she didn’t sing the blues, but she could’ve, right? (oh– and a business trip)

i never talk much afterwards, nah
just enjoy the being spilled-
loose in the moment. When

i left, i wrapped a parcel, hid it
on your bedside with a card that s(t)ates
“thanks for TryingToSeeMe–
asIAm” &
a breeze of s(hum)thing in
which i know you’ll love to see me
when i’m back–

the blues lies empty
in the glass jar on the kitchen table
(those, that i have filled with
summer fruits– the red ones)
and the tiles sing that old Mary Poppins
song– it’s Supercalifra– you all know
how it goes–
i haven’t swept ’em

for a bit, and answer with
a swashSplee dialect–

SpeTimSpecloDonFiCiFeeso– (sure, pro-
nounce it english and/or backwards– just
be careful not to slip & stWhip the words like cream
in swircles from your tongue–) see,
here comes rhythm in & that’s

the only thing i say as you
breathe “I
Have Ne
Ver
seen you Like that–” &
your mouth is wet with berries

.

smiles…yeah..i had fun with this one…and hope you gonna join us when Anna Montgomery guest-hosts the Poetics bar at dVerse today…it’s aaaaall about words…and – indubitably – you will love it…oh..and this is how i “designed” the word “SpeTimSpecloDonFiCiFeeso” just took a silly sentence that jumped to my mind which was “special times need special clothes and i don’t give a fuck if it sounds precocious/atrocious as long as it doesn’t feel so” and fuSsambled some of the letters…just like in mary poppins ya know…smiles..

48 responses to “she didn’t sing the blues, but she could’ve, right? (oh– and a business trip)

  1. Oh, now this is some ride, Claudia! So sensual (your speciality?), so earthed, yet full of verve and imagination, a maelstrom of imagery which uncoils in the retelling…

  2. Business trips are good. So long as not monkey business. (I know!)

    Claudia, I got through this whole post without breathing heavily (Heck, I even forGOT to breathe when he said,

    “I have Ne
    Ver…etc!”
    –grin!

  3. kvennarad expresses my feelings exactly. Reading your verse(s) makes me feel I want to throw off all my clothes (poetically speaking!) and go for it… one day?

  4. great write claudia…love the little present you left for your hubby….its the little things like that that keep that fire raging…smiles…absolutely love the inclusion of song as it makes your made up word really sing as well…you put us right there….but unable to look away…smiles…

  5. A person doesn’t need to talk much when one writes poetry like that, Claudia. And when words ARE used, it is good to have fun with them and continue to keep finding the specialness in poetry, in love, in life.

  6. Hi! Claudia…
    Have you ever heard the word… uber?…Because I think that your entire poem is…it’s aaaaall about words… that “jumped” out at me…

    “the blues lies empty
    in the glass jar on the kitchen table
    (those, that i have filled with
    summer fruits– the red ones)
    and the tiles sing that old Mary Poppins
    song– it’s Supercalifra– you all know
    how it goes–
    i haven’t swept ‘em…”

  7. and…“be careful not to slip & stWhip the words like cream
    in swircles from your tongue–) see…”
    and this:
    the only thing i say as you
    breathe “I
    Have Ne
    Ver
    seen you Like that–” &
    your mouth is sWet with berries

    Tks, for sharing your very poetic words…I hope that you and your readers, have a nice weekend too!
    deedee 🙂

  8. [note: Claudia, I have a first [1st comment may need to be moderated] and second comment…Lately, Word-press will not accept my first comment on Word-press blogs. Go figure?!]

  9. fantastic fun, Claudia! this is the perfect way for me to start a busy Saturday…your words, made up and all, prancing about in my thoughts.

  10. Slips and slides into the nooks and crannies of intimacy in such an appealing and playful manner. Love the made up and scrunched up (like all those unnecessary clothes :)) words. Can’t wait for Poetics, you and Brian have wet my appetite for what’s to come!

  11. i fell in love at first sight with this piece – playful & rhythmic, gorgeous really, the way you toss language up in the air & let it fall where it may

    be careful not to slip & stWhip the words like cream
    in swircles from your tongue

    smiled all the way through, the 2nd & 3rd time too

  12. Supercali…delicious write in every kind of way!
    Love the note and present you left for hubby as a promise to him for when you get back and, the fact that he accepts you as you are.
    An all together fabulous write 🙂

  13. Fun!

    “i never talk much afterwards, nah
    just enjoy the being spilled-
    loose in the moment.”

    Me too, so that is all I will say.

  14. Love this, Claudia. You went out on a limb here and did so successfully… great words you played with/created/stretched.

  15. Ah yes…I thought better than to read this poem out loud where it might be overheard by a neighbor…heaven knows what they would have thought if I got all tongue twisted…so enjoyed this poem.

  16. Pingback: she didn’t sing the blues, but she could’ve, right? (oh– and a business trip) « thebleedingpen

  17. maybe not the blues..but song is the undercurrent here.. love the swoops and ‘swircles’ you make..surprise is what your poetry so often offers and linguistically you really have pushed the boat out here. It’s alive!

  18. You made it your own language.
    Yet another feather in your linguistic cap.
    The blues in the glass on the kitchen table —
    we all have some at one time or another.
    Blueberries at the minute though.

  19. Swircles! I love this. The song, that happy, bluesy, berry-filled dance (who cares about swept floors anyhow?). Please keep whipping (up) words like cream–you are so good at it. Who wouldn’t dance after being seen for who they are, with berry-stained lips.
    Thank you.

  20. I want to say how fun this is, and how I alwayd finfpd the way that you frame things in moments of love and intimacy always keep me coming back to reality. Even you create words I can’t say! 🙂

  21. It’s Sunday morning and I’m drinking coffee. This will make me smile for the rest of the day. Such good sexy humor and cool new words can only come from you. Thanks. This was such fun to read.

  22. i love the blues lies empty in the glass jar. reminds me of blue marbles, or blue aquarium stones that people keep in glass vases for decoration

  23. I agree with David, sensuality does seem to be your forte. Another cracker of a poem, my favourite line is “just enjoy the being spilled-
    loose in the moment,” I could really feel it in my heart 🙂

  24. Really nice. Love the compacted arrangements of words used a few times here, really creates an experience, and I particularly enjoyed when you gave a reading cue in the second to last stanza. Really a nice write. Thanks

  25. Man alive, those opening stanzas are so steamy! And the whole thing is so much fun… Love it!

  26. I know that your poem said so much more, but what struck me was your title–What a wonderful concept–Mary Poppins singing the blues…would have been awesome 🙂

  27. i bet those special sentences jump into your mind all the time, don’t they? the first two verses are pure claudia sensuousness and passion all around the edges… the next three unexpected…the final stanza and last line perfection! a joy to read!