on fake peace beads, fall & unshaved legs

i order salad with fried mushrooms and cheE-
ry, bubbling water in a limpid bowl,
slip out of the skates, rest my bare feet on a steel rail
underneath the table, huge trees throw their shades,
unselfish & the evening sun plays catch me
with some color-oozing leaves \ Leaning back,

fall’s moist lips Soft OnMySkin after a
long day in the office, Next to me a couple
with three dogs, entangled in their leashes,
noses black & wet, high in the air, un-
zipping food code scents– sprayed with

sunshine, a small group in wheelchairs,
and a guy in a white shirt, talking,
TalKing, arms and lips in de-synched
moves, his woman with the dark braids
tries to follow, i think “kiss him– kisS
him silent” cause this world is full of words,
no one needs to hear or say & i’m
exhausted, rub my eyes, call the waiter &

a lady with fake silver peace beads heavy
’round her neck stares at my legs (i
didn’t shave them InAWeek, which has to do with
fall and bears & curling up in earthy caves–)
& wonder how some things make sense,
and none at all, then fumble for my skates
under the table, slip in, bind ’em tight & roll—

next chapter please

.

over at dVerse, we’re opening another chapter as we’re diving head on into autumn and write, write, write those leaves red and orange and how the morning mist leaves pearl prints on the lawn and, and– lots of possibilities, may see it metaphorical as well… ? Mary will be tending bar for the first time and she opens the doors at 3pm EST

65 responses to “on fake peace beads, fall & unshaved legs

  1. There you go again..weaving your magic from some ordinary haps…dogs “unzipping food code scents” is just one…I love all of it, Claudia!

  2. I often wonder why people should bother staring at others! It would not affect them the least. Yes, we ignore and go our own way! I love the flow of your verse,Claudia! Beautiful verse!

    Hank

  3. Claudia, I enjoyed the images in this poem as we leave summer and move to the next chapter -autumn. As so often, you made the reader see the people in your surroundings. And yes, she should kiss him silent, as there are words no one needs to hear. Smiled at the cave image, as autumn is often a season just to curl up in….warm before the approach of winter.

  4. smiles. see this is right up my alley…people watching…and in doing so watching yourself as well….falls moist kiss, i know it…it is my fav season…haha even the tension at her kissing him…less talk, more action and no empty words….even the fake silver peace beads…have nice symbolism….the next chapter please rings heavy for me in the end but is great closure…

  5. “kiss him– kisS
    him silent” cause this world is full of words,

    What a juxtaposition coming from a wonderful woman of words. I got it though and it was so true. Fall is my favorite time of year. I will have to rake up one of my fall poems and link in.

  6. A classic example of what I love most about your writing – the ordinary made less ordinary.

    ‘ “kiss him – kisS
    him silent” cause this world is full of words,
    no-one needs to hear …’

    We need to hear your words Claudia, cause they invite to see the world differently

  7. A great capture of the moment… Love the dogs tangled…fall’s lips on your skin…and the unshaved legs… It reminds me when one time both of my parents were in the hospital and I told a friend of mine that I don’t even have time to shave my legs because I was running from one hospital to the other. ( I wrote a poem about it that I haven’t posted) afterwards he would always ask, ” so have you had time to shave your legs ” it became a joke between us. 🙂 enjoyed the Poem, have a great weekend 🙂

  8. This has a super-charming flow of the inside and outside worlds – your inner monologue tired of words but wanting to see some action! = and the fallish nature of the food and feel and legs and even the people–in their wheelchairs – fallen maybe – you so quickly create a scene, and the close – the next chapter is quite lovely. k .

  9. Surely don’t mind leaving summer and moving on if that is the case, such a move to autumn would be fine by me. Although winter can go pound sand haha

  10. Oh my–love this poem (love ALL your poems–you must be getting tired of all the L-words I pepper your comments with). “i think “kiss him– kisS/him silent” cause this world is full of words,/no one needs to hear or say & i’m/exhausted,” is brilliant and beautiful. Also “stares at my legs (i/didn’t shave them InAWeek, which has to do with/fall and bears & curling up in earthy caves–)” really rings. So much to appreciate here.

  11. Fabulous poetry with so many good lines..loved this >
    “i
    didn’t shave them InAWeek, which has to do with
    fall and bears & curling up in earthy caves–)” So good 🙂

  12. “Next chapter please” – I think that, couples with the kinetic feel of the skates really builds the movement of this poem. I love how you’ve captured the feeling of a busy cafe, with all the diverse (no pun intended) individuals and their different situations in that moment. People watching is one of my favourite things and often inspires an idea for a poem… and of course, as with the leg-spotting lady, people are often watching back! Love it.

  13. Your detailed verse, I love. Your are so amazing, and you reflect in your words to imagery of everyday life. I so much love these words that you pour out.
    A writer’s spirit and love I can see. Absolutely Marvelous. 🙂

  14. Your writing never cease to keep me interested and wanting to read more of. But, the bravery to not save legs for weeks makes you a slight hero. or your (MC) because i couldn’t do it for even a day.

  15. “i think “kiss him– kisS
    him silent” cause this world is full of words,
    no one needs to hear or say & i’m
    exhausted,”

    You got that right! Such a vibrant picture of both the ordinary and extraordinary that make up our days if we pay attention.

  16. I loved all of this but …really loved Kiss him Kiss him…your romantic side showing through in all of this. I read someone else say…hurry up winter so I don’t ned to shave my legs….haha
    This is another wonderful people-watching-you’re-aware read of yours again.

  17. TalKing, arms and lips in de-synched
    moves, his woman with the dark braids
    tries to follow, i think “kiss him– kisS
    him silent” cause this world is full of words,

    Ah, shouldn’t everyone be kissed silent? I LOVE this stanza.

  18. love the way you tell a story, that on its’ own is great, yet still addressing the theme so perfectly. the sunshine stanza is awesome, love it. Great read. Thanks

  19. Some many great things in this poem … love the line ‘evening sun plays catch me/ with some color-oozing leaves’ … but in particular I like the way as a silent observer you capture everything around you.

  20. Such accuse observations – even about yourself! The lines about the unshaven legs and it relating to nesting, curling up in your cave lie a bear due the seasons change – so very cool

  21. Next chapter please… how often have we thought that/wanted that…. isn’t it our job as poets to speak these things that the reader didn’t realise they knew in their hearts until they read them there…

  22. Ha ha! Loved this Claudia. I really connected with this little story, and the little touch of attitude with the ‘kiss him, kiss him silent’ and the unshaven legs ad slipping into your skates and calling on the next chapter… Just luscious! 🙂

  23. sometimes, it seems, if we’re one of only a few, and at times, it’s only us, that senses what the senses bring us, then that has to be enough, you slip the skates on to the next chapter –

    “kiss him– kisS
    him silent”

    and maybe re-sync him 😉 i could use some of that at times 😉

  24. Ha! I love the “kisS him silent”. As if. Those Kings of talk never do shut up… But yes, Fall brings on a new chapter. Wherever will you skate to? I’m most curious.
    Thank you for this.

  25. Gotta love those unselfish trees, dogs unzipping food code and tbe moist lips of fall! Great images all 3.

    And off she rolls in skates — great exercise too! Fabulous for the buttocks.

    xo

  26. Your poem touched me. I love autumn and can’t wait for it to arrive properly. I’m an autumn sign and there’s nothing like cold, misty mornings and a hot cup of coffee or chocolate.

    Many thanks. What a beautiful poem.

    Greetings from London.

  27. Bless you for such an exuberant set of verses celebrating that skating recreation period after work in the late, late summer when it is determined that legs no longer need be shaved, as winter approacheth!

  28. I love people watching..but not so much people hearing…two way different things. ..and the ‘kiss him silent’…yes. Loved the moment the unshaven legs are noticed ..yeah, interesting how some things have become to have such importance placed on them…

  29. “on fake peace beads, fall & unshaved legs…”
    Claudia, once again when given the challenge…“we’re opening another chapter as we’re diving head on into autumn and write, write… Which you have did very descriptive in your poetic words.

    write those leaves red and
    orange and how the morning mist leaves pearl prints on the lawn and
    … I love to see morning mist that leave pearl prints on the lawn…Thanks, for sharing and I really like your avatar… too!