on a world that shrinks & we’re not growing with it

“i just think this is a little weird”, i say,
“no one really knows where they’re produced”
(i have my thoughts though) &
we ship them– (out of China maybe),
Germany, CH and send them to Japan, & by the way,
that’s where the little notebooks come from

with the almost-english quotes, charming
and uNEdited, you ship me some,
& i’ll spin verse, limpid, fragile wordFalls,
centerweigh the globe, lightweight, lying

on a meadow among daisies & a herd of
brindled cows (i like those best, don’t take it personal),
they never think of traveling anywhere,

as the sun goes down, i– (can you smell
the night?), tell ‘em, that in India
they’re holy, & back home,

i take my daughter’s globe,
(plug it in & it illUmiNates), the world shines
in your face like a floodlight & my colleague says
“the best time for Vietnam is after
Chinese New Year– you should backpack,

though not in the south, getting around is easy,
white sand beaches—i’m dreaming,
and leave greasy fingerprints
on the Indian Ocean, “really, i’m emotionless”, i say,
“what happens if they break? do we send ‘em
back to Germany, to China, then return– >
Germany, CH, Japan again–?”

“haha, i see, you’re So
emotionless–” i pout my lips “i am”
i say, “oh heck, i am”– and he just smiles

ok, i had a bit fun with this…smiles.. sparked by a conversation at my workplace about the way of goods in our globalized world…and if you wanna know a little more about the japanese notebooks, you should read David Allen’s last week’s OLN…linking up with dVerse OpenLinkNight where we fling poetry all across the globe without border control and shipping restrictions…see you at 3pm EST..

75 responses to “on a world that shrinks & we’re not growing with it

  1. hey Claudia

    great geo-graphics and the structure and the dialogue
    are both sparky and fresh which keeps its momentum through
    to the end . . . with some really cute angles and degrees of
    latitude –

    i had a great time in the reading 🙂

  2. “i take my daughter’s globe,
    (plug it in & it illUmiNates), the world shines
    in your face like a floodlight & my colleague says
    “the best time for Vietnam is after
    Chinese New Year– you should backpack…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Once again, through your poetic words… you have shared a moment and your feelings and [opinion] about:[on] a world that shrinks & we’re not growing with it…
    Thanks,
    deedee 🙂

  3. Ah…my dear friend you must contact the call center on the warranty to determine where to send it..which may be in the Arctic…but fear not…’your call will be answered in the order received’…just love how you poems set my mind in motion..another fine verse.

  4. Claudia, this are Brian’s words [“dang it…not first….AAARRRRGGHHHH!”]and my exact sentiment…If you check your spam-catcher… Ha!ha!

  5. Invariably it’s of Chinese origin, manufactured under licence, meant for the rest of the world, and a lot cheaper too! Nicely Claudia!

    Hank

  6. smiles…it is a small world and getting smaller every day in regard to how we get things here and there….can you smell the night….i like that….smell is evocative…the lighted globe….cool touch and a playful close…nice piece…

  7. Ha, it is a small world..globalization has pluses and minuses for sure…..so much made elsewhere! Interestingly, I used to be able to buy German souvenirs in Germany at a reasonable price. Now, not so much…LOL. I found most ‘reasonable priced’ pseudo-German souvenirs were made in China last time. I didn’t bother to buy. Why??? We have Chinese made things here. LOL. So glad I bought some GERMAN beer steins in the ‘old days.’

  8. This was fun…and I LOVE the title. I can see that globe along with fingerprints…and can but imagine the conversation that was its muse…awesome piece!

  9. Fun. I feel like I travelled the world, while it shrinks. I like the globe that illuminates, and did go and read about the Japanese notebooks. This was a treat.

  10. Very charming – and hard to be emotionless about anything having to do with globes – so crazy–something made in china coming to Germany as a guide back to Vietnam – I love the brindled cows and the light, and what DO we do when it breaks? k.

  11. A fun piece…good you gave your daughter the globe for Christmas 🙂 and I love … leave greasy fingerprints
    on the Indian Ocean 🙂

  12. I never tire of your love of travel, of poetry, of mankind, of family; nice piece, Claudia; love the line /I’ll spin verse, limpid, fragile wordfalls/ and yes, our globe shrinks daily. Our technology, internet, social networking, commerce, satellites; all play their part–but in the final analysis, the condensation is positive, for every leaf that falls in Tibet, every bullet fired in Syria, every lover’s kiss in Bremen, every dance along the Seine, every caribou castrated in Lapland, and we know about it seconds later, find ourselves more completely connected; and that could be, should be hopeful.

  13. There is so much in the world now to appreciate. Your piece made me thing of a little note, written in beautiful calligraphy, sent to a friend from some far away place.

  14. Great play and view on how goods move around the world these days. Isn’t it amazing?
    I like very much how you position this matter, in this conversation. Well written. Loved it.

  15. ANd so we have to be here and there at the same time, but hung up on a feeling of being lost amid the corporate routes, smelling the minute is our only retreat.

  16. Love the topic of this one. I’m trying to buy American but I’m quickly finding that it is close to impossible. Anyway, I love how you can express an opinion without drowning the reader in it. Nice write, Claudia.

  17. I love the “almost English notes”. So much of our stuff today comes with almost English, almost German, almost Dutch, Danish, Czech (and about 20 other languages) instructions that are probably incomprehensible to everyone.

  18. “no one really knows where they’re produced”
    (i have my thoughts though)

    this made me smirk… yes, dirty mind!
    love your poem, Claudia… you’re so skilled with words, I think you could see me anything – from little notebooks to washer and dryer (meaning: love your poetry!).

  19. Oh, man. This is the best introductory line ever. Now I can’t wait to read the rest of the poem: “‘i just think this is a little weird’, i say,”

    This is my favorite section:

    “that’s where the little notebooks come from
    with the almost-english quotes, charming
    and uNEdited, you ship me some,
    & i’ll spin verse, limpid, fragile wordFalls,
    centerweigh the globe, lightweight, lying
    on a meadow among daisies & a herd of
    brindled cows”

    It’s always a pleasure, Claudia.

  20. Oh to travel around this crazy sphere, to dream even when we see a country name printed upon a notebook or any other object…and to prepare journeys tracing the path around an illuminated globe… 🙂 Beautiful, Claudia 🙂

  21. “& i’ll spin verse, limpid, fragile wordFalls,
    centerweigh the globe, lightweight, lying

    on a meadow among daisies & a herd of
    brindled cows”
    …something so lovely about these lines… something we can all connect to as humans on this globe…now matter where our “stuff” comes from or where we are or may be going.

  22. really dug the line “can you smell the night?” I love the scent of fresh air.. and there is something about the air at night htat just takes you off somewhere.. like this poem… took me to many places, I enjoyed it very much!

  23. A wonderful marriage of fun and meaning here…this is not new with you…just a different venue…and yes, indeed, the world shrinks..yet we seem to oddly shrink rather than grow..or are we? Great write!

  24. So funny, Claudia. This past week I was in Los Angeles, looking through items at museum stores. With the exception of artisan pieces, the whole lot was made in China. I felt a little sad about that.

  25. “white sand beaches—i’m dreaming,
    and leave greasy fingerprints
    on the Indian Ocean, “really, i’m emotionless”, i say,” Such a brilliant interplay of the whimsical and the mundane with these lines as well as throughout the entire piece. And yes, I can smell the night. Love this.

  26. Oh I’ve missed your light in my life as I’ve taken a few little holiday travels to nowhere but somewhere on a ship in the sea, my grandchildren with me. What fun!

    Glad to be back writing and reading again, but it may be spotty for a while. Still in the process of moving back to the Dallas area and trying to sell the beach house.

  27. but no matter where they are produced, someone is selling it on ebay, if comes from China, Japan or Germany, you have to ask if it REALLY came from there

    { just beware, they don’t really protect the buyer.}

  28. the world is such an amazing place now with all of the connections from commerce to the internet to poetry to instant communication and on and on. i love when you write a poem with the word play and visual elements! when are you going to do another video reading?

  29. …i can always smell the night…. painfully sweeter at its darkest hour…. i like a lot the references to some asian places Claudia…. i wonder if you’ve ever been to any countries in asia? smiles…

  30. Most electronics seem to be assembled in China nowadays. I don’t think things go through Japan much anymore but I don’t know. Agree with the idea about backpacking in Vietnam after Chinese New Year, it’s a beautiful country. Reading this is indeed like overhearing a conversation in the office. Much fun.

  31. Hey C. I had to scroll the nob on my mouse 17 times to get to this comment box and now I forgot why I am here. Probably to say that I loved your poem and its sensory perception or odd angles of thought or something. Cheers!

  32. capturing the zeitgeist in this one… really is of the times… the new economic world order is happening how… America is sinking very fast and my children will probably be learning Simplified Chinese at school if they want a chance at good jobs

  33. Huh, Japanese notebooks. I thought EVERYthing was made in China. 🙂

    leaving greasy fingerprints on the Indian Ocean is a nice one!

    I like the guernsys. none taken! Offense that is. 🙂

    xoxo

  34. The more I read your work the more my imagination is transported. I keep seeing a visual continuity of my art spinning along with the twIST of prOSE you so elegantly weave. What a lovely journey … (still moving) You are inspiring me to write and take CHANCES (lots of small chances too) and not know, where I am going, and what I am doing. (not knowing what I am doing is probably the best I could hope for). So I thank you for this moment of clarity (non~clarity ~ which is good). I think I just wrote a poem. Post it???