no, you wouldn’t mark the real important spots with X

birds - watercolor by me..

birds – watercolor by me..

we counter-pole the globe
it rolls a b i   t– — –
& then
comes to a standstill
“did i tell you?

there were birds, Before,
now washed beyond our recognition”

it makes sense to me,
the girl with the long neck,
missing flowers in her hand,
scratches pollen
from the city’s roof tops,

& he smokes gauloises
behind the railway,
pulls a blues harp
from his heavily worn pocket,
—plays

without explaining us the melody,
(like a painter never tells you
what he really sees),

the one-eyed captain says,
“the wind blows, north/
north-east– it might get stormy”
& the earth states
that she misses moving,

on my knees, i
search rubble fields
for X-marks, &

the girl with sunshine-dotted dress
makes her hands an endless tunnel,

& with pouty lips,
blows dandelion seeds

across a fresh tarred road

.

it’s that time again when we blow poetry all across the place as well.. join us at 3pm EST when björn opens the  dVerse poets pub doors..

65 responses to “no, you wouldn’t mark the real important spots with X

  1. Lovely … especially .. when you said, that the painter never really says what he sees … I love that … feel very familiar with that … get angry when people attempt to know … about my poems and paintings … get so angry … because my poems and paintings are never finished … weird … I know … Love you, C

  2. Claudia, I particularly like the linking of “the girl with the long neck/ missing flowers in her hand”, and later, “the earth states / that she misses moving” – it gives the write a flow, a sense of gaps, and the details and visuals especially at the close – sublime. ~ M

  3. Hmm. I am thinking Chagall, something quite unlike the birds above who came before. I don’t truly know why the images seem so familiar–the girl tall as the rooftops (or on them) the man smoking strong cigarettes, the one-eyed and the earth speaking, like Humpty Dumpty on a wall but much more fun. My favorite is the tunnel and dandelion seeds endlessly streaming. HA! And then, I love your watercolor where the dandelion becomes birds again. What is the real important spot? White fluff in fresh black tar? We’d better keep our shoes on.

  4. ..ah, Claudia i think you must pursue on venturing on this kind of offering when you accompany your poetry with your own artworks… like you i am not a detailed artist but rather i am more like of an impressionist & / or minimalist type when it comes to my artworks…. that said i genuinely appreciate what you’ve done in those birds.. you didn’t provide the exact figure & that allows me to use my heart more to see your images beyond what my eyes can only reach… for me art is more of feeling it rather seeing it the way it is layered before our eyes… what a rewarding moment to simply let my heart dive & my eyes drink into the emotions you put from that very piece of yours… lovely… smiles…

    …on an aside when i read your words it made me think of a certain issue on how we actually add complications & obscurity to simple figure or piece of art by way of our differences in opinions & views & experiences to relate to that piece of art… i think the silence of the artist or poet & the curiosity or complications of the readers — these factors both sides are putting t’wards a poem or piece of art are what create the learning needed that does not require to sacrifice the quality of a poem or piece of art being judged… the integrity is preserved in the highest essence of celebrating beauty in art… smiles… loved it…

  5. Perhaps it’s because I have hayfever at the moment, but the “scratches pollen from the city’s roof tops” really stood out to me, and drew me in : )

  6. So glad to see your painting, Claudia. VERY nice. Your poem today is surreal to me. Lots of images to focus on, ending with my favorite one…the girl with the sunshine-dotted dress.

  7. smiles…i remember this one now…first, i love the water color, you capture a sense of motion in it that is really cool…i hope a bit of that girls seeds finds a place to land beyond the asphalt…the long necked girl scratching pollen fromt eh citiy’s rooftops missing flowers i think is my fav part….that and the earth not turning or moving though it wants…

  8. You created quite the imagery once more, as you paint away at your shore. Endless tunnel though, she must have huge hands at her show haha

  9. (like a painter never tells you
    what he really sees),

    A good artists lets the receiver interpret, just like the many different comments to your poetry and painting. Excellent C. Love the watercolors you have been sharing.

  10. First of all, I really love how you accompany your poetry with your own watercolor. I get an impression of Japanese poetry in your words. It could be read as a complete poem, but also as separate senryu and tanka…. and I have a weakness for dandelions .. to me it has a very strong symbolic meaning.

  11. I love the watercolor…and my favorite lines..it makes sense to me,
    the girl with the long neck,
    missing flowers in her hand,
    scratches pollen
    from the city’s roof tops ……an awesome write, Claudia. 🙂

  12. Lovely watercolor ~ I like the girl with the endless tunnel but this image struck:

    plays

    without explaining us the melody,

    No titles or words are needed, art can speak for and by itself ~

  13. Oh my… this is so surreal and filled with beautiful, magical imagery. I so love the places your poetry takes me, worlds I’ve never been to.

    And I adore your painting as well.

  14. Ooohhhhh .. I love that girl in the sunshine-dotted dress blowing dandelions seeds through the endless tunnel of her hands… love love LOVE the image!
    Our concrete/tar laden cities need it desperately…

  15. someone mentioned Chagall, but it’s the words that bring me Chagall, so colourful, in contrast to the desolation the painting suggests…(the earth stopping is a frightening thought!) I love the combination of painting & words, brilliantly done

  16. the girl with sunshine-dotted dress
    makes her hands an endless tunnel,

    & with pouty lips,
    blows dandelion seeds

    across a fresh tarred road

    i love this ending, and the watercolor is superb.

  17. To begin with, the title screams to be read. A painter never tells you
    what he really sees just as a poet never tells you every nuance that inspired the metaphor. Excellent, Claudia.

  18. So evocative, Claudia, as always. And I love the painting! My favorite line:
    “the girl with sunshine-dotted dress
    makes her hands an endless tunnel”

  19. You grabbed me at the title–and I loved the close–the visuals and the feeling of it–

    the girl with sunshine-dotted dress
    makes her hands an endless tunnel,

    & with pouty lips,
    blows dandelion seeds

    across a fresh tarred road

  20. I know life’s not fair, but one of the unfairest things about it is seeing people who are not superbly endowed with one talent, but multiple talents – like you. Not really, it’s wonderful to know that some are blessed with talents, many, and they share them. Like you. Love this poem. It’s swirling in my head making imprints, maybe marking x’s. Like your painting too.

  21. What a cascade of images, Claudia. My head is spinning, trying to piece it all together. No, no – don’t explain it; it’s better this way … smiles

  22. I feel–like I’ve been around the world in art-speak. Music, flowers, birds (Oh My…), polka-dotted dress (your style, Claudia!)…and I am one of those dandelion wisps, stuck in th fresh tar,
    still smelling smoke from cheap French cigarette……

    LOVE your art.

  23. This left me with a sense of loss, like time and earth had moved on and all the beauty was gone, and we are left looking for birds and flowers and things no longer there. I too, loved the “painter” line. I always thought the same of poetry. Lovely write, Claudia.

  24. Love this.
    My favorite was this stanza-
    it makes sense to me,
    the girl with the long neck,
    missing flowers in her hand,
    scratches pollen
    from the city’s roof tops

    I also thought your use of dashes was clever:
    it rolls a b i t– — –

    Great write Claudia. =)

  25. I like your last lines – “the girl with the sunshine dotted dress …..blows dandelion seeds across a fresh tarred road.” I like the sense of hope here – there is hope even in the middle of dire circumstances.

    And yeah… it ties nicely with ‘the girl with the long neck, missing flowers in her hand, scratches pollen from the city’s rooftops”

    Beautiful images, Claudia. 🙂

  26. Beautiful and well done, Claudia…both the art and poetry… You are always magical 🙂

  27. such delightful visual impact… the girl with the long neck and one-eyed captain. visually, your dandelion seeds across the fresh tarred yard is almost your painting in reverse.

  28. Beautiful poem. Mysterious, with the earth stopping. Has both a sense of foreboding and joy in it for me. Such a wide range of sensations/images, from tar to dandelion seeds. I would cut the word “us” from Verse 5, Line 1. Better grammar.

  29. Beautiful piece yet again Claudia. Really love the full stop at the end of the fourth stanza and the line break that follows. You have mastered the art of dictating flow to the reader. Very well done!

  30. Beautiful poem going into lots of imagery. Lots of characters in flow! Wonderful take Claudia!

    Hank

  31. Claudia, I can’t claim to totally understand, but I love the writing and being taken along your ride to phrases I adore and that make sense to me. I even like not being able to make total sense of it. I get a feeling though…an unsettled feeling with life., which I know I relate to….to which I relate…