Don Quixote & things we don’t see on first sight

it snows in Berlin–
i think of Dali, the army
in Don Quixote’s chest,
only visible for those who know

the magic of how things
appear that weren’t seen
before like when you blow
against a window on a cold day,
i am freezing,

there’s warmth still
him, leaning into me–

“you coming along?”

his breath, strong hands
pressed against my back,
keep cracking under
too much weight–

it’s late already, i write up
the meeting minutes, muted
neon light, office empty
& my head aches

giant windmills
spin, sPin, SpIN,

i see him, riding horseback
over open fields, stick in hand,
arms scratched, a whirl
of graphite energy,

& the cursor on my page

——-blinks black

.

inspired by a Dali painting of Don Quixote i saw in Berlin the other week..on first sight it’s just Don Quixote but on second look there’s a whole army penciled in his chest.. really fascinating.. and yeah…planning to kidnap hubs to berlin.. but pssshhh….smiles… it’s OpenLinkNight at dVerse.. come, write a poem and join us…. doors open at 3pm EST

71 responses to “Don Quixote & things we don’t see on first sight

  1. nice..love how you use dali in the opening and the things we can not see until something changes or we notice…his hands cracking under the weight of too much…carrying a bit perhaps, cool touch…the use of the windmills of the mind…ha the imagery as well of him riding, pencil in hand…nice…and then to your cursor…cool write claudia…

  2. Nice..I like very much..my favorite hero coming to your mind at night and you see windmills write about battling a headache…might you be Dulcenea ?

  3. I enjoyed the things you took from the Dali painting and poeticized them, Claudia… I think Dali would really be thrilled that you were so affected by his painting. And I love the image of Don Quixote & the fact that you will be returning to Berlin with hubby!

  4. Oh I love Don Quixote. Your inspiration worked wonderfully. You wove beautiful aspects of him into your poem. I also (perhaps I’m projecting here) sensed a yearning for your hubby to warm you. Glad he’s going.

  5. I have a new favorite of yours 🙂 … love the surreal quality, the tribute to dali… the images are all fantastic, and everything that swirls just beneath the surface, sublime.

  6. Simply beautiful. Gave me chills. I was moved by the culture of love, relationship, the stress of work life, and sheer profound pronouncement of this poem. A beautiful write Claudia.

  7. Applying the ultimate parody of the romantic hero so tenderly reminds me that romance remains in smaller things, reminds me to value the effort right in front of me, reminds me to leave the job and go on with my life.

  8. Put me in your pocket and let me be your Pancho…or is it Poncho….Love the end, but all is so good…imaginative..Yeppers!

  9. Funny! Sometimes things are there, when I don’t see them. And somtimes when I SEE something, it most certainly is NOT there.

    In the end, a single, simple cursor blinking it’s life away–at YOU! When that happens to me, the are 17 trillions XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX’s on my monitor!

    You and your friend BM are just a true DeeLYte to read.

  10. Don Quixote is one of my favourite novels. This so full of visuals, right down to the ending and the shutting off of the computer. Nice, Claudia.

    Pamela

  11. I love the capture of the details, the army in Don Q’s chest ~ SpiNNing words are very creative, I watch out for these in your poems Claudia ~ Have a good time with hubs ~

  12. Ekphrasis, without the painting in sight. You captured it so well, Claudia. And the art inside the art is a fav topic of mine. Excellente. The armies in chest hairs was brilliant and your exploration of that theme was even more so.

  13. I know this painting, and quixote, of course, and like the way you put us in the office environmnet, a place for many dullards and the ocasional dreamers and poets

    • “it snows in Berlin–
      i think of Dali, the army
      in Don Quixote’s chest,
      only visible for those who know

      the magic of how things
      appear that weren’t seen
      before like when you blow
      against a window on a cold day…”

      These magical words in your poem jumped out at me as you visited the Dali at the Berlin museum and make plan with your hubby.
      Thanks, for sharing!
      deedee 🙂

  14. Oh! “the magic of how things
    appear that weren’t seen..” wonderful. Writing from my office, I especially like the contrast between the office environment and “riding horseback..”

  15. So true that there’s much we don’t notice on first sight. I want to go look up that painting so I can see the army penciled in his chest…love your wrap up at the end.

  16. Love the reference to Don Quixote, who saw what other’s could not. There’s a lovely feel to this piece, blending the every day with the magical. Nicely penned, Claudia.

  17. I think “the magic … i am freezing”, is the strongest. I like how Quixote and the man at your back are merged in the end: “i see him, riding horseback… a whirl
    of graphite energy”. Then again, on reread, maybe I missed the point.

  18. Don Quixote saw something that was real to him–and who are we to say he was delusional? You take the everyday world and make “things appear that weren’t seen before” — and that is the uniqueness of your poetic voice.

  19. There’s so much to appreciate, here, and one of my favorite things is your line breaks. Especially in the second stanza. I just really love where you’ve chosen to break. I need to spend more time with art; this poem reminds me. God bless.

  20. hmmm, I looked for Dali paints of Don Quiote
    Was it this or this or this.
    Wow, he did lots it seems.

    Your writing reveals you to be of kindred spirit to both Dali and Quixote — with armies in your chest or visions unseen as you spin and spin. Your mundane life (as all lives are) is woven richly into a horseback adventure!

    Thanks for the fun read.

  21. Not far from me, along a road that leads to work, there lives a sculptor. He bought a farm along the highway and sets his creations in the former wheat field in hopes of selling them. I’m always fascinated but the ones next to the road aren’t the ones that really matter here. Near his house, he built a large windmill and charging up the hill nearby is a lifesize Don Quixote sculpture. When I drive by today, I will think of you and your wonderful poem. Thank you.

  22. This one really clicked for me. Jacque, his sidekick is Sancho Panza. I played Panza in a production of CAMINO REAL in the 70’s. One real strength, besides poetic alacrity and second sight for you, is the way you bring Quixote to life; way cool.

  23. I love the way you have me standing in the snow in Berlin and then almost without knowning it I am back behind my screen reading again. Sounds like the Dali had a lasting impression.

  24. The way you describe cold, made me want to grab a sweater!
    Don Quixote has always fascinated me–a wonderful write–hope you succeeded in the hubby kidnapping 🙂

Leave a Reply

