At full tilt//bloWn off the map, & dotted nut-brown

at prissi's school end celebration yesterday

at prissi’s abitur celebration yesterday

 .

“speed poetry,”
he says

“that’s what you do, &
where, i wonder, does the muse fit–?”

“i don’t need one”,

“no, you love the challenge, right?”

“hmmm” i work the keys–
a leopard, unwilling to change her spots,
i’m coloring my hair,
all last minute,

daughter’s school end celebration starts
in just a bit & nut-brown foam spills–

“you look scary”, my son says

“my friend’s mom wants to know
what dress you gonna wear” says prissi

“for the party?”

“yeah”

“i dunno– (still
in an old sweater, biking shorts)
“maybe just my grey skirt”

“no, dress up a bit– please”

& i sit at my computer, hacking
poetry like trumpet blasts onto the screen,
which means, my answers are delayed,
tumbling in like airplanes,
landing strip deserted
& lights off,

my fam just shakes their head
“i bought watercolors” i say
“they were 20% off, they close that shop”

“i know”, my husband says,
–but no one told me,
running up & down the stairs,

“i will put on the same dress
that i wore at miri’s celebration”

“like a chicken with its head cut off,
you’re gonna have brown color dots
all down your cheeks”

“mhmmmm” timer beeps & i jump in the shower
“go by car or walk?”

“you’re kidding–”

“no, the ball’s in your court” i say,
then breathe again

—and watch it rolling

.

smiles.. it was a lovely party and i’m one proud mom…smiles… we’re writing idiom poetry at dVerse today..make sure to have your pencil ready when kelvin unlocks the pub doors at 3pm EST…

50 responses to “At full tilt//bloWn off the map, & dotted nut-brown

  1. Congrats to your daughter. I bet ‘the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.’ Loved all the detail you included, Claudia, to bring the day to life. Am thinking about speed poetry. Ha, if only it were speedy to write. Still want to see a painting sometime. Really nice photo too.

  2. speed poetry…ha…sometimes…and that is what i like to hear on the muse, dont let it dictate…smiles…still think purple would have cool…smiles…having my boys and the other that i am keeping for the summer my days often feel as rapid and quick hitting as this…like a chicken with the head cut off surely…like the image you end on with the ball rolling…

  3. The pace of the poem match so perfectly the events…I felt myself rushing to be ready for the school event…and at the end I could see the ball rolling into their court…another wonderful write….made me smile this Saturday morning.

  4. I like the rush and speed of this, tumbling like airplanes, answers delayed—I too am rushing my writing in between ~ The family picture is great and congrats to your daughter ~ Mind is graduating from grade 8 on Monday so its going to be a full day/night for me as well ~ Happy weekend ~

  5. Congratulation to your daughter, Claudia….You really make me think in relationships mode today….in your interpretation its sound very comfy…in harmony…this speed is very inspires your poems and us too…have a good time

  6. So charming – hope the spots cleaned off! This is a lovely scenario – a very vivid description of trying to “do it all” if not “have it all” or both. Thanks, Claudia. k.

  7. i can relate to the last minute touch up, the trying to capture a thought. You certainly did a wonderful job of describing the antics before the event. What a lovely picture. Congratulations to your daughter and her parents of course.

  8. Just enjoyed this so much. I felt a bit like a voyeur and,, you know, it was a lot of fun. And it all felt so familiar. Hope the party and celebration was spectacular and congratulations to your beautiful daughter.

  9. you are hilarious and your family sounds more forgiving than mind. I wear their last nerve with my delayed answers or not hearing at all and my damn incessant habit of clicking keys when I’m suppose to be doing something else. My youngest graduated this year. Congratulations.

  10. I got a real kick out of this, Claudia. I can so relate to:

    & i sit at my computer, hacking
    poetry like trumpet blasts onto the screen,
    which means, my answers are delayed,
    tumbling in like airplanes,
    landing strip deserted
    & lights off,

  11. …i supposedly to tackle versatility today in poetics but ended up with idioms… & wow… what a treat for you did both… i really like the flexibility in your character Claudia… you excel with the idioms as expected… we do write a lot of ’em though we less notice it… thanks for sharing this… & hey you. look great with grey… that’s my & mom’s same fave color… loved the part that your daughter is conscious about what you’re wearing… i have so many memories to relate from there… haha… smiles…

  12. Great to hear of the celebration (but the preparation can take so much time). Glad you enjoyed the party. While I could try speed poetry mixed with speed packing, I won’t have time to comment on people’s efforts, so I’ll sit this one out. 😊

  13. Oh, Claudia. You’re my favorite “blogsy” poet, I’ve determined. I’m transported into thought and action and sensation whenever I read a new post. 😉 Sincerely. You’re in close proximity for me with ‘Dawn Runs Amok,’ whom I adore but haven’t seen writing from for awhile. :there’s a link to his writing on my blog’s “poetry sites” page if you’ve not read him:

  14. I love it! My own daughters think I’m crazy as does now my teenage granddaughter but they say they wouldn’t have me any other way. I’m sure your family feels the same way. LOL Smiles

  15. You get so many comments I never can seem to find the comment box- haha. Nice one here, lots of memorable lines- speed poetry, hacking poetry like trumpet blasts, my answers are delayed,
    tumbling in like airplanes,
    landing strip deserted
    & lights off,
    and good idiom choices too. Nice little write about getting ready- putting poetry to life’s otherwise ordinary happenings… congratulations to your daughter too. That’s great. -Mike

  16. “speed poetry,”
    he says
    “that’s what you do, &
    where, i wonder, does the muse fit–?”
    “i don’t need one”,
    “no, you love the challenge, right?”

    …i really like your poem…because once again, you shared a moment Of… family life, movement, conversation, and poetry…while using this poetry form called…,strong>idiom.

    deedee 🙂
    [note: i ❤ the photograph Of proud parents, with prissi…at her abitur. ]
    tks,4 sharing !

  17. “& i sit at my computer, hacking
    poetry like trumpet blasts onto the screen,
    which means, my answers are delayed,
    tumbling in like airplanes,
    landing strip deserted
    & lights off,”
    so good!
    another fantastic poem. Claudia, your work always makes me smile…

    p.s.: hope the hair color came out the way you wanted 😉

  18. You definitely live life at full tilt, Claudia! All those trumpet blasts of poetry, while trying to dye the hair & have daughter dictate your wardrobe (been there)…flows so beautifully. Thank you.
    Many congratulations to your daughter!

  19. First, the picture is beautiful. I could feel the speed poetry as the words rolled away..quick & swift in your own natural style..I always enjoy visiting here.

  20. What a great slice of life piece! “which means, my answers are delayed,
    tumbling in like airplanes,
    landing strip deserted
    & lights off,” <— My favorite lines in this. Who needs a muse, indeed? 🙂 Great write!

  21. & i sit at my computer, hacking
    poetry like trumpet blasts onto the screen,
    which means, my answers are delayed,
    tumbling in like airplanes,
    landing strip deserted
    & lights off,…………………….Love this and your family is beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

