we sometimes miss ’em cause they’re dressed the wrong way

i had a strange dream,
though, each time i retell it,
it falls apart
like ancient scrolls
under the first light whiff of oxygen,

“let’s get out the sub at Bryant Park”
he says, we carry oil lamps,
light’s not yet invented,

& walk all the way to Times Square
in the dark,
“Illuminate New York– that’s
my next project”

we share a kebab– yogurt sauce
drips straight through winding tunnels
blindly following earth’s gravity,
he leans toward me,

“10% is inspiration, the rest sweat”
i’m rather freezing
“that’s the thing with opportunities–”
he nods, “it’s kinda strange” i say,

“in my dream, the necklace i liked most
was just an empty imprint
on black velvet. i realized only
after holding it in hand–
non-existant”

“not yet seen–?”

he takes a napkin,
like a painter wipes
little sparkling stars into a bright,
illuminated path,

“it’s too dark” he says
“and people sleep too much,
doesn’t do them any good”

“being awake & waking can be different things”
i state,

“don’t get philosophical”
he shakes his head & walks back to the subway,

“Thomas” i shout “one more question–”
but he’s already ‘round the corner,

leaving shimmering, yellow dots along 7th Avenue

.

smiles…you may have guessed already that it was Thomas A. Edison i “met” in NYC… over at dVerse, it’s my pleasure to host poetics this week and we’re writing conversation/interaction poems with famous and/or historical people. So can’t wait to see whom you’ll bring to the pub at 3pm EST…

60 responses to “we sometimes miss ’em cause they’re dressed the wrong way

  1. Really, you are one of the most incredible poets I have the pleasure of reading from. Your work is, in a word, fantastic. I mean, epic fantasy level fantastic. Wow.

    • “Thomas” i shout “one more question–”
      but he’s already ‘round the corner,

      leaving shimmering, yellow dots along 7th Avenue

      …Thanks, for sharing your very imaginative poem as…A present day poet [shake hands] with…A past inventor…before he round the corner…
      deedee 🙂

  2. thats the thing with opportunities…kinda strange…ha…would be cool to meet edison…to be a spreader of light and bringing light to the masses..i like how you portray him as a painter…dabbing in the lights…very cool…although i think i beg to differ with him on the sleep…ha…lovely piece c

  3. An imaginative meeting with Thomas Edison. I especially like these lines:

    he takes a napkin,
    like a painter wipes
    little sparkling stars into a bright,
    illuminated path,

    And yes, about genius, 10% inspiration, 90% perspiration! Thomas Edison WAS one of the greatest. An interesting prompt today, Claudia. We’ll see…….

  4. CLAUDIA

    At times when in half-sleep
    she is far more awake
    than all those strewn
    by dark of moon
    within world order’s wake.
    At times when in half-sleep
    she dreams cities away
    higher than man
    with all his plans
    could in the light of day.

    E

  5. Reblogged this on Eric M. Vogt: Life-Writings and commented:
    If you aren’t following this lady, you have to… Marvelous poet!

    CLAUDIA

    At times when in half-sleep
    she is far more awake
    than all those strewn
    by dark of moon
    within world order’s wake.
    At times when in half-sleep
    she dreams cities away
    higher than man
    with all his plans
    could in the light of day.

    Eric M. Vogt, Copyright 2013

  6. I like meeting up with Thomas Edison and the images here..lighting up the city. A poem filled with imagination. 🙂 Lovely. Have a great weekend, Claudia.

  7. Luminous! Edison is one of my favorites to muse with, usually accusing him of cursing us with no more shadow. So I am gleeful about your take on him, where I see him magically spreading light with a flick of a napkin and a gesture of his hand in a magical duet I envy!

  8. …what a marvelous encounter Claudia… you reanimated him in this entire conversation as if he’s not long gone… though quite sad for he has to leave too soon… i like that you have a very rich & flexible imagination when you write… i think that’s an asset not all good poets have… smiles… excellent & enjoyed it…as always…

  9. What a fun poem. It hooked my imagination to yours and it felt like I was along for the trip down a dark Times Square. So glad you had Thomas along to light it. Have a well lit weekend.

  10. Super charming. A new favorite of yours. I especially like the ins and outs – the real and the crazy and the quotidian and the inspired that you mix up here – the kabob and dripping yogurt – and the way the conversation goes through those tunnels and openings. k.

  11. Oh, this made me smile, all the way through… and I especially loved ” just an empty imprint on black velvet” … what an incredibly gorgeous image. I’m going to give this prompt a try!

  12. But who was dreaming, you or Edison? Lots of metaphysical and poetic quandaries here. Really loved this dreamy yet so very real poem, Claudia. Edison, the man, meets Claudia, the poetic force.

  13. Ahhhhh, Tom Edison, of course! I love how you told this. I was at his house in Florida! The winter estate the Edisons shared with the Fords.

    This poem takes me away to Joni Mitchell’s first album… her describing NY City where “the beaches were concrete and the stars paid a light bill.” You and Joni — equally talented with words.

    And yeah, I hate it when the dreams go poof like those dusty old scrolls.

    Beautifully told, as usual!

    xoxo and hoping you are well.

  14. I didn’t have him pegged as a yogurt sauce kind of guy, but perhaps he decided to defer to your choice. I’d like to see him dressed in silver metallic spandex…esp in New York.

  15. One gets totally wrapped in the flow of words here…we dream along with you…and your dream creates an abstract bit of art for us all…another fine poem.

  16. “it’s too dark” he says
    “and people sleep too much,
    doesn’t do them any good”

    I wonder what he’d think about the thrushes that wear themselves out signing all day and all night? Me, I love my sleep..

  17. Very clever… I enjoyed holding your hand on this one and waiting to see what would be revealed and illuminated!

  18. Pingback: Paris in 5 1/2 Weeks : Photos # 4 – St Sulpice, St Germain de Pres (Day 4) | Felipe Adan Lerma

  19. I love it that you chose good-old-wise Tom Edison and had it all come down in New York. Great sense of place in this, too.Think I better settle down and try to write something. I just love this prompt but it’s been an uber-busy week!

  20. ‘we carry oil lamps..light’s not invented yet’…I got a kick out of that…Both Thomas Edison and Ben Franklin would be so interesting to have conversations …well, …so enlightening 😉 Very clever, Claudia..

  21. Gotta say Claudia, that you’ve done fine work in illuminating New york. Almost as good as creating this short poem!

    Maybe I look for the obvious in reading poetry as if it were pure and good fiction. Because I did not realize you met Thomas Edison in the dreamy world of yours. I must learn that poetry has its own meaning derived from words/language. BUT I DO LIKE; A LOT!

  22. Forget about Thomas, this line had me cracking up: “we share a kebab– yogurt sauce drips straight through winding tunnels blindly following earth’s gravity, he leans toward me,” You have a way of dropping dollops of reality in the most unpredictable places and your poetry is the more enjoyable because of it. Many thanks.

    Greetings from London.

  23. this was a fun romp! 😉

    liked so many lines, like,

    ““it’s too dark” he says
    “and people sleep too much”

    really like the interplay between the supreme pragmatism of mr edison, with the contemplative banter of the dreamer, very nicely done 😉

  24. Like what you’ve done here and I can see your mind was already off and running per your prompt. Have to say this one kept me away last night thinking about where I should go with it. Just the same, even with less sleep, I like the idea. Thanks!

  25. Love hat he did. Love what you did. I can read your words for all that he did. I never thought much about him – just his inventions. You have given him a delightful (yes, pun intended) personality! Thank you.

  26. Claudia! So sorry that I missed this prompt, how fun! I love what you did with Tom and light 🙂 Especially that trail of shimmering yellow dots, perfect!

Leave a Reply

