flow or lack thereof. & things that don’t exist

i work in a company
where flow is measured,
blow-by-blow, tiny drops as well as streams
you wouldn’t dream of, 0.005% accuracy,
(yep, you read right)
it’s physics, hard work &
clever engineering,

i sit on the couch
(in my pajama), nothing
here to measure,
pressure of
yaw bones tight against skin,
a deserted urban scene
“what city is it?” husband

(controller in hand) is fighting with a dubious
looking man “why are you
fighting with him?”
“i’m not sure, he attacked me”
“and the city?” “non-existant”

“oh” i say,

“you recognize a city
by her bridges– can you
zoom in?”

“no, i’m busy”

flowers on my pants, (stripes would work
much better as creative pipelines),
i can’t concentrate, even in silence, just
the soft clacKclAck, plastic
against plastic & “what’s that?”
“a shifting of the DVD– it reads–”

“oh”

when it comes to flow,
there always is a source, a certain
pressure (or inclination maybe?)

& a channel (so
that it doesn’t fall apart) it’s no
big mystery, & mostly we don’t
need a certified device
to measure–

.

Anna is behind the dVerse bar today with an excellent article about creativity, its flow or lack thereof, creative u-turns or creativity sources. she will provide some helpful tools to get the juices flowing as well.. so.. hope to see you at 3pm EST when she opens the pub doors..

55 responses to “flow or lack thereof. & things that don’t exist

  1. “(stripes would work
    much better as creative pipelines)”

    – this is always the case.

    I love the way this poem seems to have been disassembled and reassembled.

  2. Now, it took me some time as Im not very in tune with games. But the subtlety is very cool here and the effort for accuracy and flow in the midst of all the imaginary worlds and fight. You, the speaker, the practical one here with your zoom in on bridges. A very interesting little portrait of modern life. K

  3. smiles…so what game was he playing? i like that you can know a place by their bridges…and there is always a source to the flow….you set us up with your work and then let us see the flow of your eve before circling back…we dont need a device to measure it…because flow happens, its all what we do with it or in it…smiles.

  4. I love how you can sit with just a bit of clack clack and come up with miniscule flow measurements and atoms and bridge landmarks and creativity flowing through striped pajamas rather than flowered ones.
    I dare you to sit through a scene of your life and not scribble in your head a poem. Smiles and Cheers!

  5. I like how your poem gives glimpses of your work, your life. And the flow can get interrupted sometimes. We get confused – what city is it? But hopefully we get back the flow and life goes on. Also made me think of the flow of your creativity, it’s source and the fact that it is limitless.

  6. We do what we do … and if we are good at it … and it feeds us and our family … so do we feed on the less educated and more unfortunate? … I guess we do in a way, eh?

  7. I’ve always appreciated your casual style, your ability to take the quotidian facts of existence and weave them into something magical.

  8. Anyone who says that console games are for kids are sadly mistaken. There is a growing Grandad Army of Gamers who can show the young guns a trick or two 😉
    OK, so it only exists in my imagination, a grandad can dream can’t he?
    I love this, its so quirky and mirrors my own house where the clack clack of the controller drives my partner nuts.

  9. Your poetry catches us like lovely words in the stream, the flow of creativity that just emanates from your mind, from Europe, from bridges everywhere. I chose not to take up gaming because I knew it would hook me hard, being an overly compulsive type-A fellow, and I have too many interests already; not enough hours in any day to stay mid-stream.

  10. like the idea of knowing a city by her bridges… wish i could do that

    flow… always a source and a channel…. yes. 🙂 nice observation.

  11. Very nice work Claudia. I really like the structure of it.

    “when it comes to flow,
    there always is a source, a certain
    pressure (or inclination maybe?)

    & a channel (so
    that it doesn’t fall apart) it’s no
    big mystery, & mostly we don’t
    need a certified device
    to measure–”

    So true.

  12. Recognizing a city by her bridges….
    That made me smile for I have a friend who can easily do that.

    I love this over all, especially the PJs. 🙂

  13. I love where you went with the prompt. I too responded to the starts and stops, the contrasts, the different engagements with creative outlets. As a gamer and a poet this doubly appealed. Fantastic as always, your poetry is a joy to encounter.

  14. Observing a virtual battle in a non-existent city…would I suspect provide an excellent background for writing poetry…oh if you could only get additional information about whose at the other end of the combat wire….another wonderful visualization of a moment in time…loved it.

  15. Is it just me or does “place” have a very strong influence in your writing? Another very enjoyable read. I’m with Brian too in wondering about which game. 😉

  16. Claudia, you always make me want to be where you are–love that phrase about instead of flower print should be stripes better creative pipelines–clever! 🙂

  17. oh, very clever… i loved how it took a completely different turn after the first stanza – all the interruptions interrupting the flow, very nice

  18. Now, isn’t that stereotypical German, engineering and decimal points! (Just kidding.) But oh, what a great poem, and you’re right–there is always a source.

  19. The opening lines caught my attention right away ~ But its great when things flow even when you are wearing pjs with flowers ~ smiles ~

  20. I read this earlier and had to come back…why did I picture a bar code when you mentioned ‘read’ and ‘stream’ meant radio frequencies at first…but i see I wasn’t too far off…you made a moment of your morning (yawning) with hubby into a breathing poem, alive with creative turns;)

  21. flowers on my pants, (stripes would work
    much better as creative pipelines),
    i can’t concentrate, even in silence, just
    the soft clacKclAck, plastic
    against plastic & “what’s that?”

    Love that… great take on the prompt, Claudia.

  22. Love the feel of this… I have pajamas in all sorts of patterns, depending on my mood 🙂 one of the benefits of working from home… Love the interplay between you and your husband, creating in real life, real time.

  23. i loved the flow & ebb & flow again of the poem – flow is everything, & something we notice more in absence than when it’s there (well, i’m thinking of writer’s block 😉 )

  24. The creative flow can be suddenly be stilled by the slightest noise, distraction or flowered pants… 🙂 I too prefer stripes…thankfully nothing hindered the flow of this one…very nice. 🙂

  25. We alsways said you could tell a city by its water towers. Of course that has nothing to do with your piece, but I thought I would mention it 🙂
    Anyway I like ebb and flow of your cadence and delivery, your descriptions, your commentary, your invo,vment of others in your work. As always very nice to read.

  26. I appreciated your words. I could feel a kind of mental clutter caused by distraction, even in silence. You conveyed the ideas very well.

  27. For me the greatest strength of this poem – and most of your writing – is your ability to weave apparently disparate strands together to make a convincing whole. Normally the stop-start interruptions and changes of direction in this poem would throw the reader – here they add to the feel of this most enjoyable piece of autobiographical poetry.

  28. your pajamas and bridges kept me grounded in this fast moving piece. I didn’t catch the gaming aspect until I read the others’ takes, it sounds so much like being inside my own mind — all of your images could have been rotating thoughts. fun read, Claudia!

  29. I have to hand it to you because if you do that type of job and are this creative….you have the best (or not?) of both worlds. I work at a computer all day processing medical claims and doing math (which I hate doing) but it pays the bills. I would so rather read a book, draw or write to create or listen to some really good music. Oh, well, life does take its’ twists and turns, doesn’t it. 🙂

  30. interesting, we can measure so much, but our creativity doesn’t need that, flows or not along lines or flowers

    “measured,
    blow-by-blow, tiny drops as well as streams” –

    but your words, your beautifully integrated flowing words claudia, “are” felt, “blow-by-blow, tiny drops as well as streams” –

    “i can’t concentrate, even in silence” – do i know that, and yet there we are, in silence in thunder in squeaks in dribbles of thunder, yes, “always a source” – yes, always, and we don’t have to want it to be so, it just is

    interesting indeed claudia, thanks so much 😉

  31. I always love how you describe details and things and weave all of them in one piece, a story, a slice of life that takes in everything around it. 🙂