in a different light

“so, what is it–?”
“i’ve no idea, too complicated–“,

feather blanket wrapped around us
like a subway tunnel, we draw
pictures on each others back,

cat, car, squirrel, spooky gargoyle,
gazing head first from a roof edge with
w i D e   g a P i n g   cleft,
“i need more space”, i say
(for all the spider legs)

“that’s an A– what does it mean?”
“it’s the first letter in the alphabet”,
“ha, you’re a nut–” i laugh,
curl up against his
warm hand, resting on my back,

& think of Dali, Monet,
what we paint & pen down
in a moment’s mood, then

move on, leaving trails & traces,
remnants of ourselves on
canvas, naked, skin, so surreal

sometimes, i yawn, track time
in rumpled bed clothes folds,
through half shut eyes,

watch the pale glow of the bedlamp
shine, dizzy, on a dustmice group,
that with pink tutus (i swear–) &
fancy feather headdress, ballet dreamily
to the music of the night

.

it’s OpenLinkNight again at dVerse where we’re getting all poetic, no theme, just party, if you like, write a poem and join the fun when Joe Hesch opens the doors at 3pm EST 

66 responses to “in a different light

  1. First thought: Must be writing on each other’s back–one-at-a-time?–HAHAHA! Of COURSE not!

    Girl, your mind is so far beyond all the others (we, this IS the first one I read this late night).–grin!

    I LOVE your twists, turns, depicts, compares, identifications with every artIST under the sun.

    I suppose “Everything ART under the sun”, after all?
    Sooo glad I did not hop off to bed…yet!
    Hugs, Claudia!

  2. “so, what is it–?”
    “i’ve no idea, too complicated–”,

    feather blanket wrapped around us
    like a subway tunnel, we draw
    pictures on each others back…”

    Hi! Claudia…Once again, Thanks, for sharing a moment…through your beautiful poetic words in your poem…in a different light.

  3. ‘Glotzen is nicht sehen’, Brecht.

    Sometimes I just look at your poetry and forget to read it. It is – in my opinion – some of the best poetry on the planet. This one is particularly beautiful.

    M

  4. Claudia, great. Absolutely love how you brought Dali, Monet and where you went for there. Remnants of ourselves. Very cool. Thanks

  5. smiles…there is a fun intimacy to this….the laying in bed drawing pictures on each others back and guessing what it is…made me smile…and love the turn when you go to dali….you’ve your own little nutcracker dream going on as well there in the end…smiles.

  6. Quite simply, how do you do it?

    Secondly, why is that so often all the other comments before mine say what I would have said??

    A lot of us would appear to greatly admire and appreciate your work,

    as always,
    thanks
    Kevin

  7. So nice, the moments of shared intimacy that awaken the child as well as the adult in us. I love the last stanza. It’s so you to see a magical ballet in the light.

  8. “& think of Dali, Monet,
    what we paint & pen down
    in a moment’s mood, then

    move on, leaving trails & traces,
    remnants of ourselves on
    canvas, naked, skin, so surreal”

    and that’s how a legacy is made. I loved the quiet intimacy of this. Beautiful! Happy Christmas!

  9. This means to me, or reminds of listening to music at night and being taken back to childhood, and comparing point of views and definitions of art diferences as we age. Or something like that, lol. Anyway, smooth as always, and sorry if I read it wrong, but that;s how I’m wired today:)

  10. I had forgotten about this game! What a dreamy trip back! I especially loved “what we paint & pen down in a moment’s mood, then move on, leaving trails & traces, remnants of ourselves on” and “the pale glow of the bedlamp
    shine, dizzy, on a dustmice group”! So lovely!

  11. This is glorious! Lovely descriptors, dream-like and intense. Particularly loved:

    “feather blanket wrapped around us
    like a subway tunnel, we draw
    pictures on each others back,”

  12. You are a wonderful romantic, I love that about your poetry. And now, ever after, I will seek pink tutus in the dust mice… Smiles. Just lovely.

  13. “we draw
    pictures on each others back”

    How awesome, Claudia! I love that you can sit down to write and turn absolutely any activity into a poem. That is the mark of a true poet.

  14. an intimate exchange and a touching scene so gentle and close:
    but that final stanza really lit up the whole piece and
    sparkled with some awesome fizz and jazz 🙂

  15. What fun and delight, Claudia…dustmice…pink tutus, painting on each othearr’s back..I can hear the giggling, the lovely intimacy…lovely!

  16. Unfortunately I cannot seem to form words that will explain exactly what this piece does. That is to say, it does something, like pulls up memories of innocent times, when the world outside was nothing but a mist waiting to be coalesced into something meaningful while the night is spent in good company, playing and dreaming.

    Childhood. I don’t know if this poem has anything to do with that, but that’s exactly where I went.

    This is a very wonderful poem.

  17. “move on, leaving trails & traces,
    remnants of ourselves on
    canvas, naked, skin, so surreal”
    🙂 Yes, this is exactly how it is 🙂 I love the beutiful images in this, Claudia 🙂 “a dustmice group,
    that with pink tutus (i swear–) ” Oh i can swear about that too! 🙂 When you close your eyes and dream away, wonderful things come to you 🙂 Well done 🙂

  18. “tutus” — ah, that is what they are called!
    My kids and I write on each other all the time — great play. But my wife is too ticklish! Fun images here. Thanx

  19. I remember the times I’ve played this game, too, the intimate pictograms of couples before there were iPhones and DrawMe, where the screen is each other’s skin. Wonderful memories, wonderfully evoked.

  20. I f’n LOVE this piece — the pace, the dialog, the images, etc. My favourite part:
    “feather blanket wrapped around us
    like a subway tunnel, we draw
    pictures on each others back,”

    Awesome!

  21. This sensual fantasy, this hypnogogic happening, made me smile until it hurt; real or imagined, it puts us into the warmth, the cuddle of your world, where the child remains strong in you and your partner, where dust particles dashing about in the draft can become phantasmagoric creations; really liked this.

  22. I so love being wrapped in big blankets with loved ones and mice in pink tutus, I see them all the time 🙂 A wonderful, delightful poem!