on first steps & why peace smells of pineapple somedays

“kiss your wife” i pencil
on the first of january,
into your new almanac
(as a reminder,
after senseless battles bruised
us hard),

with your warmth,
still on my lips, put on running shoes,
& on the way, caught reckless
in the rain’s wet arms,

wink at earthworms, dogs,
compose loosely knitted verse, &
(cause i brought
no notebook), hang ’em

on branches, billboards,
rail tracks– put some on a swing,
others, a surf
in puddles on the roadside,
shouting breathless, “i’ll collect you
on the way back–“

home again,
still steamy from the shower,
(pineapple ‘n mint),
search for your calendar & chart
(in the 11pm column,
right beneath the last kiss),
–check,
what she’s wearing–

& below, in black ink,
draw the peace sign

.

make sure to bring a white flag to the dVerse pub as Mary has us writing peace poems today. pub doors open at 3pm EST…in case i’m late, don’t search for me, i’ may be busy celebrating and eating birthday cake..see you later..smiles

64 responses to “on first steps & why peace smells of pineapple somedays

    • “with your warmth,
      still on my lips, put on running shoes,
      & on the way, caught reckless
      in the rain’s wet arms,

      wink at earthworms, dogs,
      compose loosely knitted verse, &
      (cause i brought
      no notebook), hang ‘em…”

      I love the way you, express [in your poem…on first steps & why peace smells of pineapple some-days] holding on to words… to place in [your] poetic poems…Thanks, for sharing, your poetic words…and if today is your Birthday… Well, Happy Birthday! to you, here wishing that you have a good one too!
      deedee 🙂

  1. Yes!!! Kissing is one of the first things that can go in the rush of the day… needs to be more of it! Enjoyed this greatly Claudia.

  2. Really enjoyed this poem, Claudia. What a clever idea to hang verses in various places as you run and to collect them as you go home. And love the smell of peace. Happy birthday to you. Enjoy your celebration. Birthday parties are not only for kids. Smiles.

  3. Happy Birthday, Claudia. I hope you have an amazing day from beginning to end. 🙂 love the poem…. Hanging the verses and collecting them on the way home… and the Carless battles leave us bruised so yes let peace live on. 🙂

  4. Very sweet poem – and Happy Birthday! I too especially like the hanging of verses on branches – I don’t always bring a notebook –

    Also I like the confidence of the peacemaker a the day goes on – moving from penciling in to black ink. k.

  5. smiles…i love the putting kiss your wife….little reminders…and we have been through the trials as well…this gets really magical when you are out ont he ride and finding poems & winking at earthworms…and that playfulness in the end on paying attention to what she is wearing will go a long way as well…smiles.

    happy birthday friend.

  6. ..as always..your wordings are elegant… writing these and give a smooth, soft feel… Funny how couples fight for mostly non sensible things..but maybe this is what makes the relationship stronger and sweeter… enjoy the celebration… And pass me some cakes pls… Hihi… Smiles…

  7. I know a guy who did that: left poems on tree branches, stones, bridges, all sorts. You have reawakened an old and precious memory with a fine poem, so double thanks.

  8. Happy Birthday, Claudia. I really like this:

    wink at earthworms, dogs,
    compose loosely knitted verse, &
    (cause i brought
    no notebook), hang ‘em

    on branches, billboards,
    rail tracks– put some on a swing,
    others, a surf
    in puddles on the roadside,
    shouting breathless, “i’ll collect you
    on the way back–“

  9. Happy birthday! I can see that peace to you is letting your mind run, while the world feeds your imagination. I like this poem. It made me happy to read your playful, fantasy thoughts. Have a great week end. Eat lots of cake.

  10. I loved every word, especially the image of you hanging your poems in trees and such. Great framing, beginning and ending with the calendar/kisses. love the title, the scented shower, and the playfulness. Such a treat to read you, as always.

  11. Happy Birthday Claudia! Delicious piece. I particularly love this part:

    …on branches, billboards,
    rail tracks– put some on a swing,
    others, a surf
    in puddles on the roadside,
    shouting breathless, “i’ll collect you
    on the way back–“

    Beautiful!

  12. What a wonderful poem Claudia!… I can feel it’s energy whoosh past me while I’m reading….

    How refreshing like the peppermint you describe!

    A pure delight!

    … many happy (belated) returns of the day to you, also!

  13. Oh, this made me smile and smile, every word, every line. i can see you out there, running, dropping/draping words as you go… beautiful

  14. First, Happy Birthday and cheers for another year ~

    I like the idea of penciling reminders, running and going back home, with a image of a peace sign ~ I think its important to schedule these things in between the shuffle and bustle of life ~

    Have a lovely day ~

  15. You poem leads me to think about how we have to schedule in time for peace and quiet in order to have it and it feels rushed when its time. I like your poem- love your writing style. Very- real. 🙂

  16. I love the weaving of calendar memos, poems in trees, running, showering with the peace your narrator finds and makes. I did a Perf Art piece as Orlando hanging his love poems . . . so long ago . . . It sounds like a very good habit to continue in a marriage whether you use real trees and calendars or internet ones.

  17. We must alert the media, for you are having a joyous well-deserved birthday! Your poem makes me fell all squiggly & warm; loved it.

  18. Kisses, peace and running in the arms of the rain… All worthy of a beautiful 2013! I ran myself today in a frigid city that left me cold! Happy Birthday to you or the one you celebrate!

  19. I really like the idea of collecting the words on the way back which are hung in what you see because you have no notebook. I can relate because when words enter my head if I cannot write them down I lose them and oh so sad because I cannot rephrase them the way they seemed so perfect the first time. Peace in relationships so important and so true the reflection here of angst and then the making up with a kiss and peace between you. Lovely.

  20. interesting peace. I like it. Awesome job with the parenthesis again, but you always do a great job with them. you have a real knack for knowing when to use them and what to put inside them. Great write. Thanks

  21. I love how kiss your wife was penciled in… we must always make time for those very important moments.

  22. This was sweet, fun, poignant and just fantastic…love it through and through. And have a wonderful birthday, Claudia…and make-up nicely with hubby…

  23. Do you remember to collect your loosely knitted verse on your way back home? I know I would forget, adn teh angst that woud cause is indescribable. And I still haven’t got into the habit of carrying a notebook!

    Lovely take on the prompt Claudia – thought provoking as always. And I hope you had a good birthday, whether it was yours or another member of your family.

  24. Oh, to have been the runner right behind you collecting your beautiful words as you go. Buuuuut….since I’m not a runner, I count myself blessed to find them all right here. = ) You decorate our world so beautifully, Claudia. Happy New Year, Birthday blessings to you.

  25. Pingback: Leibster Award | gardenlilie

  26. Hope you remembered to collect your loosely knitted verse – more gems for me to read.

    Hope you had an excellent birthday too.

    Anna :o]

  27. Aha little love notes! Remember to kiss wife Check what she’s wearing.Birthday. Buy pearl earrings. Cook her delicious meal with fresh mayonnaise even thought it takes three hours to make with lots of swearing:) Nice! Glad someone else still battles:)

  28. love, love this…
    hang ‘em
    on branches, billboards,
    rail tracks– put some on a swing,
    others, a surf
    in puddles on the roadside,
    shouting breathless, “i’ll collect you
    on the way back–“

  29. belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Claudia! ♥

    this is a perfect example of the way only you can put passion into a poem as though an afterthought, but felt throughout. LOVE it!

  30. Claudia, don’t know if its your birthday cake you’ll be eating, if so, happy belated birthday!! This poem is so lush! Sensual, love the feel of rain, steam, warm lips and the visual of you hanging poetic fragments on trees etc. So wonderful!! 🙂