StaGes&AiSles

you can be never sure
about the lanes you walk,

it’s the way you fall, maybe,
(landing on your feet or not
that makes the difference,

he sits

in an electronic wheel chair,
brittle, upright, (a bit shaky), cap
pulled in his face, soldier-talks
(withOutTakingTimeToBreathe) to a
lady in a blue spaghetti strap shirt,
tattoos on her neck,
lips thin lined,

neutral neon light–

i hide
behind books, look through panes,
too smeared to see

how the dice roll
with a star/striped flag in hand (still
swaying) on

light-metallic shining wheels
up and down the Target aisles,
stuck between baby carrots,
oatmeal & fake leopard pattern shoes,

Alice listens, without listening,
oneEye fixed

on the exit, tightening for the jump
that takes us back out of the scene,
onto the ground

where RedGlowing californian sun lips
touch concrete parking lot (both,
fierce&— OhSoPlayful),
leaving buRning imprints–
on our deep-cooled skin

.

Mary will tend the poetics bar today and she has different possibilities for us… i chose Shakespeare’s “all the world’s a stage and we’re merely players…” and my stage was my very first visit to Target…

will be in L.A. today…so will show up for poetics a little later… the dVerse doors open at 3pm EST…

46 responses to “StaGes&AiSles

  1. We are backstage at Target – a funny set of circumstances – love all the lips here – thin and/or red – on concrete or in aisles – mouthing lines. Very vivid scene. You know, I’m not sure I’ve been to a Target – maybe once?I don’t know if they have in NYC. k.

  2. Target definitely is a fine stage with interesting characters for sure. You captured some of them, as well as their props, very well in this poem. Hope you wil enjoy LA and its ‘characters’ as well, Claudia.

  3. We don’t have Target (or Wal-Mart) in the UK, but any shop where you can buy vegetables at the same time as fake leopard print shoes sounds like somewhere I need to visit… Very cool poem.

  4. Target has reached Canada and is ready to do battle with Walmart 🙂

    I specially like the last stanza…the weather there must be gorgeous…enjoy your day ~

  5. smiles…i love people watching…and the guy int he wheelchair talking with the girl with tattoos an spaghetti straps….crossing generations, i think we need more of that…there is much we can learn you know….your cali trip is reaping some nice poetry….enjoy that sun as well…a little cold here today…

  6. “you can be never sure
    about the lanes you walk,

    it’s the way you fall, maybe,
    (landing on your feet or not
    that makes the difference…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    I like the way, that you have captured so perfectly, [through your poetic words]
    “light-metallic shining wheels
    up and down the Target aisles,
    stuck between baby carrots,
    oatmeal & fake leopard pattern shoes,

    Alice listens, without listening,
    oneEye fixed

    on the exit, tightening for the jump
    that takes us back out of the scene,
    onto the ground…”

    your first venture into a Target store…Tks, for sharing the photograph(s)…too!
    deedee 🙂

  7. You made me think of some of the encounters I’ve had at Target… Moms cussing at their children making me white knuckle my cart, my girlfriend criticized for her tattoos by the small minded pharmacist, another friend’s daughter painting the slick vinyl floor with her blood. But you thought to write about it. Bravo.

  8. Good write Claudia. YOur still in Cali, I bet you have a lot to people watch there. I had my own flash back as i read this.

  9. you have such a gift for writing about what you observe! especially LOVE the last stanza! hope you’re having a wonderful trip!

  10. Interesting intro with realization depending on how you catch yourself after the fall. And I like following that theme later on with the jump, “onto the ground”. Wild what the California sun can do, hope you enjoy your time this way.

  11. I don’t know what per cent of people shop at Target..it can be a circus like a lot of other shopping places….but I’ll bet most of them know how to land on their feet ;_)
    Hope you have a safe trip home..

  12. Didn’t realise what a Target is until I read the comments. Then it dawned – a bit slow this morning… why do I say this morning? Anyway, second reading all became crystal. Great write – and thanks for educating me a little more.

  13. Target and WalMart! Time is the essence. If you have the time it’s more of a one- stop thing. The California sun is wonderful especially in LA’s many attractions and not forgetting Anaheim! Enjoy yourself Claudia and we’ll tag along!

    Hank

  14. The scene of humanity passing by. You gave us an ideal perspective. All these people, all the time, doing what people do. We watch. And wonder. And make poems and stories in an effort to understand. We all do it. Even those who never write them down as eloquently as you, Claudia.

  15. I like the image as scene from behind the bookcase–is it truly present, or written in a scene somewhere like here. We are all Alice through a looking glass, if not down a rabbit hole.

  16. Loving your trip to CA. Makes me a bit longing for the sun, of course, but I will hopefully take a trip this next year…just ’round the corner… to visit. I have posted something I would like your opinion on? I love the way your writing flows and of course, everyone has their own style, but like the flow of yours (I get stuck sometimes, it seems) and how you make the letters a little different for emphasis so am trying that (hope you don’t mind). Anyway if you have time.
    http://reneejustturtleflight.com/2012/10/21/the-market/

  17. I really enjoyed this. Nothing like a discount store for some interesting characters! My sister and I used to tell stories about the people we would observe in the shopping mall when we were teens.

  18. Well, I guess if you want to experience the US, Target is a good place to do it. Love how you infuse a little wisdom in your glimpses of life (we all fall at some point.) Hope you’re having fun.

  19. Ah, Target–light shining wheels, baby carrots and fake leopard print–love your juxtapositions! And it all does depend on the lane we pick…enjoyed this 🙂