after dinner in a kitchen/somewhere on the globe

the world, powdered white
wears a thin crust sugar coat,
melting in its core already,

i stand by the window &
the dishes tell a story as i wipe
their greasy face,

they wanna talk, that’s it
i think, like most of us,
happy for someone who listens,
as they babble on
with foamy lips—

on the table in the living room,
in an avalanche of papers,
math equations, language studies,
hubs checks finance sheets,
3notebooks hum in unison,

“hey mom,
the guy from Sydney university wrote back,
can we go through it together— ?”
“sure”

“did you change your visa settings— ?”
“nah— will check them in a bit”

a slurpy groan escapes the pink mug’s throat,
Señor full moon hides,
a cheeky child behind thick clouds &

i may sleep with you tonight,
careful of the wound still fresh
from the surgery a week back, though
you’re good you say, as long
as i move slow,

“hmm, close your eyes” the plate
blinks back & i wipe gravy leavings
from her cheeks,

“who you’re talking to— ?”

“ya know,
the world– is full of mysteries” i say,
then pull the peg

.

and yes…at dVerse, it’s OpenLinkNight again where we dish up poetry and sometimes end up dancing on the tables…smiles..Tash’s gonna open the doors at 3pm EST.. so you may wanna write a poem and join the fun…? see you there

71 responses to “after dinner in a kitchen/somewhere on the globe

  1. I am dishwasher at our house (all my life!) and the dishes NEVER talked to me…that is why I liked the job. Now I’ll be staring the conversatins! But birds and cats, dogs, etc, talk with me, and we understand each other ver well.

    Claudia you are pretty crazy…I mean PRETTY AND CRAZY!
    Love and Peace, and JOY. Always.
    Steve

  2. such a cool piece. Has a real abstract meets reality vibe to it. Love the scene, characters and the way you put it all together, never losing the uniqueness once the meat of the piece got going. Great read. Thanks

  3. there is a nice bit of magic in talking ot the dishes…love your personification of them…and it make the ordinary of those conversations and ponderings and chores al the more special…everyone i think does want someone to listen & th world is full of mysteries…both nice truths….smiles.

  4. Enjoyed your reflections here, Claudia. So much poetry in an average kind of day…. I love the visual of the dishes babbling on with foamy lips. Smiles! And for sure the world is full of mysteries…..and fairy tales….and poets!

  5. I can talk to the animals but not the dishes, doesn’t stop me from blabbering on though, I’ve course since I’m crazy talking to myself is okay! haha

  6. No surprise to me that the dishes speak to you. I think you listen to everything in your world. It’s wonderful that you can create something beautiful out of an ordinary evening. But magic is hidden everywhere and you have such a knack for finding it.

  7. Claudia…you take the everyday and weave into a magical experience. There’s always poetry’s for leftovers…and I do hope the healing’s going well! 😉

  8. Pull the peg? Plug?

    I like the everyday-doings that permeate the narrative and give us something to grab hold of. We can all relate to these. The conversational tone, the dialogue, the household stuff. It’s all poetic, paradoxically, and in reach, which is what makes you a good poet :))

  9. You turned the hum drum of ordinary every day into poetry and, so artfully too. Love all of the imagery in this. Wish I saw poetry in washing dishes…lol
    Glad hubby is well on the mend now too 🙂

  10. i stand by the window &
    the dishes tell a story as i wipe
    their greasy face,

    they wanna talk, that’s it
    i think, like most of us,
    happy for someone who listens,
    as they babble on
    with foamy lips…….I love the dishes telling a story and so true we all want to be heard and seen. 🙂 This is brilliant. I feel like I was right there. ….also I am happy your husband is better. 🙂

  11. I hated that job as a child, but as I’ve grown older I like that “washing up” bit; although, must say as much as I have talked, cajoled and scolded them (particularly the pots and pans), none have ever talked back. Ha! Loved this!!

  12. I smiled and smiled all the way though this. Magic. This is life, all the best parts of it.

    And the title would be just perfect for a Jim Jarmusch movie!

  13. Dinner time is an important bonding time in my house. My little family sits around the table to eat as we talk about our day. The talk usually extends into kitchen cleanup… and I’m grateful for every word they are willing to share.

  14. Mom or Dad always had us doing the dishes. Can’t say my conversations would have been the same, but I sure love the atmosphere of family you create with mom doing dishes, pondering, planning, opining, the inerplay with the others. Excellente job. I like to read normal in a life.

  15. I enjoy this from the perspective of someone who enjoys a great deal of time alone right now, the feel of the energy in this…all the things happening around this commune of love, its lovely to mesh with in your words. Send love and peace ~ Rose

  16. Other poets’ comments ring truth, praise, accolades; but not nearly enough. You have the poet’s soul; no place is safe from your poetry. I am eager to read your bathroom lyrics, the shower songs, the closet hymnals. The dishes were pure Disney, hearing Angela Lansbury as tea cup in HUNCHBACK, but the message, the family, the hope, the sweetness was all you; thanks for sharing.

  17. hmm…such an ordinary task it would seem, but you make washing dishes sound quite intriguing. I love the picture the opening stanza springs forth and the idea of the childish moon hiding behind the clouds.

  18. I love how fantasy and reality were interwoven in this piece. Next time I was the dishes, I will have to pay more attention to them. 🙂

  19. This is my favorite stanza:

    “they wanna talk, that’s it
    i think, like most of us,
    happy for someone who listens,
    as they babble on
    with foamy lips”

    Love the peg-pulling at the end. Nice. 🙂

  20. Can’t wait to do the dishes again…NOT! Who woulda thunk? Absolute magic and fun, Claudia! :))

  21. “they wanna talk, that’s it
    i think, like most of us,
    happy for someone who listens,
    as they babble on
    with foamy lips—”

    If I were a dish, I would want to be on your table and in your sink. As I am a person, I am glad to read your poetry instead. Happy, Happy! Thank you!
    (The description of the table here is similar to one in my poem at the pub!)

  22. ..i like the notion of the dishes telling stories… so relatable as i have often assigned to wash the dishes every after dinner i never get tired of looking at ’em, listenin’ to what they have to tell..thanks for an enjoyable read..

    good day!

  23. Love the many stories bubbling from this domestic setting… you always give a very real sense of lives lived.. interrupted and then the narrative will go on when we’re not looking.

  24. Everything is vibrant with life in this, Claudia. Truly the eye of a poet can make an ordinary moment in the kitchen with family nearby into a surreal fantasy. This is one of those poems that makes me say “I wish I’d written that!”

  25. I don’t feel quite as crazy anymore. I name objects in my home and discuss issues with them at times (not talking to myself, no no no). I suppose it is thinking out loud and not a sign of insanity beyond the norm.

    Wonderful conversation to overhear. *hug*

  26. Nice conversation going on here.
    Life is going on.
    I like the images protrubing –
    the acquiescent dishes, the full moon hiding (that cheeky child!), and the sensual ‘i may sleep with you tonight,’
    ….and the plate blinks back…
    Lovey….you’ve enlivened a typical scenario.
    Good piece, Claudia.

  27. I Always like reading your work, you seem to take us where ever your at or wants to be with your detailed and magical writing

  28. Like the interspersion of reality and fantasy–also like your opening description of an early snow:
    “the world, powdered white
    wears a thin crust sugar coat,
    melting in its core already,”

  29. ( my apologies, between being sick – first time in nearly two years, and losing internet connection, i’ve been unable to to resp to the good people who visited my site for OLN – feeling better, and working w/a good connection 😉 )

    so tender the movements in this, thank you claudia 😉

    happy for someone who listens,
    as they babble on
    with foamy lips—

  30. “after dinner in a kitchen/somewhere on the globe…”

    “i stand by the window &
    the dishes tell a story as i wipe
    their greasy face…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Through your very poetic words…you have used your brush to paint an everyday moment in your life with your family.

    “hmm, close your eyes” the plate
    blinks back & i wipe gravy leavings
    from her cheeks

    “who you’re talking to— ?”

    Thanks,
    deedee 🙂