves

    Details are superbly done ~

  8. Brilliant…love your details and moving from walking to the letter to being home. My favorite line: “the mirror above the crossroad stretches me convex”. Something only a writer would see and be able to express. I do think we writers tend to notice more in the world.

  9. Another cool poem, and I loved the ending a boat with holes to practice sinking ha ha…there’s something so peaceful about that…in thought…maybe not reality. Oh and loved your photo too… always an interesting visit! 🙂

  10. Claudia, I think everyone has grabbed all of the spicy lines except “challenged’ by his list and the two lines–one from Obama, one Professor Higgins (misogynist, grr)–how can a woman keep falling for that? I wouldn’t be impressed either! But then the line about the gold frame is challenging too. Let me eat in peace.

  11. “i want a net-less high wire” i say,
    “i want the milky way,
    i want a spider web to catch the rain,
    & a boat with thousand holes (to practice sinking),
    that’s it–

    what an amazing wish-list!!!

  12. In spite of your nonchalance, it sounds like quite a compliment paid you by this VIP. Nice work at work and on expressing your reaction.

  13. Humility always shows through, even though one covers it a bit.

    Hey I thought you had a motorized bike…that looks like bicycle.

    Pass the peanut butter–a great line–I had to throw in peanuts.

    I (we) knew you were a conscientious worker, at home! or away from home…Brava!

    I’m glad I got here today!!!!

  14. Ha ha. Nothing like a dose of reality to keep the ego in check. You deserve every compliment they give you; it’s good to know that your talent & humor are appreciated at work as well as here. Thank you for sharing that.

  15. ““i want a net-less high wire” i say,
    “i want the milky way,
    i want a spider web to catch the rain,
    & a boat with thousand holes (to practice sinking),
    that’s it–”
    I also think this is an amazing wish list !!!

  16. Your work is getting even freer here and really inventive – unique. Always a joy to read, getting even better talented lady.

  17. Doing the impossible, not always a wishful thinking when oh yes! the very thought makes you no less than a VIP then why care of those paraded, whether deserving or not!! Very interesting list. I love the way you work your way through conversations and off late that seems to be the thing in your poetry offerings here! 🙂

  18. Thus is delightful!! Lots of lines I loved, my fav a spiderweb that catches raindrops and a boat with a thousand holes to practice sinking–so clever! 🙂