some tastes need time//i’m much for anti-pressure when it comes to–

head in evening clouds, i cut
purple slices, rows n’ rows
of cabbage, red stringed
covenants that reach
beyond october or wet fallen days,

didn’t take time to
change my clothes, still in
black business dress, & onions
sweating in a buttered pan,
sweetly sizzling, cheek to cheek
while autumn blows
through open doors–

“mom can you seam my
pants– ? need them for to-
morrow” i eat half the apple
(gently sliced with a sharp knife)
that should go into the bowl
& borrow german red wine
from a friend next door,

tshrkk tshk chrszck

salt & rose/green pepper, grounD,

“how was your day–?”

my hair curls in moist kitchen mist,
fine powdered sugar settles
like fresh snow on wooden boards,

then bubble-melts to caramel &
with a spoon of butter spiNs
the naked chestnuts
in a warm & sweet cocoon,

it is the waiting–

i change clothes,
pour more wine on simmering ground
& deep-breathe fall ’til dinner’s ready

.

like it should be in a pub, we’re serving some decent, surprising, enjoyable food at dVerse today..my pleasure to be your host and i will open the doors at 3pm EST..hmmm…off cooking now…smiles

62 responses to “some tastes need time//i’m much for anti-pressure when it comes to–

  1. may i come to your house for dinner, Claudia? i’ll bring wine and appetizers and dessert or fruit and cheese tray ~ your choice.

    i LOVE when people talk or write about preparing food!!

    delicious!!!

  2. It got me salivating.

    pour more wine on simmering ground
    & deep-breathe fall ’til dinner’s ready

    Killer ending. What I saw were leaves of color simmering on a rain soaked fall evening. I love the emotion this season evokes.

  3. My, you’re in for some yummy, yummy and you’re not short on visitors coming for dinner! The way to a man’s heart is through his tummy.I can see that now. Nicely Claudia!

  4. its very cool, kinda like the special in the ordinary of the day…and you go about life poetry falls out your pen claudia…i love that…i want some of the caramelized nuts….ha as well on the last minute alteration as well….so kids & moms…i could do it but it might not look pretty….very cool piece claudia…

  5. This is delicious…..just like those moments with my boys when we are just living and my heart feels grateful. The cabbage reminded me of my mom, whom I miss so much. She used to make stuffed cabbage-a Romanian dish that I would love to have again. 🙂 Happy weekend, Claudia. And I love the ending 🙂

  6. i start reading you …and a smile spreads across my face instantly…of all things warm and precious and subtle yet gorgeous…things in their most form …to wrap ones fingers around….

  7. I’ve never really found cooking to be that much fun or relaxing, but your words and descriptions make it seem a peaceful end to the day.

  8. Scrumptious. Each word was nourishing and filling. What a special write about something many of us take for granted – food. I like the blend with the season here. But, I seem to always like what you write.
    Have a good week end Claudia.

  9. This whets my appetite, Claudia. I love German red cabbage. I have a prepared jar of it here (from our Aldi), but I am sure it is NOTHING like yours. I have never made it from scratch, have had it in German restaurants here. Last time, however, was the Hofbrauhaus! I think today will be the day I open my Aldi jar!

  10. I’m positively salivating right now. I love how surrounding events are weaved in and out of the food and cooking references. It gives a very realistic impression of time passing. An excellent write. I’m off to eat, now! 🙂

  11. Pingback: When All Else Fails, Make Banana Bread | Bird's-Eye Gemini

  12. I wish I found cooking as fun and as interesting to do as you seem to Claudia. To me it’s just a necessary chore…lol You made this sound quite sensual in some ways.
    Lovely.

  13. You had me at head in evening clouds…. now this is a poem. I can see, smell, feel … wonderful images that drew me right in and made me want to join you.

  14. Sounds like what your cooking is awesome.You also sound like a well skilled cook as well as the best parent and wife ever.

  15. what a multi-tasker you must be, chopping, chortling, in your good clothes, being wife, mother, poet with a sharp knife and keen wit; love it.

  16. this is great Claudia. Love the theme. The food references/ metaphors are always strong, but even more so here tonight. Nicely done. Thanks

  17. How interesting we both wrote about chestnuts! Wonderful atmosphere that your words created, full of aromas and love. I almost wanted to have a family too and cook for them… OMG have I just said THAT?

  18. amidst all the food, my attention dran immediately to this –

    tshrkk tshk chrszck

    salt & rose/green pepper, grounD,

    onomatopoeia is underused and nice touch here. The capital ‘D’ is just out there. Always interesting, the way you choose to format

  19. A lovely sensuous meal of image and sound, Claudia. I can picture you there, surrounded by red wine fumes and deliciousness.

  20. I love the intro likening the sunset with its clouds to the cabbage head, the onions smothering in the black dress, and then the dessert with wine before and after..the day peeling away into the sweet coziness of home and the prodigal chef cooking into the timeless ease of a family.

  21. I enjoyed this. I was impressed that seemingly against the odds, the speaker could take a moment to breathe before dinner.

  22. This is a very sexy poem, and I would never have thought of red cabbage as sexy, until you brought the whole dish to life. Lovely atmosphere, lovely food, lovely poem.

  23. Precious kitchen scene, Claudia. My favorite room and time in any home. You invited us in and hosted us most graciously. Thank you for carrying me away. Dinner smells delicious.

  24. Now it’s your turn to make me hungry! I’ve read so many fabulous pieces from this prompt Claudia–yours included. I love the cheek-to-cheek onions and the realities of your life bursting in on what seems to be such a relaxing preparation–and how you just take them all in stride and pour more wine into the dish. Tasty. 🙂

  25. Oh my gosh! You make me so hungry–my stomach is literally growling 🙂 Can completely relate to the slicing onions while I’m still in my “business” clothes–sometimes one moment just blends into the next–the to dos! Now I’m heading home to get floury and doughy, making pizza crust–love the feel of fresh dough, soft, warm, so lightly moist–a direct hit on my inner core of contentment..

  26. “head in evening clouds, i cut
    purple slices, rows n’ rows
    of cabbage, red stringed
    covenants that reach
    beyond october or wet fallen days,”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Once again, you have captured the essence Of the changing season(s), food being prepared, [the sound Of food being prepared…] a moment…

    “didn’t take time to
    change my clothes, still in
    black business dress, & onions
    sweating in a buttered pan,
    sweetly sizzling, cheek to cheek
    while autumn blows
    through open doors–”

    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 🙂