last night

i packed yellow,
shimmering moonbeams,
squished ‘em in
the seams of my pajama
pockets– empty, &
it didn’t help, a

weird restlessness
crawls like small bugs
over the gaps and craters
in my chest, skin

moist with shower water,
scent of metal mingles with
each soft puff of your breath,
i toss & turn like in
an ant’s nest, whisper

“would you love me
to a rest–?”

“just so–?”

“mhmm”, i nod &

moan as you start
peeling layers upon layers off me
in the dark, stubble
scratch marks mingle with

the moon beams on my skin, ex-
plode in one bright spin as you
gasp hard & gently
shift your weight
upon me

37 responses to “last night

  1. this is gorgeous writing, romantic, satisfying – i knew those packed moonbeams would lead to somewhere lovely 🙂

  2. No “Like” button I can find, but, I do, so here is a comment to say so…. so. I like it…. a lot. Very strong, erotic imagery, without vulgarity, and that is a bonus, for sure…. 🙂

  3. I really like this…the easy flow of it…and

    i packed yellow,
    shimmering moonbeams,
    squished ‘em in
    the seams of my pajama
    pockets– empty, &
    it didn’t help,

    is just such a great lead!

  4. i packed yellow,
    shimmering moonbeams,
    squished ‘em in
    the seams of my pajama
    pockets–

    You draw me in…just beautiful. I love it. I think we have always felt this way one time or another.

  5. there is much to like in this one…the moonbeams add a layer of magic to this…but there are other elements too that keep it grounded…i like the way you build anx but dont say it in yourself…and the need for release…i find humility int he asking of it as well instead of relying on charms or well mans general weakness…smiles….there is some lovely intimacy in it as well….

  6. These days it isn’t easy to express romance and eroticism in poetry. Why? It has all been said, that’s why. Just about every metaphor that can be used has been used. Just about every image that can be used has been used. Every poet thinks he or she has a new angle on the subject, and usually they haven’t. I don’t particularly think you have found any new expression or any new metaphor or image – apart perhaps for the stubble marks mixing with moonbeams, which is totally brilliant – but there is something about your delivery that lifts this poem above the ordinary. Something about your general delivery, by the way, not just with this poem but the way you write in general; you have a unique voice, one to which I am greatly attracted.

    M

  7. umm…glorious this…hadn’t seen this…you write really well! Your words slip in and out of cracks in reality, skewing it seems, realms of here and there, now and then – they open up space where nothing exists…very nice. Gosh. I’ll root around a little more. I think it’s how you experiment with words…what’s a word? k, nuff!

  8. “the moon beams on my skin, ex-
    plode in one bright spin as you
    gasp hard & gently
    shift your weight
    upon me”

    Hi! Claudia…
    I have to echo what some Of your readers, have already said, I think your poem “Last Night” is very romantic, intimate, sweet, and [very] beautiful… too!
    Tks, for sharing!
    deedee 🙂

  9. I would echo that the first stanza is brilliant – but there again, it all is! A Wow(!)
    from me too.

    Anna :o]

  10. This is “Vintage” Claudia to me. Everything that I love and defines your style is right here. Starting the day with a big shit eatin’ grin!

  11. Pingback: March 2013 – Ghosts, Heroes, Lovers and Monsters | "Ten of the Best" - short poetry