on words that may not need a melody

i pick them up,
& some– i need to love
on the page like a
first night, calm their
quickly beating heart
un-

til we stretch, soft breathing
on white space, hands drip-
ping liquid myrrh (see,
i’ve read Solomon’s
song of songs, can’t tell–
how much i love it) we

sit by the fireside, warm
saffron on your face, &

i say “yes&no–it’s–

much like breathing,
easy, feel ’em cringe
under my touch–” &

later, when you part
my inner lips, so slowly, draw
wide circles like those mystic
english stone walls
on a fog-soaked lawn,

i wanna sing, hang ’em
wet & glistening in your hair,
but then,

i just breathe faster &
reSpell
what Solomon said
already–

.

it’s OpenLInkNight at dVerse again..write a poem and join us when the doors open at 3pm EST

92 responses to “on words that may not need a melody

  1. Solomon had his ‘Song of Songs’ and you’ve written your ‘Poem of Poems’ – Claudia’s song. Amazing how you make love to words and honor creation.

  2. smiles…love the inclusion of the song of songs….this is full of magic and intimacy which is what an act of creation is, in a poem and otherwise…reSpell….ha very cool…parting of the inner lips too, there is just something so raw and magic there…

  3. I love how your poem reaches across the whole experience of reading and singing this love song, from the white spaces to lips parting like english stone walls on a fog soaked lawn…… A beautiful dance with words Claudia!

  4. delivered in a way that makes a memorable mark . . .
    like a whip, but softer . . . say, maybe
    a suede belt dipped in butter 😀

    the gear changes and
    moving shapes
    keeping this reader
    alert to the sense of your project!

    thanks Claudia 🙂

  5. Yes, intelligent sensuality will never go out of style, it is the fodder for the fornication of creativity and chaos. Liked the lines /draws wide circles like those mystic/English stone walls/on a fog-soaked lawn/.

  6. You’re really simmering in this piece–love the personification of the words–gentle handling, white space–just like other tender places…wonderful imagery too–saffron dripping…nice

  7. Sometimes I think of poems as my children, born of the union of words. Some come out looking good, others not, but I still love them.

    My favorite part is imagining them glistening and hanging from his hair.

  8. i don’t think there’s anyone sang it quite like solomon (those songs have never lost their magic for me) though your poem comes close as a modern version… & love words carry their own melody, don’t they?

    • “on words that may not need a melody”

      “i pick them up,
      & some– i need to love
      on the page like a
      first night, calm their
      quickly beating heart
      un-…
      til…

      Once again, Claudia, your very beautiful-poetic words flow…in your poem…“on words that may not need a melody”

      Thanks, for sharing!
      deedee 🙂

  9. Claudia, I should know better than to read your poetry ate ALL (the ‘heart’, you know?)…but I’ll survive one more reading, I suppose.

    So beautiful–also your Profile pic, the more I see it!

    Are the “Songs of Solomon” the male equivalent of “Songs of Bilitis”? –grin!

  10. I loved reading this, but the heart of the piece bloomed as I read out loud. I noticed a slight shift in your voice, a deep breath-like, sigh, I hope this means things are good for you. I like very much!

  11. Always enjoyable Claudia. I especially liked “…hands dripping liquid myrrh…” and found that quite interesting to envision it…especially with it’s thick and heavy fragrance (to me that is).

    Kudos as always,
    Roger ☺

  12. Always such a special element to be found in your poetry…and I too made the mistake of reading it just before bed…hmm..now I need to read a technical manual or something boring so I can get some sleep. 😉

  13. really neat use of allusion here. The title on it’s own is a great line, packed with thematic strength. The parenthetical, to me pulls the reader away from the verse, which, in effect draws them in closer, on a personal level, conversation between reader and poet moving forward. Really intricate, love it. Thanks

  14. Goodness! I…just…I…don’t even know what to say. Sensual and deep. And the wordplay…ah. I think I need a cigarette.

  15. Claudia, you have such a magical way of weaving a tale rich with imagery through short lines of poetry. I’m envious! I love the feel of this stanza…just something about it:

    “i wanna sing, hang ‘em
    wet & glistening in your hair,
    but then”

  16. Loving the interplay of fiction and reality…moments that need no words but can be summed up in passages well read and in memory…moments like these are the best ain’t they?

  17. “hang em wet & glistening…” – love that part the best Claudia. Eroticism is such a gorgeously wonderful and challenging thing to write. I remember being scared to death of it worrying that somehow I was going to get my hands burnt, but in the end it was more of a delicious experience than had anticipated….. Your poem is just purrrrrrrrfect…….. : )

  18. Very neatly turned erotica, Claudia. So charged is sexuality in writing still that it’s very difficult to get the balance between content and form, but this succeeds admirably. I like particularly the way in which the enjambment aids the sense of breathlessness.

  19. Gorgeous Claudia, sensual and the different lovers breaths really come across in the poem – half-breaths, double-breaths – wonderful!