painting alice in wonderland

he was upBeat in a funny way,
eco touch, & we’d walk my dog for hours,
talking life, sense- and senseless
while a weary forest breathed
oxygen upon us,

all the songs we sang,
oFF path, one sun on us from
different angles, we drank

black tea (flavored caramel) on icebergs,
bungee jumps on spider threads high in the air,

& in falling, i smoked hand rolled cigarettes, he
chasing off the puffs, i blew in his face,

he picked me up for school in his old car,
& his yes was without judging,

my best friend.

& my fav police song playing as he asked
me help him fight the angst, the insecurity that
was about to drown him, we were Gala and Dali,
vice versa, he read from his book & i painted
watercolor, transparent, fluent,
picking up the shades, energy,
showing what i saw, where i’d go
by the slightest touch of him, giving direction,

the room smelled of wet paint,

i traced tobacco crumbs on worn down carpet fibres,

always felt that he had given me much more
than i could give him back (craCKed,
as i was)

“hey” i say, “you’ll be doing good”

& we both smile

ok, couldn’t resist Gretchen’s prompt over at dVerse.. my fav police song– “every breath you take” was humming it all day yesterday..smiles

last week i was in Berlin at a Dali exhibit & really impressed by Dali’s Alice in Wonderland paintings, Gala read the book to him and he painted..found that magical…

32 responses to “painting alice in wonderland

  1. he sounds like a pretty cool friend to have along on that journey…i know those that in that moment when i was all cracked up that def gave more to me than i them…they are like an anchor of the moment…and very cool little details you give as well…my best friend in high school…i still see him on occassion, the girl…never since…

  2. The Police, that turns back the clock somewhat. Sting used to be a teacher up here in the dark depths of the North East, until he found fame. He also used to play with the Newcastle Big Band. Thats a piece of useless info just for you.

    & in falling, i smoked hand rolled cigarettes, he
    chasing off the puffs, i blew in his face,

    Are you sure they were just regular smokes 😉

    This has a wonderful pace about it for a Sunday. Its just a walk through a day in the life of two people and a commentary of how relaxed they are with each other.

  3. I loved this…it took me back to that time of Sting. Great song.Rollies, Gala and Dali,all very cool..very nice European mood…envious of the Dali exhibition..did you know it cost $480 for a ticket to see the Berlin Philharmonic here in Sydney…Lucky you!

  4. Dear Claudia, this poem your breath blew, i the one chasing after, hoping it would never land, as most beautiful of poetry and humanity do… It took me back to a listless youth of nuclear proliferation and silent, dark introspection… But, alas, we survived it! 😉

  5. I loved the recounting of this memory, Claudia. I wonder, as I look back at some of my memories, if we really appreciated them as much for what they were at the time, or if we need some distance to look back to realize just how very special they were!! Interesting too, how music seems to be part of those relationships….certain songs or groups are associated with a particular person / a particular time. Ha…don’t get me going on Neil Diamond (smiles), one singer who triggers a lot of memories in me! The Police, not so much! LOL.

  6. It is magical to have such a friend, a muse upbeat and non judgmental in the tobacco haze of those daze when “Every Breathe” didn’t conflict with the delicious hand-rolled smoke and what a wonderland! what a flow in this poem, an ease that highlights your topic.

  7. Oh I enjoyed reading this so much. The story of a friendship and the gratitude for it. I love your images always – bungee jumping from a spider web sounds fun. Love the playful way you reminisce here. It’s a beautiful poem.

  8. Bringing the memory to light with a song that can get stuck in ones head day and night, now I have to go try and rid myself of it, thanks for that haha

  9. here is the most important part of this relationship for me that you pain so beautifully –

    his yes was without judging

    thanks for your comment on my gender-bias piece… big issue I think

  10. The Police – that takes me back. I was a fan from Roxanne onwards – even after I discovered the questionalble delights of hard rock and metal!

    • “the room smelled of wet paint,
      i traced tobacco crumbs on worn down carpet fibres,
      always felt that he had given me much more
      than i could give him back (craCKed,
      as i was)…”

      and
      “& my fav police song playing as he asked
      me help him fight the angst, the insecurity that
      was about to drown him, we were Gala and Dali…”

      Once again, these are your poetic words that jumped-out at me as you reflect on a fav song, Dali and Gala [the latter whom I’m not familiar with yet…]
      Hello! Gala,
      Thanks, for sharing!
      deedee 🙂

  11. …sigh… the world we lived in is quite more of a wonderland in Alice’s tale, i guess, when it comes to weighing normality… ha… you always provide the sharpest of descriptions Claudia…truly fascinating… smiles… much enjoyed of the night… thanks…

  12. one of those times we wish time would stand still. I am a bit too old for Police..was changing diapers those years and working..but I love the poem and how it captures your memories so well..and who doesn’t love a bungy jumping spider and the famous company you keep..

  13. Love that line “talking life-sense and senseless” that’s what we do, isn’t it? 🙂 and one sun on us from different angles–really liked that too–Loved the whole poem, just like some lyrics stick with you–those did with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

