in Munich & a painting by someone whose name i can’t remember

munich, karlstor

munich, karlstor

.

it’s the depth

as if you could
Crawl into
a careful painted landscape,
rest your head on–

& i do
forget
the world is round,

we’re moving
on the surface

mainly

a few feet up or down
seldom make it
to the core (of things)

you say:
it’s just a painting
(estimated 4 hands wide,
3 high, i never
get the math right),

in a city of a million raindrops
splashing
on the concrete,

i press ear to breast,
trembling, deep sighs
of her roots cause

there are things
the sun can’t teach us,
(even if we’re listening
closely–)
& i stay

3sub stops from the center,
which is What

eXactly–

soaking wet
& freezing,

there is something
in her gaze
that makes me take down
the umbrella,

turn my face
toward the drops’ wild tumbling wombs,
invite ‘em
for a roller-coaster ride
on tousled curls we loop
arms up—up—Up

until we’re crazy dizzy,
(& a little breathless)
with the magic
——–of the day

.

it’s raining poetry at dVerse OpenLinkNight today…write a poem and join us at 3pm EST…

77 responses to “in Munich & a painting by someone whose name i can’t remember

  1. Oh, Munich can be miserable in the rain……especially a cold rain. I remember from last summer. So far to and from the subway. And four people with one umbrella. Crawling into the landscape of a painting could be a nice escape. And still there is always magic. Nice one, Claudia.

  2. Gosh I love the opening of this poem, how often I’ve wanted to do that… and it’s true with the rush of life more often than not we only glaze across the surface…I loved the feeling of this very nice! 🙂

  3. the focus early on the surface versus the core really stands out to me…of course it applies to painting…and really any art….and then of course life as well…things the sun cant teach us even if we are listening…love the dancing in the end as well…thats when you bring on the magic…smiles.

  4. Often had the same kind of feeling – of wanting to savor the world in conflict in a warm and peaceful scene one gets in a painting. Great thoughts Claudia!

    Hank

  5. Blah to the rain, but it can be fun I suppose and you sure brought it to life ignoring such woes. The world isn’t flat? News to the cat…lol

  6. Here in Washington state, we get rain much of the time; get rain tans in summer, and grow webs between our toes. Your art appreciation, people watching, and love poetics always please me; no one seems to perceive these things as you do.

  7. I love that the intimacy of how we curl into another in the rain in a way we don’t in the sun is painted here…just lovely images.

  8. All prepared to mention the magic again, Claudia, and people beat
    me to it. But your poetry is sheer magic…here and elsewhere…story telling magic….and you have that rare ability to hook us from the very beginning and bind us to your words…I wanna dance with you too in this Munich rain…just for the joy of it. This is signature Claudia!

  9. I like the personal touch in your journeys Claudia ~ Here, I want to press my ear close to the statue and see her face closely underneath the rain ~

  10. Awesome, Claudia. I love the way how you capture the magic of the world, of the day, and give us some pointers on how to find it. I particularly liked the relativity of the measurements (“4 hands wide, 3 high” or “3sub stops”). For me, it’s in wondering about that, and holding on to it to take a closer look, where I find the magic.

  11. Now that is an awesome review of a painting! I hope someday, someway, someone feels so moved as this to write a review for my little pieces…… the broken pieces, falling away, tail lights smashed in the rain…… red glow turned white – but I ride the roller coaster curls to forget……

  12. I love you style of poetry, i am never disappointed that i will not be able to take a journey to another country. I love your animated imaginary and the constant of umbrellas. thank you for taking me to the far places of your mind.

  13. after reading this, I think I’m a little dizzy and breathless. there is so much in here to pick from, but I particularly liked, “we’re moving / on the surface // mainly // a few feet up or down / seldom make it / to the core (of things).” really lovely.

  14. we’re moving
    on the surface

    mainly

    a few feet up or down
    seldom make it
    to the core (of things)

    You always manage to find the depth in life’s experiences, and, in the course of retelling, make the profundity seem a commonplace. Remarkable, as always!

  15. I’ve seen that fountain in Munich. I loved it when I saw it at 17 years old. It somehow embodied my outlook towards the world. As does your poem. There are some lines that just jump out from the page, I love the image Of the wombs of the rain. The concept of living in the painting is very Cool, and your description of it is more than one dimensional. I notice you have several poems about living in art, specifically paintings. That is a fascinating idea, since it creates a tension between real life and art.

  16. There are things the sun can’t teach us… Yes, so very true. I love the truth in this, the reality that is still filled with magic, when we look for it, dance with it, aren’t afraid to walk in the rain to find it.

  17. there is so much in the core but then surface is much easier, perhaps, and we tend to walk on it, assuming blissful ignorance. Turning away our heads, the umbrella seems to be so profound here! very layered poem…wonderful!

  18. ‘a roller coaster ride on tousled curls we loop’…ah..and I also was drawn to the statue as if I wanted to crawl up to the shoulder like in the painting get inside ..fun and so keenly written..

  19. I love your title/name of your poems… very eye catching! haha I’ve never been to an art gallery… or someplace even close, but I love to imagine myself looking upon the paintings and such with awe.

  20. “in a city of a million raindrops
    splashing
    on the concrete,”
    This was the quote, I’ve seen in a while. I don’t know why , but I thought of Casablanca.! awesome read:)

  21. The idea of crawling into a painting made me think of Rex Whistler’s painting/mural in Plas Newydd (North Wales). I looked for an image, but I really think it has to been seen in person. Art can have such striking effects : )

  22. involvement …here you obviously are and we are as well…soaking it in (literally) as if the act of observation denies knowledge…if you want to be a part of the moment, you have to BE in the moment

    Thanks C…..a fave of yours, for me

  23. delightful movement and action here. there are things the sun can not teach us, so provocative! then you go to –soaking wet & freezing– and I feel the lack of sun so clearly.

  24. While reading and re-reading this Claudia, I’m remembering the movie, the song (sung by dancer Gene Kelly) “SINGIN’ IN THE RAIN”. Loved that one, and love THIS one–your poem

  25. Oh wow, Claudia. This is so moving:

    “in a city of a million raindrops
    splashing
    on the concrete,

    i press ear to breast,
    trembling, deep sighs
    of her roots cause

    there are things
    the sun can’t teach us”

    I love this too:

    “there is something
    in her gaze
    that makes me take down
    the umbrella,

    turn my face
    toward the drops’ wild tumbling wombs”

    And of course, the ending leaves me smiling:
    “until we’re crazy dizzy,
    (& a little breathless)
    with the magic
    ——–of the day”

    That is the best feeling in the world — crazy dizzy, breathless, catching rain with your face, consumed by magic. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

