SomeWhere@theEndOfTheLine

when talking about fear,
Bruce Willis may not be
the man to start with,

yet,

you know the scene in
“Die Hard”, where he pulls glass shards
from his feet, blood pouring
down the drain, mobile on his ear,

talking
to the black police man
about things he L(ocke)D

&

let’s be honest,
fighting fear is never sexy,
more a desperate trying to find hold
in crevices & rock holes
while our knees get ripped &
we, curling small & wincing on
the bottom of AfterTheFall,

water trickles–

in slow motion
from an open tap &
i lean back, breathing heavy, sweat
pearls on my forehead,

(soft) click

at the other end of the line,
iN-

auDible, yet
the coN//
Nection

stays

.

Stu has us writing about fear today, a wonderful prompt with wide open space to get creative, so make sure to stop by the dVerse pub at 3pm EST when Poetics goes up.. I’ll be on a plane to California then, so my commenting back will be a bit delayed..see you on the flipside…

47 responses to “SomeWhere@theEndOfTheLine

  1. Hmm, Bruce Willis, fear and California, do we have a theme going on here? Bon courage et bon chance from one who left it behind for la belle France. Even though I had not seen “Die Hard”, you made the scene easy to “witness”.

  2. Nice . Have fun in California – I know that you will love it. If you get a chance Monteray has a great aquarium and I hope you take that day in San Franciso. 🙂

  3. fighting fear is never sexy,
    more a desperate trying to find hold
    in crevices & rock holes
    while our knees get ripped &
    we, curling small & wincing on
    the bottom of AfterTheFall….lots of truth in that….and ha, love that you chose bruce…i think sometimes we can measure ourselves against heros of the screen in how we handle our fear or how we should…there are some really cool turns in this claudia…

    i hope your travels go well and you arrive safe & sound…stinks you are still on the opposite coast though…ha…

  4. Visiting california you say, that makes the cat jealous at his bay. Great Die Hard reference too. Now with a ho ho ho and a yippie kay yay mother umm you know I leave you haha

  5. First – Claudia – have to say enjoy California!!!! It really is pretty. (I haven’t been to Southern part lately, but North amazing, and I used to like South too.)

    Secondly, the sense of fear here is palpable, and the connection to the phone line very strong – I’ve had that kind – agh=and thank heavens for Bruce Willis – that is a very fun opening for a poem that turns serious. Enjoyed. k.

  6. Wow – I can’t wait to get writing about fear! 🙂
    But back to your poem Claudia. I love the Bruce Willis reference, the big hard man, being all impressive, and then the jump to the reality about fighting fear not being sexy. So true.

  7. “i lean back, breathing heavy, sweat
    pearls on my forehead,

    (soft) click”

    That’s me. My fear may very well stem from the same kind of movies you reference here with the hidden watcher, the dripping water, the phone line–clicking in or cut, legs about to be cut off by a shark, innocent people trapped in the wilderness or home open to the randomness of evil, heroes undercut just because. Too many movies, murder mysteries, sci fi, newspapers . . . Random Horror.

  8. water trickles–

    in slow motion
    from an open tap &
    i lean back, breathing heavy, sweat
    pearls on my forehead,

    whoa, this gave me the shivers. amazing, horrifying poem!

  9. “fighting fear is never sexy,
    more a desperate trying to find hold
    in crevices & rock holes”

    “water trickles–

    in slow motion
    from an open tap &
    i lean back, breathing heavy, sweat
    pearls on my forehead,”

    Oh Claudia you nailed this one, loved it.

    Enjoy California.

  10. i am in los angeles…send me a message, see if we can meet to chat about poetry & art &…. pasadena is my favorite city. hope you don’t think i am weird>>>anyways, have fun.

  11. CLAUDIA TAKES CALIFORNIA, sounds like a Roger Corman drive-in flick. Loved your piece. I’m always a sucker for any film references; big part of my life. You still percolate with sensuality, even midst the fear /i lean back, breathing heavy, sweat pearls on my forehead/ oh baby, dig California, nice place to visit. I didn’t really like living there though.

  12. Nothing to fear if you’re in California, (well maybe earthquakes). Sorry. Love this poem. I think you speak to confronting our fears, not fighting them and life goes on. I sort of tried to say that, but could never do it like you.

    California is one of my favorite places. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

  13. The staccato pulse of that fear-adrenaline rush runs in the lines, though it seems to be under control–great atmosphere, as always, Claudia.

  14. Other words used to describe your poem – staccato pulse, percolate, edgy, palpable, truthful….effectively you led us though a maze of fears…almost looked down to see if I had scratched my knees 😉

    • SomeWhere@theEndOfTheLine…
      Claudia…
      “water trickles–

      in slow motion
      from an open tap &
      i lean back, breathing heavy, sweat
      pearls on my forehead,

      (soft) click…”

      Once again, through your poetic words you have captured the description Of the feelings Of… fear.

      [Note: Claudia, I didn’t know that you where visiting California…all I can is I hope that you have a pleasant visit and god-speed]
      deedee 🙂

  15. Fear is something felt by everyone. Big or small it will cause anxiety. Whatever it is fear is the least of your fear when in California! Have fun Claudia!

    Hank

  16. Definitely not sexy, unless one is the knight int he shining armour dashing to the rescue of the damsel in distress. 🙂 I loved your poem, especially that ending. Enjoy California!

    Greetings from London.

  17. I visit my dad and sister once a year…I did more when mom was still alive…and always long to go back, even though now it is like it never was growing up…but still, it is home. Glad you could visit CA.

Leave a Reply

