if you can find me–

my piano

my piano

.

in the middle of
an invasion, snoW//FlaKes touching asphalt
with their soft-gloved wombs,
i sit

at the piano,
shadeS Of Solace
in bruised spots, between keys
& melodies,
along the edge, daughter in bed already

“i’ll play quietly” i say
she nods “it’s ok mom”
& i realize,

i’m still there, in accidentals, note lines,
dangling fragile from the highest point
& crash like powder into nothing
but myself,

inside, beneath an even surface,
bend//iNg deeper, silence still
has tunes & switching off the light,
i hum, quietly– craCKing
under weight & know,

HiM, in every whisper
on my tongue, spilled from narrows to overFlow
and–

“don’t stop playing” she shouts from the first floor
as i close the lid “i won’t” i smile,
“i won’t”
& then just sit,

hands loosely
on my thighs,
(he called me snowqueen in the kitchen yesterday
because of ice pearls, burying their cool cheeks
in my hair), & every open chord

—-falls–

———–easy–

curls between the space,
my flattened breath, and i–
lean care/FuLL
toward him

.

and yeah..it’s OpenLinkNight again where we get really crazy about poetry… no theme…no specific form, just write something and join the fun…we open the doors at 3pm EST…

75 responses to “if you can find me–

  1. in the middle of
    an invasion, snoW//FlaKes touching asphalt
    with their soft-gloved wombs

    a marvelous opening claudia,
    really appeals to my image detector.

    this alone set my PO brain ablaze!

    and the development of the narrative
    has some excellent lines of sense, space
    and charcter that make the piece televisual
    in the reading

    i’m still there, in accidentals, note lines,
    dangling fragile from the highest point
    & crash like powder into nothing
    but myself.

    placing these 2 stanzas together in this little box
    is exciting . . . they have a real chemistry in isolation.

    great write claudia 🙂

  2. smiles…lovely write claudia….the opening stanza just grips…the invasion, snowflakes, wombs combo…the still here in accidentals..think might be my fav part….the intensity of you worship as well…smiles..and the dont stop playing is placed perfectly for me as well…have a wonderful day today…

    • “in the middle of
      an invasion, snoW//FlaKes touching asphalt
      with their soft-gloved wombs,
      i sit
      at the piano,
      shadeS Of Solace
      in bruised spots, between keys
      & melodies…”

      I like your poem and [your beautiful and über poetic words in…if you can find me– ]

      Because the poem flowed, and yet, is subtle…
      …a moment shared between you, your daughter, your piano [and what a über image Of your piano too!] and you let your readers “peek” in… too!
      Thanks, for sharing!
      deedee 🙂

  3. You will be dangling fragile and crashing into space in between music sheets and curling into space ~

    I feel the same way whenever my daughter plays the piano…for her its routine practice; for me, its a lovely time ~

  4. Claudia, I can hear the music! How lucky your daughter is to go to sleep as you play the piano…her own concert to carry her into her dreams. Love so many of the wordings: “shades of solace,” “HiM in every whisper,” etc. And then there is the wonderful snowqueen image. A very nice poem from you today!

  5. What a way to spend an invasion–providing music for a daughter’s soul from your own love and loving! This kernel is safe from invasion no matter how much you beam your loving out into the world. Peace is your valentine with him and her for us..

    BTW: I wrote for your last challenge but missed the deadline, so I will post the poem today in open mic time.

  6. along the edge,
    daughter in bed already
    “i’ll play quietly” i say
    she nods “it’s ok mom”
    & i realize,

    It’s such a solemn moment! The music is slowly flowing and she is all relaxed. It’s such a nice feeling, Claudia!

    Hank

  7. …you can’t really resist a piano call Claudia… its a thing of beauty that does not deserve a ‘no’ … it stops the moving… it silences the noise… it lets you forget time…the people around… the place… for everything goes & becomes magical… at least your daughter can sleep in touch of how everything can be almost like heaven… really beautiful Claudia…

  8. Of COURSE I identify with the music references. Scintillating experiences you have well-shared with us here. I loved the ending as well as beginning in which you write
    ” and i–
    lean care/FuLL
    toward him.”

    I wanted to challenge with CAREFULLY! Then I realized “care/FULL” has no relationdhip with “carefully”, You are marvelous writer and fantasy-mixed-with-real…PEEP!

    –Well, mostly “REAL!” smiles!

  9. The initial spikiness of piano playing, the closing of the lid, refusing to smile – great! and then the melting – ambitious and very well achieved I think, Claudia.

    Regards Scott scotthastie.com

  10. Amazing how many musical references and imagery are in today’s links. You’re making my fingers itch. I haven’t played in so long. Thinking of your daughter? I always think of my mother at some point in my playing. Those lessons were all her doing, of course. Enjoyed the poem very much.

  11. love the music, notes that ride us, carry us through this delightful & increasingly romantic poem

    “snoW//FlaKes touching asphalt
    with their soft-gloved wombs,”

    – my kind of invasion 😉 (we don’t get much of that here)

  12. “…i’m still there, in accidentals, note lines,
    dangling fragile from the highest point
    & crash like powder into nothing
    but myself,”

    Loving the mood that you set, the visuals you paint.You pull us in to be one in this moment–the outside chill, snow falling in the dark, the stillness in the house broken by the notes you play, the love for both child and man. Just lovely, Claudia.

  13. What a lovely image of you at the piano. My daughter plays, and I remember many nights when she would play me to sleep. The whole thing is so inviting, and I think your final lines are just lovely.

  14. This is so poignant and lovely and filled with love, in so many different forms. I love the way it centers around the piano, the weather outside, the love inside.

  15. I see a lovely semi-private moment here…making music, your daughter lulled by your touch, your poetic piano, your love…A gem, here, Claudia…intimate and lovely!

  16. I do believe that I know of no other poet who can evoke within me such feeling … placing me in the poem enabling me to feel it all. I so love your words Claudia.

  17. Really lovel images. I kept thinking of the last two poems of yours that I commented on and how the three of them seem to form a story about ou and your daughters.

  18. A love poem like other. So soothing and genuine. There’s so much here, but mostly a beautiful picture of love. I so much enjoyed reading this Claudia.

  19. Beautiful. Just beautiful. Makes me long for the rough-edged keys of my own instrument. It’s been too long since I’ve had the pleasure of those keys or your words, Claudia. I should learn not to deny myself.

Leave a Reply

